800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 16JB-CL1B
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Danelectro N10 Honey Tone

Capture the classic vibe and sound of a '60s era Danelectro with this battery-powered tone machine.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Awesome" submitted March 27, 2012

By Rob S
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Almost 1 year playing guitar with my church youth band.
Music Style: Mostly Christian praise and worship music. Some classic rock and metal.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I bought this amp so that I could play my electric in places where I am normally limited to my acoustic. I was just hoping that it would be as loud as my acoustic and keep up with anyone else I was playing with. When I opened it up this afternoon and pluged it in I was completely blown away by it's sound and controls. Extremely easy to use and great sounding. I can't wait to WOW everybody when I show up with this little thing cliped to my front pocket. No one will ever believe that something this small and cute could make this much good music.
21 of 22 people (95.45%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"My Honey Sound Comes From My HoneyTone" submitted July 22, 2007

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: rock, blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Sound is good. There's a little vibration at high volume. Distortion knob goes from "clean" to "dirty". I can't compare to other mini-amps because I haven't bought them yet. I have been using this amp nearly every day for practicing and recording into my macbook with garageband. Headphone output is clean - no noise. The volume is quite loud when turned up all the way. I rarely turn it all the way up for fear of annoying neighbors - it's that loud. I think it could work great for street performing. Especially with the belt clip. Feature: Doesn't include AC adapter (that's ok, not sure I want another one) - will have to use my own for studio / home use. Price is right - $30 well spent - I might buy another one! Includes a cute 9v battery with danelectro brand label - could be interesting from a collector perspective. Belt clip does work - I tried it. Some of the other mini-amps have a "built-in tuner" which I think is a sine-wave generator at E in order to tune to. This amp doesn't have that feature. The "handle strap" at the top of the amp is just for looks. I can't see it really being useful. Aesthetically, it's nice. The "battery indicator LED" doesn't indicate dead battery that well. I'd prefer if it had some kind of transistor cutoff to light instead. At low battery, the unit will cut in / cut out, giving bad sound, and the LED will pulse. I'd prefer if the unit stayed completely off, if the battery were too low. Comes in a great decorative box which might be interesting for collectors. Ease of Use: Only a couple knobs to turn. Comes with good manual, but didn't really need to read it. Plugged it into my macbook and did recording with Garageband - worked fine, sounded great. Quality: It's plastic, mass-market item. It's not "hand crafted" although it does have a clean, polished look. It has a GREAT look - very nicely styled. All the girls and guys who have seen it so far have LOVED it - girls come into the livingroom and say "wow, that is soooo cute!!" Value: Definitely worth the price. There's some other miniamps that are the same price for less features. The Wow Factor: This product has great 'sex appeal'. In fact the girls think it's the cutest little amp ever. It has great vintage styling. Also, the name HONEYTONE is genius. Sound has a good rock to it also. I am sure that if I used it for street performing, it would get a lot of "that's so cool" looks. Everyone so far who has seen it, has said "I want one too!" Overall: 99% satisfied. The only thing I would change is to somehow get rid of the minor plastic-case-buzzing at high volumes. It's plastic, so.. maybe glue would do it, if I were that motivated to take it apart to seal it. Also, the unit is a little bigger than I expected from the name "mini-amp". So check the actual size. This one can't fit into the spare room of a guitar case. Get one of the other mini's if that's the goal. I think the engineers could make this one much smaller (thinner) at the expense of the fat style/look. I'm sure there's a lot of empty space inside. It would be great new feature if this miniamp included a USB output - yes - straight plug-in for the computer, like the "guitar adapters" have. It wouldn't add a lot to the manufacturing cost and it would replace the 9-volt circuitry with 5-volt circuitry.
47 of 50 people (94%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Wanna smile? Buy this amp!" submitted August 26, 2011

By a customer from windstream.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: country-rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This little amp has a great rich sound. The chart showing suggested settings shows the versatility and range very well. I play an Epiphone Dot Studio and the amp will "jangle" or give a great distortion range. Playing an acoustic through this amp is horrible if you're looking for natural acoustic sound, but some of the unique sounds that are produced could easily be worked into a wide range of "alt" music. I really hate to admit this, but if I had bought this before my $108.00 Bugera hybrid amp, I probably wouldn't have bought the Bugera. Not that the Bugera doesn't sound great, it does, but this little amp and the power supply would have satisfied me. I use the headphone feature for late night apartment playing, through a set of SkullCandy full ear covering headphones and it just sounds amazing. Feature: A cool looking Danelectro 9 volt battery is included, but I went ahead and put an energizer in it. The controls feel smooth (remember this amp is under $20.00) If it had tremelo or reverb for another 5 bucks, that would be completely ok. Ease of Use: Three knobs, how hard can it be? The settings chart is very useful with a wide variety of options, and addeding the pickup and tone settings on your guitar everyone should be able to find their swett spot. Quality: Mine seems to be solid, again this amp is under $20.00. In most reviews "on the road" means bars, outdoor venues, stadiums etc but for the Honeytone it means it will slip into your suitcase taking slightly more space than an alarm clock. If it lasts two years the amp plus shipping would have cost me a dollar a month, so that's what I'm shooting for, two years. Value: Absolutely Manufacturer Support: Unknown The Wow Factor: So cool ! It's retro looks and tiny size are both appealing and I leave it out on a shelf as a decoration when I'm not using it. Not only would I pay the price for this amp if I could make good music without it, I probably would have kept it if I couldn't make good music with it. Overall: I can see how mini-amps could be an addiction, so I might supplement it with other brands just to have a collection of cool little amps.
14 of 16 people (87.5%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"First impression" submitted June 13, 2012

By Katrecha M in Lithonia, GA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing guitar for 7 yrs
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I was astounded with this amp I literally jus opened the box 5 mins ago and had to write this review. It's got so much sound for such a little amp Love at first strum seriously. The color I got was yellow not so much yellow as it is cream. All in all this is worth the buy it's inexpensive an packs a punch.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Danelectro N10 Honey Tone Customer Review submitted October 2, 2008

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: guitar - rock, alt, punk, metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: For the size, sounds pretty cool. its kind of "tinny" sounding, but for the $ and size very workable. Feature: I bought the AC adapter also. It worked well while it worked. Overdrive added enough crunch for in home practice Ease of Use: 3 knobs...pretty easy. Battery or AC adapter...pretty easy Quality: It worked great until one day, 6 months after purchase, my son was playing and it literally started to smoke. No, he isn't that great of a guitarist. Micro-seconds later the sound stopped. The power light comes on but no audio comes out. Value: If you want to drop $30+ for an amp that may start smoking... be my guest. The Wow Factor: Too bad this is a piece of junk. It looks so cool. I got the aqua. Even the battery (included) is nearly as cool as the amp.
5 of 6 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"READ THIS AND LEARN THE AMAZING QUALITIES THIS AMP HOLDS." submitted August 24, 2007

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician (currently playing the electric guitar)
Music Style: Metal, Alternative Rock, Punk Rock, Metal again :D, More Rock, and More Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This thing is amazing. For such a little thing, it makes such a loud sound. I can't even handle the sound it makes when all the knobs are turned up. Mini amp-BIG SOUND. Feature: There was nothing that came with this awesome mini amp except the battery needed to power the amp. When I got it I was all excited because I heard a lot of good things about this amp. I plugged it in and cranked it up and I was astounded by the sound. It was so clean and the distortion, wow, I thought it was great if you turn it all the way up. Ease of Use: Very easy to use this little thing. Just turn the knobs for your amount of volume, amount of tone, and amount of gain. But becareful. The higher you turn your gain, the louder the sound gets so if you live in a small area, put your volume low and your gain HIGH. Quality: This thing is made out of tough, strong plastic with a shiny looking finish. It is stil really durable and lightweight too. Value: Best of price. Cheap price but extremely loud and powerful amp. If you want something lightweight, small, loud, and cheap, looking further will be a moron's idea. (Unless you want to compare prices so you can get it for even CHEAPER) Manufacturer Support: Never had to contact the company or ask for a refund or anything yet and probably never will. The Wow Factor: The sex appeal of this amp is amazing. The lines, the curves, all very nice. It's so smooth and so amazingly beautiful. I swear when I walked by my other amp with this one, it all of a sudden turned on and made this whistling noise. Very, very, very sexy amp. Overall: This amp will be my traveling amp to carry around and will probably last me a good while. If it doesn't, I'm probably gonna get another one. Because this amp doesn't require a outlet, it is perfect for a dorm, street performing, or a little on the go playing.
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Rock the Oldies with HONEYTONE!!!" submitted May 16, 2007

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist/Active Musician
Music Style: Rock, Hard Rock, Rock 'n Roll, Oldies, Heavy Metal, Guitar Solos
Back to Product Information
Sound: The sound is great, the perfect sound for music from the 50s through the 70s, even th 80s! It sounds real good plugged into a Epiphone SG Speical (Gibson USA Humbuckers is what I'm saying). Tip: Plug in through one of those cables that they use to connect pedals! |; P| Feature: This didnot come with anything exept the warranty and a booklet. The booklet was cool because it gave settings for diffrent tones! The gain is awesome, its got alot of crunch for such a small amp! Ease of Use: It is very easy to use. The manual is very clear, it even has drawings! Quality: It is made pretty well. I deffintly would use it on the road. Value: It has good value, compared to the Marshall Mini Amp which is $65. (I paid $35) The Wow Factor: The color rocks! If you buy the Aqua, its awesome. Also the vintage design is irresitable! Overall: I will keep this for ever and it will always be my #1 choice for taking on vaction or to a friends house. 10 out of 10!
5 of 7 people (71.43%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Super little amp" submitted March 17, 2012

By Mike D in Buffalo, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Closet rocker for 20 years. Washburn semi-hollowbody Yamaha accoustic, Fender strat, Jay turser Tele, Vox ac30
Music Style: blues, rock, alternative, traditional country (Hank Williams Sr, George Strait, Patsy Cline, so no altpop country crap) and anyt
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The amp was about half the size I expected, but good things do, sometimes, come in small packages. The amp us much louder than expected, and sounds fantastic clean, and when the amp is over driven, it brakes up into a really creamy distortion. For 20 bucks the value could not be better. My son, who is just learning to play, loves it and he can "rock out" walking around with the amp on his belt.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Danelectro N10 Honey Tone Customer Review submitted March 11, 2007

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: It's got a pretty awesome sound, the overdrive is awesome, the clean is clean, and the middle of the road has a bit of dirtiness to it, but not overpowering Feature: It came with pretty much nothing except the amp, and a battery. No cables, no nothing. Quality: Although it's made of plastic, it can withstand quite a few drops, but the plastic makes it lightweight so you can put it on your belt. Value: Same as the fender tone-master, and does exactly the same thing. But it's not a name brand, so i give it an 8. The Wow Factor: Looks pretty awesome with it's vintage look. Overall: If a fender tone-master isn't available to you, buy this.
4 of 6 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"N10 wins for practicing electric uke" submitted April 19, 2006

By a customer from cs.tufts.edu
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: conservatory trained in bassoon, novice at stringed instruments
Music Style: Classical/folk
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Great for electric uke. Just the right frequency range. Feature: The amp does what it says it does: to provide a relatively quiet amplification for practice. Ease of Use: The controls are easy. Quality: I think the only downside is that it's made of plastic, which both decreases its weight and makes it prone to chipping. Value: I think it's definitely worth the money for what it's advertised to do. The Wow Factor: Retro look adds to aesthetics of practice sessions. Overall: I think the product will be used as long as it lasts. I hope that is a relatively long time.
3 of 5 people (60%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Danelectro N10 Honey Tone Customer Review submitted October 1, 2008

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
Musical Background: Learning
Music Style: Blues
Back to Product Information
Sound: Great sound for a mini amp Feature: no nonsence easy to use. good qualty Ease of Use: attach battery plug and play Quality: second time i used it it fell less than two feet to the carpeted floor. It sustained no visible damage. but the amp no longer works. Value: another POS that will sit on the shelf because it is brand new and i cant stomach throwing it out. batt is still cood though. Manufacturer Support: The company has no contact info. in the pakaging that comes with the amp or on their website. I purshased the amp while on vacation and cant justify the $200 in fuel to return it where i bought it. Overall: I wore it out after about 15 minutes of playing. sounded great but I would sugest encasing it in styrofome and bolting it down.
3 of 5 people (60%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 16JB-CL1B. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!