866-ZZOUNDS (866-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1ZY-D3J2
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM

Rating and Reviews: D'Angelico EXL-1

The EXL-1's laminated flame maple back and sides create a rich, resonant tone that sounds incredible through the single Kent Armstrong mini-humbucker pickup.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Excellent Excel" submitted January 1, 2016

By Ed Barrett in New Orleans, LA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional Full Time Jazz Guitarist
Music Style: Traditional,Straight Ahead, Bop and Soul Jazz Guitarist, double on Banjo. Also play R&B, Funk and Reggae.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I am very pleased with my new EXL1. I have been playing straight ahead jazz guitar for twenty years, I own a Heritage H575 custom and a Gibson 137, this Excel is just as well made and finished. The Excel has the traditional acoustic jazz guitar tone down pat. It sounds great and projects very well. It is loud enough acoustically to cover the four to the bar Rhythm style of Swing era jazz ala Freddie Green in a combo situation. Not as loud acoustically as a Macafarri/Gitane style gypsy jazz guitar. The electric tone is sublime. Johnny Smith, George Vann Epps type tones spring forth effortlessly. This is a fine, fine working pro level jazz guitar. The case it came with is very well made and adds a lot of value to the overall purchase. I highly recommend this guitar to anyone in search of a beautiful, affordable arch top guitar.
13 of 13 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Excellence" submitted February 16, 2016

By Edwin Craft in Neosho, MO
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 50+ years
Music Style: Everything but Hip Hop, Electronic, chillwave, balinese ,reggaeton and other noise.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I really really love this particular guitar. As a matter of fact, it has become my favorite after playing for more than fifty years. Owning over 14 guitars currently, that is saying something. The EXL-1 is not only beautiful to look at, but it is a guitarist's dream. I have a Gretsch Country Gentleman 1959 model which I bought from zZounds not long ago which I dreamed of owning for years but I have to admit, this guitar is my favorite. Trust me when I say if you have what it takes to be great this guitar will take you there and stay with you. You won't sell it.
6 of 6 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Value" submitted January 20, 2014

By Michael P in Georgetown, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing 30 years, guitar,banjo,fiddle. Play out some and at home a lot. Recorded.
Music Style: Fingerstyle, Folk, Delta Blues,Bluegrass, Southern Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have many guitars from Martin to Gibson to Gretsch and this is in their category, considering the money difference. It has a great neck and is easy to play. This is a true old style F hole archtop. The pickup is mild, but adequate with a good amp and gives a nice woody tone. Workmanship is excellent.
19 of 20 people (95%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"D'Angelico EXL-1 Archtop Hollowbody" submitted January 28, 2015

By Ron S in Federal Way, WA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Retired drummer, now a guitarist only
Music Style: Folk, Rock, R&B, and most recently....Jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I got this jazz box on someone's return for $980.00, what an incredible guitar for under a thousand! I think it was returned because the case it came in was not glued down to well on the top. (who cares....it works) I had to lower the bridge and change the strings, viola! A beautiful guitar that sounds as good as a much more expensive axe....I love it! Very light for it's size, it may be the best deal I ever got on a guitar, and I've been playing for 40 years!
10 of 11 people (90.91%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great guitar" submitted August 12, 2013

By Ron Rennells in Lomita, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I'm a guitarist that's been playing professionally for over 45 years
Music Style: Jazz primarily, although I've played just about every style somewhere along the line.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is an exceptional guitar, especially for the price. The floating pickup sounds so good and the guitar play beautifully. If you can get your hands on one these... buy it.
26 of 29 people (89.66%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Guitar! Great Durability and Craftsmanship!!" submitted June 29, 2016

By Antonio B in Miami, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Jazz
Music Style: Bebop - Jazz - Blues
Back to Product Information
Overall: Great Guitar overall! Whether you're looking for an archtop that can cut in with Big Bands or just looking for a respectable Axe to gig with this is definitely the one to go for!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"D`Angelico EXL-1" submitted December 1, 2014

By Michael Barr in Fort Lauderdale, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30 years playing professional guitar and keyboards
Music Style: Smooth Jazz , Gospel , R&B country top 40`s what ever the gig calls for
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is another great guitar I just received mine, it was wrap so carefully and well shipped plus my great friends zZounds surprised me, by sending it a day early. This guitar is high quality, strings is set right, plus its my choice of string. For all jazz guitarist its a must feels and sounds great and its so darn beautiful I just stared at it for a long time. Its my jazz concert guitar, it will be picture on my new CD release first of the year. Thanks zZounds
6 of 8 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Sweetheart...nice" submitted March 28, 2014

By Gregory Grim in Minneapolis, MN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Home guitarist mainly. Play a little publicly
Music Style: Blues-eeee, Jazz-ee, a little rock style. Write my own material mainly. It's a lot cheaper than a psychiatrist.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Beautiful guitar! It took 5 days to get here, but it finally arrived. After I added new strings and set it up, it turned out very N-I-C-E! Beyond my expectations. I don't give out compliments easily. But this time I feel compelled to. The p/u doesn't slide, for those who thought it would/might including myself. The only drawback, however. Very nice action and beautiful tone. The ad makes it look a little lighter weight than it really is. In real life appearance I thought it might sound a little thudddy, before I played it. But, NO! Very sweet mellow tone-if you like the jazzy sound. I'd encourage anyone who might appreciate that type of sound to go for it. You won't be sorry! PS-Nice H/S case, too.
9 of 12 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"BLUE D'Angelico EXL-1 Archtop" submitted March 2, 2016

By Don Schott in Cincinnati, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Over 50 years ... Guitars basses and other strings and keys,
Music Style: Today I am promoting THE PERSISTENCE OF SURF MUSIC (it's kinda like jazz and rock but not fusion)
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I drooled over having one of these for quite some time. It came , it was beautiful to behold. Handled well, played nice and then I plugged it in ....NOTHING . ZZ had no more in stock and I sent it to D'Angelico for repair. They were very nice and said they had found the culprit and returned it to me. I had to turn my amp up to ten to get any sound from it at all and it was ugly. ZZ was nice, I returned the instrument to them ...lets hope that products are checked before they are sent out. This was not supposed to be a POS at $1300. I cannot answer the "hoops" below. Some things are better left unsaid. We tried. oh, this feedback forum forces one to submit a "value" ... Sorry guys.
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A great jazz box for the money" submitted February 21, 2015

By Bill von Zangenberg in Holiday, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Currently play professionally
Music Style: I play jazz, rock, blues and country but have an eclectic taste in music so I need versatile guitars. This is my main jazz box a
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The EXL-1 is a fine jazz box that won't break the bank! I currently own many jazz guitars ranging from a Gibson L5, ES 175, ES335 and a 1949 Gibson L48. This has become my favorite of the bunch. It plays beautifully, feels wonderful in your hands and is responsive plugged in or not. With my Fender Twin Reverb this guitar gives you that real jazz tone we all love. The neck has a great feel and is comfortable to play for hours on end. The craftsman ship is superb and I'm sure John D'Angelico would approve for sure. When I get this one paid off I'm planning on buying another model as well to round off the arsenal. If you're looking for a moderately prices jazz box that will last for years of great playing then this is your baby!
9 of 9 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Jazz Box" submitted March 9, 2015

By William v in Holiday, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Currently play professionally
Music Style: Jazz, Country, Blues, 60's rock and classical
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This guitar is the ultimate jazz guitar to own. I own many jazz guitars including a Gibson L5. This guitar sounds as good as my L5 no exaggeration. It is fun to play, neck is great and comfortable, body is just right. If you want sounds like Wes and Joe Pass this is the one to get. You won't find a better deal at this price or any price for that matter. Buy it! Thank you zZounds for your easy payment plan which made this purchase possible. Also great service from you guys as always. I'll be back for sure!
9 of 9 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
866-zZounds (866-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1ZY-D3J2. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 866-zZounds (866-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 866-zZounds (866-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 866-zZounds (866-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!