800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 14JD-7CHH
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Cerwin-Vega CVA-121XNA

This 21-inch C-V subwoofer puts out a massive 1200 watts continuous power and 2400 watts peak. Add this bad boy to your PA system, and make the floor shake!

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Great sub but HEAVY" submitted July 25, 2012

By Joseph Vaughan in Austin, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: DJ/Producer since 2002
Music Style: Hip-hop / Pop
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Great to add to your PA speakers so you don't have to push your main PA speakers so much. But, there is no getting around the fact that it takes 2 people to move this speaker. Even a body builder would have a problem picking this up solo due to its wide dimensions. Great sub tho, you will definitely turn heads! BREAK IN THE SPEAKER SLOWLY! USE FOR HIP HOP GENRES!
26 of 27 people (96.3%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"cva 121 in action" submitted April 27, 2014

By Heath R
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: rock band/ dj playing all types of music.....25 years
Music Style: rock, hip hop, country, blues, electronic
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Since most reviews i read are either misleading or lack in details i decided to place a review on this sub that everyone can understand. I spent a lot of time researching powered subs for our needs...it was frustrating due to mixed reviews on practically every one of them...so in the end we basically did a hail marry and went with the original sub kings Cerwin Vega..we ware glad we did. The use for these subs for us is for both DJ and band use. We gave them a go last night for the first time and i have to say these are fantastic subs. They hit very hard, and got special attention from our female clientele ;). The gig was in an 80' x 80 building and was more than enough. We drove them about 50%sub gain...and 40%on the mixer... and it was all we could take. We are big Bassnectar fans and wanted extremely low and powerful bass ...and we got it in a powered package. It felt as though the building was going to fall apart bolt by bolt...brick by brick. We have been let down in the past in purchasing equipment by relying on reviews, our most recent mistake was investing in EV powered setup with subs......which proved to be less than impressive ....but the reviews about them had nothing but praise and hype. There is no hype when it comes to the cva121...it really delivers. I cant speak at this point about reliability, and the speaker itself is heavy as h....heavy....did i mention it was heavy. Plan on getting some cheap carts with big tires to make your life easier....the included caster wheels are nice but we wont be using them.. due to the speakers weight the caster wheels would hang up on every crack and crevice and make life hard not to mention all the rattling and jarring of the built in amp and all its sensitive contents . Even though the thing is heavy, it is very well made and most options you could ever want or need as far as control and input.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Cva 121" submitted March 1, 2014

By James L in Lexington, TN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing music for 25 years
Music Style: Rock, hip-hop, and country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: These cerwin vega cva121 power sub. Are some kick azz subs they are the best subwoofer for the price. I have two of these in my game room and they are amazing
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Thumping!!!!" submitted June 6, 2013

By Matthew Cincotta in Chicopee, MA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitarist, Drums, vocals, you name it!
Music Style: Hard Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: These subs are sick!!! They literally give you that arena low end inside a club!!! Use with 3 way cross overs (stereo). Yes they are heavy but I'm always getting compliments on my low end bass!!!! 21" speakers? Cerwin Vega took out the guess work of matching speaker with power amp. I highly recommend these powered subs to those who want to stand out from the rest of the crowd!!! Don't take my word!!! See for yourself!!!!Peace!!!
12 of 13 people (92.31%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great sub, flawed speaker glue design" submitted June 30, 2014

By george g in Alice, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: mobile and club DJ for 20 years
Music Style: Rock, Top 40, Tejano,
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Gave overall rating a 1 and cannot recommend this sub unless CV addresses the glue issue on the speaker itself. Owned this sub going on 2 years. Works great, sounds great. Using in a medium size sports bar that has DJs Thu, Fri, Sat. After bout 10 months of weekend use, a rattle started so the sub could not be used due to the loud rattle. Contacted the manufacturer and found an authorized repair shop in San Antonio 2 hrs away. As soon as I told the repair person about the problem, he immediately knew that it was a glue issue. The speaker was not blown. something under the dust cone had come unglued and was loose causing the rattle. He already had an exact speaker with the same problem and showed me what it looked like with the dust cover removed.. CV replaced the speaker free of charge which was installed by the repair shop. Awesome! Back in business, great sub, great sound until this past weekend when the rattle returned after 11 months which means that the replacement speaker is having the same glue issue. So I will be contacting the same repair shop to report and see what happens now since speaker has already been replaced once. Have not read any reviews detailing this problem. The repair shop had only 1 other speaker besides mine. So maybe not a widespread problem but one that CV is aware of.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Nice little package!" submitted June 2, 2014

By John Fischer in Rockwall, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional Musician... Guitar, Keys, Vox, Band Owner.
Music Style: Rock, Pop, Country, Jazz, Techno
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I bought 2 of these from ZZounds. I was using 4 L-36 folded horns. The L-36's took up too much room in my trailer and were just too big. After much research I decided to go with these 21" powered subs. They took a couple of gigs to get broken in. They deliver thunderous deep low end. They do NOT throw real far so if you are playing anything beyond a small to mid sized venue you will likely be disappointed by that. Of course, the L-36 had very long throw so I was spoiled. The Good: Solid deep bass, lot's of power and headroom, amp runs cool, easy to move around with the built in casters (except one of the casters was defective, and ZZOUNDS has yet to respond to my inquiry about that 1 week later...). The NOT so Good: These ship with NO covers! These will get torn up easily because of that, The casters are lame. On a box that weighs damn near 200 lbs put some half decent casters on there. I was on the fence about keeping them but after the 3rd gig with them I am now convinced. Probably will buy 2 more which will solve my biggest concerns... I am also planning to buy the top cabs (wish they were powered too).
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The beast..!" submitted May 23, 2014

By Johan M in Miami, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Amateur DJ all my life, love all kinds of music and just enjoy playing at parties of all kinds.
Music Style: All genres, I don't have a preference although I do mostly latin and electronic.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I would say this is the workhorse of subs. The sound is excellent and perfect for any type of music genre. I play all kinds of music, latin, freestyle, electronic, classic rock, you name it, I have a little bit of it, and this unit performs great with any genre due to the incorporated controls and settings you can play with, that come with the amp. For those of us that like electronic music the way it should be played, this is the sub to own. Overall, excellent sound quality. Feature: The versatility of the incorporated amp in this unit is one of the best I've seen in a unit and after reviewing a good number of subs and different brands, I decided to go for this one based on the reviews and specs. The amp in this unit comes with a variety of controls for basically any application and needless to say, a very powerful amp. It also comes with different connectivity options depending on the set up we like to use. Ease of Use: Definitely an easy to use unit even though it can get very technical, beneficial to those sound experts out there, (I'm not. Very simple user) This unit can be plugged in a variety of different ways depending on the set up and needs, it can go from very basic connectivity (mixer straight to unit) or a more complex set up such as daisy chaining multiple units and so on. Now comes the fun part and the only drawback for some people: For those of you out there that don't like to deal with heavy items, this unit is not for you. This is an almost 200lb beast and it is NOT easy to transport and handle. Think seriously about this when considering this unit. If you don't mind the size and weight of this beast, this is the sub to own. Quality: This unit is awesome straight out of the box. The built quality is excellent, the appearance of the unit is very appealing to any eye and the materials used to build this product are by far, excellent quality. I'm very confident that this sub will last a very long time and A LOT of parties to come. The amp is well built, placed in the right space and the buttons/knobs are strong and efficient, yet easy to use by almost any user. Value: I would say this unit is worth every penny to those that appreciate a good quality product and want the best. In comparison to other brands and sizes, this is by far, the best value. Manufacturer Support: No issues to report yet, however, I contacted Cerwin Vega by phone before purchasing this unit and they seem to have a very good customer support, they answered all my questions and concerns I had before buying this unit. The Wow Factor: This unit in general is very appealing and it just looks great. The part that impressed me the most, I would have to say, it's the front grill; this thing looks, feels, and its built like a tank. I just love everything about this unit! and yes, even the weight of it. It just gives it character and along with its bad-ass all steel grill, it shows who's the boss..! Overall: For those of us that love quality, durability, and SOUND. This sub stands out to its power. I'm an amateur DJ that just loves all kinds of music and mostly plays in friends and family venues but likes to go with the best quality my pockets can afford and let me tell you: this sub will not disappoint anyone; I use a rather simple set up but very efficient and this sub really completed my set up and more than met my expectations. At first when I plugged it to my mixer (basic mixer to sub connection) and turned up the volume just a tab, the windows in my house felt like they were about to give. The sound is excellent and perfect for a large number of venues, crowds, and spaces. I named it, THE BEAST..!
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"cerwin vega" submitted February 9, 2014

By William Johnson in castleton, VT
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: DJ for bout 20 yrs
Music Style: music of all kinds
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: amazing sound
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 14JD-7CHH. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X
ALL ACCESS PASS
5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER
  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!