800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 14JT-NXBJ
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Crown XLS 1000 Power Amp

Weighing only 11 pounds, the 1000-watt XLS power amplifier from Crown packs a big punch. Its Peakx limiters deliver maximum output while protecting your PA.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Great amp for home audio, too" submitted September 11, 2012

By Rick M in Minneapolis, MN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Couch guitar player
Music Style: Blues, fingerstyle acoustic guitar
Back to Product Information
Overall: I didn't buy the XLS1000 for amping my guitar playing (I just play acoustic, anyway), but for a home audio system that needed a power amp. I paired it with an old Audio Research SP9II and it sounds fantastic--clear, lucid, musical, and way more powerful than my custom speaker system requires. The thing runs cool and I've never heard the fan come on. Light as a feather, too. As long as you're inputting an adequately strong signal into the Crown, you can use this for home audio. The thing does have RCA inputs. Highly, highly recommended.
9 of 9 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"To be or not to Be." submitted August 13, 2011

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Gospel
Music Style: Gospel
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This is a wonderful product. I have never owned a crown amp. I am in awe so to speak. I was using a peavey cs800 which was an early 1990 model. By plugging this amp in, I feel like I just upgraded by whole system. This is a powerful little amp. Crystal clear sound. You want be disappointed. Just buy it. 215 ohms per channel. Enough to power most speakers. Feature: Nice Led lighting. It has a clip indicator. My peavey amp did not have that feature. Ease of Use: Just plug and play Quality: Though it is a class D(lightweight product) it feels like it is built to last. I believe it will stand the test of times. I have heard great things about crown durability. They also come with a three year replacement waranty. Value: Great price. There are other amps out there that put out more power for less the cost, but quality may be an issue such as behringer. You do get what you pay for. Though other amps put out more power at less the cost, you wont get the crystal clear sound that this crown amp produce. Buy it. Manufacturer Support: Have not had to call crown yet, but the zzounds team is the best. Most calls are awnsered immediatley. They are able to awnser every question that I have. The Wow Factor: This product sure does look better than my 1990 peavey cs 800. This thing is fine. Especially the blue lighting. Overall: Overall, you cant beat this crown amp. So don't think about it, just buy it. You wont be sorry. Excellent sound. Lighter than most amps. Its a beauty. Great crystal clear sound. Easy set up. Great quality that is built to last.
39 of 41 people (95.12%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Best Low-cost Amp I've Used!" submitted March 19, 2013

By Jeff A in Piedmont, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Played professionally in bands;, now I do it for the fun of it and to help others learn the joys of making music!
Music Style: Rock, Metal, Pop, Rockin' Country,etc.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I've owned 2 of these for about 2 years and never had any problems, so I just purchased another one from zzounds. If you're looking for a lightweight amp that has a good deal of clean power for a low price, this amp will make you happy! This amp has an excellent built-in electronic crossover which I find is much more versatile than similar offerings from other companies. You can use the amp as a hi-pass stereo, lo-pass stereo, full range stereo, high or low pass or full range bridged! I have one XLS-1000 running 2 pairs of 15" 2-way Samson PA speakers in stereo(in parrallel, 4 ohm load for each channel) high-passed at 63Hz, and the other running an 18" Cerwin Vega Stroker sub at 4 ohms in bridged mono, lo-passed at 63Hz. The sound is clear, clean and LOUD in my 25'x25' drum studio/rehearsal space. Just make sure the peak limiters are engaged and you'll never have to worry about nasty clipping noises, either. The other amps in this XLS series are also a great value. I know there are more powerful amps to be had, but at this price point I feel Crown has them all beat with this combination of versatility, sound quality and price. I'd never owned Crown amps before these, but I sure won't hesitate to select them for upcoming amp purchases!!!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I highly recommend it." submitted March 29, 2011

By a customer from insightbb.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist, DJ
Music Style: Accoustic guitar
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The first one had a problem out of the box. Zzounds replaced it very quickly. The new one works perfectly. Good power, nice level/clip LEDS. I especially like the display and ease of selecting between full range and high and low crossover settings as well as the bridge mode. Has Speakon and wired terminal outputs. Plenty of punch in a surprisingly lightweight package. Ease of Use: It takes a few minutes to figure out how to navigate the different mode/menus settings. Once you figure it out, it is very easy. Quality: Good-looking, quiet running, light to carry. Have not taken it on the road yet, but hey - it is a Crown.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Crown XLS1000 power amplifiers" submitted July 18, 2012

By Randy Turner in Montpelier, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Audio fanatic
Music Style: classic rock, older country, blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I received the four new Crown amplifiers quickly from ZZSounds. The amps are small, and light weight, but I have no question as to their power ratings. I am driving two Peavey PR12 speakers in parallel with each amp, in bridged mono mode. I was previously using Soundcraftsmen amplifiers in the same way. These amps appear to be "coasting" while driving the speakers. I do not have the gains on the amps turned up all of the way, and the -10 level indicators hardly flash, but the amount of sound is incredible. I can't believe that you could find more power and quality at this price in any other amplifier. With features like a built in crossover system, clip limiters, gain settings, multiple input and output connection types, and low outlet power requirements, you can't go wrong.
17 of 19 people (89.47%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"crown xls1000 for home audio" submitted May 4, 2014

By david lile in corpus christi, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: banjo,guitar 40years
Music Style: bluegrass ,blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have been using the crown amp in my home audio system for about a month and I am very pleased with the performance. I have been using the amp to drive a pair of magneplaner speakers, very clean sound, lots of power and no disortion. To anyone looking for a high output amp but lacking a high output bank account, give one of these amps a try. There is nothing mystical about quality home sound. Low distotion, enough power not to clip and clean source material + a good pair of speakers works every time. props to zzounds and crown.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"crown xl" submitted November 20, 2012

By ENJEIL L in LAPLACE, LA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: sound tech 15 yrs
Music Style: multi
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: very surprised with sound clarity at high rates and this amp just stays cool no matter how hard you pump it
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great power amp!" submitted June 16, 2011

By a customer from xmission.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: DJ and High School Stage Crew Advisor
Music Style: All kinds
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I have only used this amp once, but it was for a three-hour DJ gig. It provided solid rich sound. Feature: This amp has many features, but I only used the default settings. Ease of Use: I didn't use the advanced features, but they seemed easy to access. Quality: Solidly made, attractive case. Value: I believe you get what you pay for, and Crown is solid performance for your money. Manufacturer Support: I contacted Crown on a different product and had excellent phone support which resolved the issue. It was nice to talk to a knowledgeable real person. The Wow Factor: I like having brand-name equipment. Overall: If I needed another amp of this size, I would buy another one of these!
10 of 12 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Crown Power Amps" submitted February 2, 2014

By Ronald V in Crestline, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: intermediate guitar player for worship at Church
Music Style: Christain
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: plugged them in and started using them as soon as I got them. Powerful and clear sound. Excellent for the price and thanks for the pay as you play.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great light-weight amp with built in crossover, but high noise-floor" submitted April 4, 2014

By Michael Williams in Bedford, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Sound Reinforcement Engineering since 1982,
Music Style: Pop, Contemporary Christian, Choral, Southern Gospel, Praise & Worship, Folk
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This was purchased to replace a QSC GX5 for my stage monitors. While a downgrade in power for me, it sports a much lighter weight (1/3 the weight of the GX5) and is mechanically much quieter since the fan only runs when needed. It also has the DSP allowing the amp to do the crossover function (eliminating a separate crossover). HOWEVER, the idle noise-floor of the amp is high. As soon as you power it up (with the gain at its lowest setting and no inputs connected) the speakers hiss from the amp's noisy components. While not horrible, it is very noticeable. I measured 11 dBA higher than the GX5's idle noise-floor while connected to a JBL JRX115. The DSP configuration is very intuitive and easy to set. There is no way to lock it however, which may or may not be an issue depending on your setup.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome light power amp" submitted March 9, 2014

By Arnie Fischer in kingston, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing bass over 30 years,
Music Style: 80's rock..
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Everything was seamless from the purchase to the setup and use of the power amp.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Works" submitted October 17, 2012

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: No complaints on sound. I do have some noise, but I don't think this amp is the cause. Feature: If I was using this for mains and had woofers, I'd definitely love the low/high pass filter. I'm only using it for monitors. However, I should have double checked the product specs before ordering as I was expecting 1/4 jack out and found only speakon and binding/banana options. Ease of Use: Cable in, cable out, power on, volume up. Quality: The front cover is all plastic, and the rest of the case is metal. Overall: I've only used it a couple times, but so far this amp has done what I needed it to.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Easy to carry, fun to use." submitted May 1, 2011

By a customer from tampabay.rr.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: DJ, musician, vocalist
Music Style: Classic Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I was really surprise at how good this little amp sounded. Feature: The menu is a bit on the busy side, but easily mastered. Ease of Use: I tried to used banana plugs to hook up my speaker cables, but the fit was too tight. I finally decided to go with apair of Speak-on connectors. Quality: Not a heavy-duty as other power amps I have owned, but it's fine for my needs. Value: The price was great. This item was a "blem" with a few cosmetic flaws. It's in a rack case, so who cares ? The Wow Factor: It has an attractive front panel. Overall: I might consider buying a higher- powered lightweight Crown amp.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Crown XLS 1000 Power Amp Customer Review submitted January 18, 2011

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Recording Engineer and musician
Music Style: Country,Pop, Oldies and Gospel
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I have used Crown amps for the past five years and find them to be one of the best. The company policy of standing behind their product is one of the best.
2 of 4 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"very nice amp!" submitted May 28, 2010

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
Musical Background: audio engineer
Music Style: hardcore techno, industrial.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I use this at home for a set of klipsch synergy reference speakers, and it blows my old onkyo out of the water! Feature: way too many buttons and knobs for what i use it for. Ease of Use: easy setup, poweron, config. and instructions are in my language for once! Quality: im not sure what people are griping about. the unit runs remarkably cool in 8 ohm (75% volume and im not even seeing the fan cycle!) Value: 300 bucks for the home theater i think is a tad much, but im certainly not disappointed by the sound! Manufacturer Support: thanks zzounds!
13 of 23 people (56.52%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Customer SERVICE Horrible" submitted January 31, 2014

By L C in Jacksonville, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 32 years, Bass Guitar, Professional Bass Guitarist
Music Style: Jazz, Fusion Jazz, Blues, R&B, Neo Soul
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I bought a piece of crown xls 1000 for my bass rig...long story short it clipped badly during my gig. I exchanged it (which was extremely difficult initially) for a Beringer 4000. I received it the day of the gig and that night it wouldn't EITHER. Now i'm livid... Turns out after our sound man reviewed the amp it was setup for Euro power not US. I definitely want be buying anymore gear or recommending zounds to any musicians I meet/know. What a NIGHTMARE to deal with for a pro musician!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"crown xls 1000 power amp" submitted March 12, 2014

By Greg Smith in Hagerstown, MD
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Several years DJ INGmusic for parties and at home
Music Style: Different variety's of music from rock,country and dance
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Awesome price and amp easy set up and awesome sound
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 14JT-NXBJ. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X
ALL ACCESS PASS
5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER
  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!