800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 156W-MQ77
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Crate TX15 Taxi Amp

Take this battery-powered combo amp with you anywhere and play up to 8 hours. It's perfect for when you're far from any source of power.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"crate taxi" submitted June 18, 2012

By jim kirk in hebron, IN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 10 years. mostly my Martin acoustic
Music Style: mostly country and gospel
Back to Product Information
Overall: i love my taxi. it is so easy to carry and sets up anywhere without a plug in. the sound is great for small to medium venues. i used it last week in a ball room with 2 mikes. plenty of "juice". now, i'm not saying it works for a large concert or major outdoors, but for the christmas party or the nursing home show........wow!
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Crate TX15 Taxi Amp Customer Review submitted June 25, 2009

VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Its a perfect little machine for street performance with an amazing battery life. This is a replacement since my last taxi droped dead of extreme exhaustion. It was always dependable which prompted my purchase. I checked out the competition and the only thing better was the Crate Limo. If the Taxi offered voice fx's for the mic channel it would be the perfect outdoor port amp.
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Excellent, except for a fatal flaw." submitted August 10, 2004

By a customer from charter.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Eclectic
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Tweaking the 4 band EQ will improve the sound quite a bit. But there's a fairly serious weakness: Low frequencies, say from the bottom strings of a guitar, cause higher frequencies to be suppressed. So, for instance, if you strum a chord on the guitar, you'll notice the upper strings are barely heard. The vocal mic is also suppressed. I've been in contact with Crate and they admit it's a design issue. Feature: For the money, its features are more than adequate. A simple reverb option would be a nice addition. Quality: Well built and sturdy so far. Value: Until they fix the preamp problems this box is only good for basic portable announcing. Manufacturer Support: Quick response from the CS department regarding the sound problem. But no resolution yet. We'll see... The Wow Factor: Good, practical design. Overall: I'm going to try the top of the line "Limo" version of this series. I'm hoping it doesn't use the same preamp stage as the TX15
25 of 28 people (89.29%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Can't get much better than this." submitted August 28, 2009

By a customer from verizon.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Play for family and friends
Music Style: Folk and Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This unit makes me sound great while playing accoustic guitar and singing ballads. I have tried some R&R with it and it sounds good but I am into the heady stuff. 15watts are fine for me, but the 50watt Limo would be the bomb. Feature: I like the dual inputs and the CD/mp3 inputs. I can sound real professional and be portable. Ease of Use: Plug your stuff in and go on the road. Can't be any easier. Quality: I bought 2 of these a few years apart and I can't be happier. Value: Might be something out there cheaper, but the operative word is "Cheap". I feel you get what you pay for. Manufacturer Support: One of my amps shorted out and with the 5/2 warranty, it got fixed and I am back. The Wow Factor: Many people love the portability and want one. Overall: I will only buy a Crate as their reputation and quality speaks for itself. And they stand behind their products. I've had my first TX-15 for 6 years and have just needed work on it.
7 of 8 people (87.5%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Get it on !" submitted April 3, 2011

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Dr. in music.
Music Style: Public Domaine.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound is Loud ! Wow , I was surprized I had too much volume inside my house at 2.The quality for my voice ( I am a professional opera singer ) does not capture all of the resonances that I would like it too. I can use the built in equalizer which is nice ,but it wont give the speakers the proper sound of my voice. I wouldn't expect them too , I guess I learned something new about my voice because I only found out that there are no low costing speakers that will reproduce my voice.As far as guitar and voice , this little taxi will get the job done. I do make more money singing with it than with out it.Regarding recording uses, I dont know. I can't tell you which settings your going to like and mine are secret.Marketing strategy.I have a 100 $ mic. Feature: For me , the settings and sounds are perfect, add a pedal and its a whole new toy. Go wireless and your show becomes dramatic. Dont expect anything more from the Amp. Ease of Use: The design is well thought out and easy to understand. Quality: I dont yet know how long it will last in the situation where it is used as a regular amp for a gig. I like the fact that I can take the plug with me and give it a charge and in a couple of hours its reusable. Also I like the fact that the manual explains you should let it charge 24 hours if the red light does not come on because of a low battery.The reason I dont rate it a 10 is because I reaolly dont yet know how long it will last. How good the battery is. I'm sure there are lemons just like cars , but it is not a toy. This is a real professional amp for a one man show. Value: The price is the reason I bought it. Secondly the function for one man show,as a professional performer , ( Busking ) Manufacturer Support: The support makes up for any lack in the product. They were easy to reach. ( they even responded to my e-mail on a saturday night when the regular store hours were monday through friday ).the timely assitance from http://www.zZounds.com rated 10. The Wow Factor: This is about practicality,for me. I can do my job with out amplification , but this product imediatly makes my JOB , more profitable,in plain dollars and cents. Overall: I do not know how long ? This product will be usefull that all depends on me.
6 of 7 people (85.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Super convenient and affordable amp with mediocre sound quality" submitted May 4, 2012

By a customer from gmail.com in Asheville, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Full-time touring musician
Music Style: Folk, 40s-50s pop
Back to Product Information
Overall: I have used the TX-15 for about three years of near-constant gigging, and it has proved very useful. The sound isn't great, but it does the job when you need to be amplified outdoors or far from an electrical outlet. The amp is pretty rugged, and took a fair amount of abuse without crapping out on me. This is a great choice for the musician who needs a reliable, affordable and portable amp to use in a wide variety of situations, but not if you are very picky about faithful sound reproduction or beautiful tone. I never sought manufacturer support so I can't rate for that.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Hope you have tone in your fingers" submitted March 4, 2010

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: guitarist
Music Style: blues rock jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Not as loud as I had hoped I guess its the 50 wattr I hear on the streets. If you play in a band on the street you need the 50 watter. This is good for jamming with another guitarist I think you can use both inputs at the same time dont know if it mskes the output louder or what when 2 inputs are plugged in. Its kind of noisy. No reverb. Does anyone make a reverb pedal that runs on batteries? Feature: No reverb. Ease of Use: Four knobs for eq is hard to dial in the sound. Quality: I gotta jam with this outside to be sure but it sure has no tone in my apartment. Im trying to break in the speaker by blasting it. Value: Well it is inexpensive compared to Roland. The Wow Factor: I need it so I can show jam in the park. Overall: It will do. The amps that take batteries are a toy this rechargeable unit is pro.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"These Taxi's Make The Whole World Your Stage" submitted September 29, 2008

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: active musician; recording producer
Music Style: Rock mostly
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I've used a pair of Taxi 15's for numerous outdoor gigs and have always found it to be reliable and very clear. I use a small mixer so I can get voice effects and more than one instrument input. I've played guitar and piano thru the speakers and they're very clear. I guess if you crank them to the top level they might have issues like just about any speaker, but I haven't had a single problem with these. Feature: I like the double mike inputs, for both the quarter-inch plug and XLR. I like how long they hold a charge. I mean, they're not that complicated; they're basically powered speakers if you choose to look at them that way. That's why I use a Yamaha pre-amp with them and it works perfectly. Ease of Use: Everything's pretty intuitive about these Crates. Like I said, they're not that complicated. I use the Yamaha mixer with them and it just plugs in, simple as can be. So I can use them for singing through with two voices, plus have a guitar and piano hooked in, too. I've also used them for Ipod background music, just get an adaptor for the Ipod, or CD player, and run it into the speaker. Loud music anywhere! Value: Absolutely. The price for these speakers is a steal. Manufacturer Support: I've never had to deal with them. The Wow Factor: I like the idea that I can make amplified music without power. That's amazing to me, makes the whole world a stage. Overall: The only thing that would make me replace the 15's is if I decided to go for the more powerful 50s. I simply don't need that much power for the uses that I have of this amp right now.
19 of 20 people (95%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 156W-MQ77. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!