800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 14N9-6XM8
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: CAD U37 Studio Condenser

Plug this large-diaphragm condenser directly into your computer. With a 10-foot USB cable and desk stand included, the CAD U37 USB mic is a great value.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Prety decent usb voice capture solution for a side adress condenser for the price" submitted February 24, 2010

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Radio Production, Recording Engineer,Hobbyist
Music Style: Hard Rock , Techno
Back to Product Information
Sound: I've used Cad drum kit mics for live sound and very happy with the performance saw this mic for the price i figured what the He*^ for the price the sound is prety decent i actually produce a radio show with a more expensive condenser(analog into mixer to pci antex audio card) with adobe audition and like the more expensive mic get a pop screen i was able to use a foam windscreen to better manage pops till i can get a for real pop screen now sound quality prety good for the price only draw back is this mic hears a little too good when it comes to background noises(computer fans you know the deal) but if you need a usb voice capture solution in a hurry and on a budget this mic works remember don't forget the pop filter Feature: included desk stand and 10 ft usb cable Thanks CAD Ease of Use: Recording with Audition 1.5? not bad very little eq or limiting required just remember yoour mike techniques i'm still researching noise characteristics i need to get into one of my quieter studios and check noise floor of the mike usb interface it self but again so far not to bad of a side address mic for the price Quality: it's plastic i wouldn't recommend taking it on the road all the time if you do take all the precautions to protect this mike as you would a more expensive $1000 dollar condenser Value: Ummmm not bad Manufacturer Support: I said 7 reason is havn't needed to talk to support yet i plugged in my XP machine and my editing software and XP had no problem getting aquainted with this Mic The Wow Factor: Cad is a prety good name for performance again if you need some kind of usb voice capture in a hurry and on a budget this will work but do considering upgrading if performance and quality is top priority Overall: if i find a higher performing product for the same price i'll keep this mic as a second choice
19 of 20 people (95%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This Is An Excellent Vocal and Acoustic Guitar Mic" submitted December 30, 2012

By Mike C in Greensboro, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Songwriter, guitarist, and drummer
Music Style: CCM mainly
Back to Product Information
Overall: I've been writing and recording my own music for years now and have used other microphones but I must say that this fairly inexpensive mic has replaced most of my other mics. My guitar and vocal tracks sound very clear and with the add of my DAW you can do wonders with the tracks. I think for the money you can't beat this microphone!
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Excellent mic for the price!" submitted April 29, 2009

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Singer
Music Style: Soft Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Great for vocals. Not sure about instruments. Feature: The switches on the mic make it versatile to the user. Ease of Use: It's really as easy as it sounds. Just plug and play. Quality: I'm not planning on smashing this mic, but the only reason I rated this an 8, was because of its plastic. Value: You won't find a USB mic this nice for a cheaper price. Manufacturer Support: Don't take my word on this. Never needed support. The Wow Factor: Some may not like the tan color, but it matches with my table. The blue light matches with my laptop, but I'm not too picky on colors. Overall: Great mic for a great price. The sound is clear, and it's extremely easy to use. Will buy more.
28 of 32 people (87.5%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Worth Every Penny, BUY IT." submitted August 18, 2008

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Internet Radio Owner
Music Style: Rock, Techno, Alternatice, etc.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound quality could be better, but the main part of that is because it is a USB microphone. Other than that, the quality of the sound is superb. It cuts out most of the background noise also. Feature: There are a few accessories and features. The microphone comes with a tripod stand along with a microphone stand mount. On the microphone, there are two switches. One of them, very useful, decreases the sound pickup by -10 dB. The other, pretty cool, decreases the bass pickup. Ease of Use: Very easy to use. No complaints. Quality: Made very well. One complaint, thats kind of funny, is the status light is very bright. It makes you have to look away every once in a while. Value: When I got the microphone, I was surprised it wasn't more. Manufacturer Support: No questions. =) The Wow Factor: It has a olive/tan look to it, other than that, its nice. Overall: I probably will never replace this one. =)
54 of 62 people (87.1%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great First Recording Microphone." submitted March 22, 2012

By C Rich
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 4-5 Years
Music Style: Indie Hip Hop
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: When I first looked into this microphone, I was scared from what I saw about latency. When I got this thing and hooked it up to my computer, it blew me away. Its very clear, and the adjustable settings were a nice touch. I gave it a low quality score because it does belong like a children"s toy, but trust me its like they say: Its the inside that counts.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Perfect for its price!!" submitted August 12, 2009

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: Music Producer
Music Style: Christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: For the Price of this mic, i am amazed of how much sound quality i got out of it! This mic helps me achieve that professional sound quality i want. Feature: The most usefull accessory is the cable! the other accessory was the tripod for the desk which is fair and could be better but im not complaining. Ease of Use: Produces clear sounds of my vocals! I haven't tried on instruments yet but soon will Quality: Good quality mic for the price you pay Value: this product is perfect for its product and its usb competetors Manufacturer Support: i just recently got it and read the easy instructions. Nothing went wrong and everything is going smoothly. The Wow Factor: Its nice. I love the color and the feel to it Overall: i expect to be satisfied with this product untill i get some more money and can afford to buy some professional mics.
5 of 6 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Very Good Mic" submitted March 29, 2012

By Arnold S in Charlotte, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Mildly proficient saxophone player since junior high (I'm now 62!) , and play all 4.
Music Style: Jazz, Swing, R&B, and Pop
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This mic worked flawlessly right out of the bubble pack when I connected it to my Windows 7 box. I did a sound check with the companion app that came with my (really inexpensive) HP webcam, leaving the buttons in the default position, and the sound quality is superb. And it really looks sweet on my desktop between the two monitors, even if it is mostly plastic. Now I'll have to upgrade my webcam. The supplied USB cable is long enough to reach behind my hutch to the computer nestled in the right-hand desk compartment. Oh yeah: that blue light on the front panel that others have complained about disappears if you turn the mic around 180 degrees!
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"BRUTALLY HONEST YET SATISFYING REVIEW" submitted January 22, 2010

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician, producer, live broadcaster,
Music Style: hip hop, rock, reggae, r&b, indie
Back to Product Information
Sound: this is definitly not the best microphone to buy, for its price it does work, but your better off spending a few hundred on a mixer and a better mic. Feature: simple 2 switches that come equiped on most usb mics. if not theres vst's to dl and fix the same problems post recording... Ease of Use: plug and play, all that can be said about it,,, although mac users may need to dl asio drivers off the web to run it. garage band on a macbook didn't recognize it Quality: mic is sturdy and no problems whatsoever but the stand post doesnt seem to stay fixed in place Value: very affordable great for a beginner on a budget. but like i said. get familiar with mixing boards and get a real mic. Manufacturer Support: havent had to call so i cant rate The Wow Factor: nothing specacular Overall: IF YOUR NEW to home recording it's great if not invest in something better. the more you spend the better your quality
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"It's a $50 microphone with a $60 sound." submitted April 26, 2011

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Audio Production Major
Music Style: Hip-Hop/Techno
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Cad makes good microphones, but in all seriousness, this is a $50 microphone, you're not going to get a professional sound out of it. Get a real stand, not the desk top mount that comes with it, as well as a pop filter. All in all, you should spend more equipping this microphone then you spent on purchasing it. Feature: The roll of switch doesn't really work too well. Ease of Use: The Cad is a USB microphone. This generally means it is going to suck. But if you have a laptop and you want a plug-and-play when you're on the go, the passenger of a car with your buddies and you want to jot something down really quick, this is what's right for you. If it breaks, oh well, you're out $50. Quality: It's a plastic microphone. It's a pretty much just a toy. If you're a beginner, play around with it. You won't have to mess with interfaces or phantom power just yet. Value: Worth every penny! But that's only 5,000 pennies. Manufacturer Support: No problems with it. The Wow Factor: It's not hideous mic but if it got damaged I really wouldn't care. Overall: Already replaced it with a Samson C01U.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"customer support sucks" submitted November 28, 2012

By Justin C in Paw Paw, MI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: all
Back to Product Information
Overall: Microphone dies in less than a year!!! contacting customer support is impossible!!! TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Best Mic I've Ever Had" submitted July 30, 2009

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician, recording engineer
Music Style: Hip Hop
Back to Product Information
Sound: It simply Excellent! Feature: They are perfect. They are made to fit whatever voice type you have! Ease of Use: easy as taking a piece of candy from a baby Quality: Sound could have been a little bit warmer but, it's still excellent The Wow Factor: I have it
2 of 12 people (16.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 14N9-6XM8. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X
ALL ACCESS PASS
5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER
  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!