800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1644-GBX8
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Bugera 1960-INFINIUM Amp

Capture the classic crunch of a vintage British amp at an amazing price. The Bugera 1960-INFINIUM head uses four EL34 power tubes for serious tone.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Amazing Amp For The Money..Buy it Now!!" submitted May 3, 2012

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20 years- 10 year( Professional)
Music Style: Rock( Psych-Blues)
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This Thing is a Beast!!I bought this amp as a back-up. Normally play a modded Sovtek mig 60+ a Plexi reissue. the sovtek was in the shop. So I read the reviews on the Bugera 1960 infinium & figured it was worth it just because I could switch the tubes around w/o biasinig. Boy was I right. It came in & I was shocked at how it sounded out of box. Loud & proud. It sounded alot like my plexi. It's not as complex as the plexi but, it's only 1/4 of the price!! Then I changed out the tubes(Pre:1 mullard & 2 E-harm 12ax7) & one power amp( svetlana el34) & the Amp Just came to life!! Smooth but with just enough bite, full but not to bassy. very well rounded in general.This amp has quite a bite of gain. At first I put all 3 e-harm 12ax7 in and it was to much gain for my use. So, the addtion of the mullard in the # 1 position & that tamed the overall sound. Bottom Line..Best value on the market today. If you are willing to do the work & change around the tubes(the best part). You can really bring it life!!
25 of 25 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Bugera has improved" submitted May 28, 2013

By Jeff L in N. Smithfield, RI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Studio
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I owned the first 1960 Bugera model and had to use a power brake to play at normal volume levels...The volume was just too loud in that amp. When Bugera redesigned the 1960 and may have corrected issues people like me had after owning it. Problems solved with the NEW model...They added great feature like a phase invertor that acts like a master volume but it actually never cuts the volume completely off rather it will drop the volume down to sound like a 5 watt amp. The cascaded mod is very interesting. A amp company did this to Rhandy's amp because he wanted more gain in his amp. It works just like that. The cascade mod uses the second channel as a main gain and the first adds girth. It's opposite to the how the first channel now works adding an internal jump to both. No need for a jump cable anymore to blend volumes, its already been done internally. This amp is a great bargain for what you get...It's not point to point wiring but the fact that they now include a self bias circuit with their infinium system which tells you when a power tube is bad is worth buying. This is testimonial the Infinium system works...I bought four EL34 replacement tubes and one turned out to be bad...I had two 6L6GC laying around so I tried two new EL34 and two 6L6GC tubes... The light went off indicating the tubes all worked and the amp sounds excellent...Yes you can blend tubes in this amp it works...
6 of 6 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Nice!" submitted August 24, 2013

By Wesley S in Lincoln City, OR
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 40 years,
Music Style: Jazz, Blues, Rock mostly but enjoy some classical as well as other genre's,
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I originally use Line 6 equipment because of flexibility along with extensive effects, sound quality yet wanted a pure tube power amp for the vintage tone. My research was extensive and price didn't really play a role, I was prepared to spend as much as was needed to satisfy my tone habit, my addiction. Power, Vintage, Plexi, and British tone all played a role in my choice, almost purchased a 1959 reissue but decided this amp had what I needed. Out of the box and with a guitar with SD vintage pickups I was awed by the clear crisp tones I was hearing, I had planned to hear a warmer sound by other reviews but with this amp the clear tones can be brought to match the bell like cleans of the Vox yet the heavy compressed lows that are felt with any Marshall around! Not bad because I thought I would also be a Vox NT50 head to get those bell like cleans, no need this amp right out of the box does it all, a true Plexi. I ordered extra power JJ tubes for experimentation along with a set of ECC83 that are known to give more breakup crunch or gain, so according to some mixing the EL83's with 6L6's is better set up but not seeing it myself unless I use my active pickups. To conclude, I have to say overall I'm not sure why you would spend a lot for a plexi style amp when its a "Bugera 1960 Infinium" that satisfies the addiction! Yes, I am a tone addict!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great TONE, Great VALUE for any Musician!!!" submitted December 7, 2011

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock, Fusion, Instrumental Rock (Vai)
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The tone is incredible with a very smooth and deep breakup. Excellent Rock and Metal sounds as well as Fusion or Instrumental. The EQ settings are sensitive and true to the settings on the knob. I would recommend tyring different tubes in place of the EL34s. Don't get me wrong but the EL34's sound great. 6L6s have a more "open" sound to them when used with this amp. it is just cool that you can drop in pretty much any tube. Feature: Standard number of features but the Infinium technology is incredible. Plus, you can exchange types of tubes and you will get some variability in sound - TREMENDOUS spec! No reverb but nothing a pedal can't handle. I would also like a presence but many older "styles" of amps didn't have presence back then and this is what this amp is modelled after. Ease of Use: Easy to use as the controls are typical. The inputs are labeled as well. Quality: This is a quality made product that can compete on every level of construction. Even seems to use heavy hardwood - very solid. Parts and wiring seem to be top notch compared to other heads I have. Looks very "clean". Only had it for a couple of weeks but so far so good. Value: Great value in a 150 watt head with great tone. This is a TONE MONSTER! At $500, this is a steal versus the amp this is modelled after which costs 3-4 times this price - and that's a "re-issue"! This is very gig-worthy and can be compared to the best brands out there for sound and tone. Manufacturer Support: N/A The Wow Factor: The Infinium version of the 1960 is tremendous with the Red front insert, it sets itself apart from the rest as far as looks. Overall: Great value, great price point, great tone and should be bought by every serious musician. If you don't like it, return it. $500 is well worth buying for any amp head just to try out. The Bugera 1960 Infinium is one of the best amp deals out there!
22 of 24 people (91.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Bugera 1960 Infinium" submitted May 30, 2014

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This a great amp very simple controls how I like them to be.This sucker is loud Reallly loud but keeps it's tone quality at higher volume. The head is actually bigger than it looks in the picture the same size as the old marshall plexi. This amp is a steal the master volume in the back helps a ton but it can still be louder great lows crisp high it's a very versatile amp for volume and genre style not sure for the heavier gain
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Value!" submitted December 27, 2012

By Phillip R in Pleasant View, TN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 6 years Hobby Rocker and some times touring
Music Style: Classic Rock, Blues, Country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I recently sold all of my gear due to financial problems. All I ever wanted was an Amp that had that Plexi sound. I was doing research on amps when I saw on youtube this Bugera amp. Needless to say I was hooked! Amazing Tone no need for pedals and perfect for my budget.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Bugera 1960 INFINIUM Guitar Amp Head" submitted October 31, 2012

By Bill Q in Anchorage, AK
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: play guitar, own many amps. This is one of the best ever, bar none.
Music Style: Rock n Roll, Metal, and more
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Better than all the Marshall amps and features it was designed to imitate. Simply Brilliant. And the ability to mix and match tubes takes this amp to a whole new sonic dimension and level of sound tuning. Don't miss this amp!
7 of 10 people (70%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Nice classic Rock tone" submitted May 23, 2013

By Jeff Lafreniere in North Smithfield, RI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Self taught musician
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I bought this amp from zZounds, they seem to be the only one to actually carry this excelent sounding amp. I really like the tone in this amp but I wanted to try mix matching 6L6 and EL34 tubes at the same time. This amp allows for cross pollination of tubes and sounds amazing doing this. I am very happy with the tone out of the box but ecstatic that this amp offers so much for under $500. Check out my demo on YouTube JBM8863 see and listen to my full reviews playing through this excelent amp.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1644-GBX8. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!