800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 161M-VCQT
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Boss CE-5 Chorus

Create any kind of chorus sound from mild to penetrating stereo chorus with this effects pedal.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"My first experience to use Boss chorus." submitted January 22, 2007

By a customer from mastertex.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 26 Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: I have been using Boss pedals since long time but i did not tried their chorus as i already had a Ibanez one. So when i plugged it in my amp it just sounded superb. It even produce brillant sound in mono setting. It has got everything which a guitarist wants. Sound is clean, rich and amazingly beautiful. It is something i have been missing since so many years. I am completely satisfied with it. It gives good sound if it is being used with distortion. Feature: The best feature it has got is the low and high filters which gives you complete control over your desired sound. The pedal is very rugged and the variable knobs are very smooth and quiet. The unit is simply one of the best constructed. Ease of Use: It is very easy to shape any sound from this unit. It also very simple to mix it with other effects and does not cause any trouble. The manual is very clear and it also stated all the famous settings for various sound productions. Quality: The unit is very strong and very well made. But its paint finishing seems a little dull. I used it on the road and it is completely reliable. Overall its quality is great. Value: I think the price is a little higher. People now a days perfer to buy the complete effect boards so consequently these individual pedals prices should be reduced to let the hobbiest to get them more easily. Manufacturer Support: Never had a problem with their units so far. The Wow Factor: It is a perfect addition to my effect pedal libary. After buying it i can't think to play my guitar without it. Overall: No i would not change it. I will buy same another one if it being stolen. It surely complements all my musical targets. The best thing is its sound quality and least is its paint finishing quality it is rather dull.
9 of 9 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Boss CE-5 Chorus Customer Review submitted April 8, 2004

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Music Style: gloomy spacey dreamy psychedelic
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Great sound, from really watery effects to crazy fast modulation. Perfect for what I do. I use it with keyboards and theremin, too. Makes for some great noises when coupled with heavy delay and some distortion. My only complaint is that it makes a low hum with the low filter turned even half way up. Feature: It would be nice if it came with an adapter because it does drain batteries FAST. Otherwise features are good. Quality: The high filter knob has bent a little bit, but it doesn't really effect performance. I've had it for 10 years now and it hasn't fallen apart. Boss makes tough pedals. Value: Don't remember what I paid, but I've never regretted buying it. I can't live without a chorus pedal. Manufacturer Support: Don't know, never talked to them. Maybe I should about that hum. The Wow Factor: I like the look of Boss pedals, but that's not the most important factor here now is it? Overall: Like I said, my only complaint is that hum with the low filter dial turned up. Maybe there's a way to remedy that? If I had to replace it, I would probably look at other models. Before I bought it I also tried the Boss Super Chorus, but the Chorus Ensemble definitely had the better sound.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A River Of Liquid Chorus" submitted July 7, 2006

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Rock, Progressive, Metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: excellent sound, really brightens up your clean tone, i dont ever use it when playing with distortion but im sure it can keep up with it. I can really hear the difference between playing with a chorus pedal and going completely dry signal clean. I couldnt imagine playing anything clean without chorus just because this pedal adds so much more beautiful tonalites to your tone. Feature: 5 control knobs, perfect for honing in the sound your looking for, anything from wickedly liquid chorus to something very small and faint sounding Ease of Use: Its a boss, so obviously just plug and play. They give you a few examples in the instruction guide which are great but more so better for you seeing how exactly the pedal works and what does what, then from that being able to find your own sound Quality: ive owned a boss pedal for almost 6 years now and it hasnt broken so i entrust this one to stay put for just as long Value: its nice and cheap, though i traded in my old wah for this so i didnt pay a cent, but its still only like 119 bucks canadian Manufacturer Support: Havent had to deal with them, boss products are top of the line they'll never break The Wow Factor: its baby blue, looks like any other boss pedal so it fits in nicely on the ol pedalboard with the rest of em. Made of metal so its gonna be able to take a stompin. Overall: As far as im concerned i wont ever need another chorus pedal, if it breaks i'll buy another one just like it. It suits all my needs ive never been limited by what it can or possibly cannot do, absolutely perfect for chorus. Go out an buy it if your lookin for chorus, its lush.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Pedal to have.." submitted November 11, 2005

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Musical Background: garage
Music Style: rock/hardrock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Sound just what I wanted. Smooth, warm and clean. I really love it especially in clean tunes sounds like it float in the sky while you do the plucking or strumming. Feature: It has five knobs all the of them are usefull really makes a difference. If you turn the "RATE" knob all way up it also creates some sort of vibrato effect. Quality: BOSS pedals are gonna last long thats why I like them. Value: Dont hesitate to buy this one really worth it. Overall: Overall Im empressed with this pedal and Im damn glad proud I choose Boss CE-5. Sound + quality + value = BOSS CE-5
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great job once again." submitted June 25, 2005

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician. Play in Church, Touring experience
Music Style: Christain, Gospel, Praise and Worship, Christian Blues.
Back to Product Information
Sound: This Pedal is a good replacement for the infamous CE2 Chorus. It responds well and has a very wide range of controlls to get about any chorus sound you would ever need. Feature: Typical Boss pedal easy to access the battery compartment. Quality: Very durable. Used Boss when was on the road touring. Very road worthy. Value: Yes great price Manufacturer Support: Never had to contact them. The Wow Factor: excellent Overall: Ill use Boss products indefinantly
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Pedal!" submitted July 18, 2004

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: punk, ska, rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: very flexible tone and sound. i love it Feature: great sound and controls, wish it came with an ac adapter cause it just uses up batteries so fast. adapters cost 20 bucks Quality: sturdy metal, this thing wont break unless you are trying to break it and if it does, there is a 5 yar warranty Value: worth every penny you paid. does what it should Manufacturer Support: i havent had any problems, but im sure they would give me my five year warranty The Wow Factor: this field really doesnt apply mich to pedals but umm i guess it looks cool Overall: i dont plan on replacing it. it is a prfessional level pedal that sounds great and is made well.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Plain Awsome!" submitted April 14, 2008

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist, active musician
Music Style: rock, alternative
Back to Product Information
Sound: it's sound is perfect for anyone looking for a chorus pedal. the 5 knobs give you the control for the sound you want.i voe the sound on it. Feature: like i said i love the sound on it it'll just be like it's suposed to and it just awsome. the babey blue color is pretty cool too. Ease of Use: this is a Boss so DUH it's gonna be really easy to you just plug it in and play your heart out. Quality: like i said its a Boss it's never broken yet and iv'e been useing it for 6 years! Value: it's a great deal for someone looking for there first chorus. i know it is. Manufacturer Support: Never had to fix a thing. The Wow Factor: its babey blue is a cool touch and it feels great when you play it,even if your on the go. Overall: I LOVE THIS PEDAL! its sutch an awsome pedal great deal and great for someone looking for there first chorus pedal.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"First pedal, Awsome outcome." submitted April 18, 2008

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: rock, alternative
Back to Product Information
Sound: sounds like its supposed to and you can get just about every chorus sound you want Feature: the 5 knobs give you the settings you want your chorus to sound like.plus it was a little smaller than expexted but still awsome Ease of Use: Really easy to use. Quality: i never expect this product to break and i got it 2 days ago. Value: perfect price for a perfect pedal Manufacturer Support: never had to call for support The Wow Factor: i think this is a realy good pedal for beggeners and pros! Overall: i love this pedal its just awsome
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 161M-VCQT. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!