800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 174R-P5NR
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

For delivery by New Year's Eve, order by 2pm EST on Monday, Dec 29th with 2-day shipping.
Cart

Rating and Reviews: Boss BD-2 Blues Driver

Warm up your distortion tone with this renowned pedal. The BD-2 Blues Driver offers classic blues tones and simulates the response of a tube amp.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"The only Boss drive pedal that matters." submitted June 3, 2007

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Songwriter/bar band member
Music Style: Beatles for songwriting and classic rock for the bar band.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I have tried other Boss overdrive/distortion pedals without coming away with the ooh ah factor tied to them...that is until now. All of you Fender Twin reverb amp owners take notice. This pedal will give your Twin the guts you never thought it had or could have without sounding pretentious. I have loved my Fender Twin from the day I bought it. But something was always lacking when it came to going crunch time. Granted I know Twins were not built at the time for harsher edgier types of music, But with the power and tone behind this amp I figured something has to sound good and natural without feeling too mismatched. For the longest time my Ibanez tube screamers seemed like the only pedals that gave my Twin any personality until now. The Blues Driver goes the extra mile where my Tube screamer only teased. Dont be fooled by the name of the pedal, it really does rock with my Twin volume at 3 and the pedal level at 9:00, tone at 11:00, and gain all the way up! Feature: Boss has always had rugged pedals. The name of this one doesnt do it justice. Ease of Use: The full gain sound is what sold me. I didnt think the lighter gain sounds were easy to dial in as the Tube screamer. Quality: I have never had a bad experience with a Boss product. Value: I think if the price was at about 59 bucks, I think they would be flying off the shelves. 79 bucks is abit too pricey for an overdrive pedal. Manufacturer Support: n/a The Wow Factor: The sound is what sells this pedal. My Twin thanks Boss. But change the name of the pedal and lower the price a couple bucks. Overall: This pedal will now be the major stomp box for my recordings as well as on stage.
16 of 16 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Pedal for tubes." submitted February 5, 2005

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock, Metal, Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This really boosts the tone for tube amps and has superb distortion. Feature: The product didn't include any accessories, but it didn't need it. It has everything you need and nothing you don't. Quality: Built like a piece of armor. Value: A great price for a very useful and I'm sure it'll last me very long. Manufacturer Support: Wouldn't know, but i'm assuming its good. The Wow Factor: Makes you sound great. Overall: Overall, a great weapon in the arsenal.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"a blues guy's blues driver review" submitted August 15, 2003

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Music Style: classic rock/ blues
Back to Product Information
Sound: well, the bd-2 is a must for blues players like me. it makes your licks stand out clear. however, the blues driver doesn't sound that rich when doing chords. Feature: one thing, you can go from overdriven to crunch to clean with your guitar volume. Quality: i got mine six years ago. not a single problem The Wow Factor: this is my most important stomp box
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Very Unique Pedal" submitted January 11, 2005

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: classic rock, rock, blues
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: this pedal makes my small 15w amp gain sustain and makes it range greatly in sound Feature: simple knobs, but thats all you need to get a good tone out of the pedal Quality: very well built, metal casing makes this effect last a long time. Value: very worth while investment in my arsenal. I would be willing to pay about $80 for this product. Manufacturer Support: wouldn't know, never had to deal with them, but i'm sure its good. The Wow Factor: reproduces a very smooth and hypnotizing sound for blues playing. Overall: Very easily controlled and very durable pedal.
6 of 7 people (85.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"High quality product. Great for any level guitarist." submitted December 30, 2004

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: A high quality crunchy sound. Gives you that great "AC/DC style" blues rocky sound. Feature: Didn't come with necesarry cords to use it. Quality: It's a Boss, what else do I have to say? Value: Worth it! The Wow Factor: Looks great! That nice blue and black combo looks good. Overall: I will be satisfied with the pedal untill it breaks. Which will most likely be a very long time from now.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"An ok driver pedal at an ok price" submitted June 12, 2005

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: erious hobbyist
Music Style: Blues and 60-70's rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: The sound is good with this pedal. Takes a bit of adjusting to get a sound you might like. I fould that the level pot to be touchy. It seems to be either all on or basicly all off. Feature: It has the usual features found BOSS pedals. Quality: Made like a tank. Hard to beleive that one could ever damage it. Value: Good value for the price Manufacturer Support: Never had to deal with support. I've heard that the BOSS support sucks Overall: With the touchy level pot I have I have stopped using it in my setup and have switched to Digi-Tech 'Bad Monkey.' I will keep this as a backup. I hope to do the Keeley upgrades. I probably would not replace it as I think that the tone of the Digi-Tech is cleaner.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Boss BD-2 Blues Driver Customer Review submitted March 23, 2006

Sound: The true potential of this pedal can only be achieved by fine tuning the settings. It can add a very pleasant warmth to a tube amp sound but tends to get harsh if the setting are set too high. Time spent experimenting with the settings is worthwhile.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great pedal" submitted March 27, 2005

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Back to Product Information
Sound: It sounds great. My first pedal, and it's still in the line up. Feature: The basic 3 knobs. But it provides tons of versatality. Quality: Sturdy as hell. It's a Boss. Value: Good price as well. Overall: This is a bad ass pedal for all types of guitar styles. Crank the gain and get a nice distortion. Turn it down for a resemblence of SRV's sound. Then just tweak the tone knob. Oh!, and battery life is sufficient too. You almost dont need an adapter. If you are interested in this thing, just buy it.
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 174R-P5NR. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!