800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 16X4-Z3SL
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Blackstar HT-5RH Amp

Get huge tone at low volumes with the 5-watt Blackstar HT5RH amp head. It's ideal for studio recording or bedroom practice.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"WOW 5 watts of pure rock!!!!!" submitted March 21, 2013

By Brandon Hance in Dundalk, MD
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 25 years of playing
Music Style: you name it i have played it
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: MAn I have to say i was a bit skeptical going from an EVH 5150 down to this amp but i am absolutly blown away. The tone is amazing. The best thing about this amp is the qualities of the guitar really show through in the tone. Too often with these smaller amps every guitar sounds the same but not here. The dynamics are out of this world. I can dial in anything from screaming blues, bright clean jazz, to the rauchiest metal around. The isf feature is stunning as well. I wouldnt advise turning the dial all the way in either direction but from 9 oclock to 3 oclock covers alot and does it well.
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Perfect gigging amp!" submitted September 26, 2014

By Randall Z in Hohenwald, TN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing guitar for 25+ years. Play in a band gigging every weekend.
Music Style: Rock, Classic Rock, Modern Country
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Sound is great. Overdrive channel has plenty of gain to use. Notes articulate well. All the sustain needed with easy to obtain overtones. Clean channel has a very nice breakup with humbucking pickups. Very warm sound. Add a transparent boost on the clean side and can get some nice breakup old rock tones. Reverb has a nice sound. Feature: All the features you need for a two channel amp. I would like to see a boost feature for the overdrive at some point, but if you go old school and volume rolls, you are just fine. Effects loop boost is a nice feature. Emulated speaker output is nice. I currently just mic using a SM-57. Ease of Use: Amp is very easy to use. Has all the basics with no clutter or options that you would not use. Straight forward setup. Quality: Amp is well made. No cheap potentiometers. Chassis is solid. Very nice. Value: Very good price, really happy with my purchase. Manufacturer Support: Have not needed this to date. The Wow Factor: This little amp blows me away. I can really get the sound I was looking for on both channels without any difficulty. I think Blackstar nailed it with this amp. I am a gigging guitarist and this is my new go to amp, it does everything I want. Overall: I purchased the HT-5RH from zZounds and I must say what great services I was provided. I play every weekend and wanted to get a lower wattage tube amp, and something easier to carry. The HT-5RH is perfect for me. I piggy backed this with a closed 112 cab with a Eminence speaker and its perfect. I had my doubts about gigging with 5w, but trusted the opinions I read and heard online. This amp keeps up just fine. I have only had to run the clean channel at about half volume with overdrive at a matched level. No problem with power using a pa system and using the amp for on stage monitoring. I had people in my ear about getting the 20w version.. it is not needed with a pa system, trust me. I wanted a amp I could crank up and get the tubes hot without being blowed off stage.. this amp works perfect.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Blown Away!!!" submitted January 6, 2014

By Ted T in Holtville, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing since I was 7. Im 47 now-40 years
Music Style: 70s and 80s rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is one of those rare instances when my expectations were exceeded. I have owned many high dollar amps, Marshall, Mesa and even a handwired point to point Plexi . I am a certified tone freak. If my tone isn't what I want, I don't play up to my full potential. I have this amp plugged into my Marshall 4x12 loaded with 25 watt Greenbacks. It sounds so killer! I play 80s hard rock and this thing just absolutely nails that stuff. I have the ISF turned to full American. Bass-8,Mid-10, Treb-8. However I roll back the mids to half if I have the volume up past 1 oclock. This thing has the meanest plexi snarl. Very Musical and lots of definition( you can still hear all the notes when you hit a big open chord or power chord). Very full in the mids. It is loud as hell through my 4x12. I always hated having an amp that needed a pedal to put me in that "comfort zone" for solos. This amp needs nothing!! I can shred easily on this thing and it has gobs of sustain. If you love that modded plexi tone, you will love this amp. It can do THE BROWN SOUND with ease. Roll back the volume on the guitar and you got AC/DC. The effects loop is awesome too. No tone suck that I could hear and the effects sit nicely in the mix and don't drown out the tone. The built in Reverb is nice too. I was worried that this amp wouldn't have enough gain for me but it has plenty. This amp is gig worthy through a 4x12. Turn this thing up and get all those harmonic overtones and creamy rich gain that is not compressed! Sounds good at low volume too although it really comes alive when you get your speakers moving. Clean channel is great for a 5 watt amp. I also noted that the tone gets even better after the amp is warmed up.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"BEST AMP for the money ANYWHERE!!" submitted February 20, 2013

By Steven G in Rochester, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing for over 35 years
Music Style: classic rock, fushion, jazz, blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Don't let the haters who write crappy reviews on a product fool you! This is the best amp I have ever owned and it is a tone MONSTER for 5 watts.....It doesn't compare to a 200 watt amp but it's not suppose to. Amazing cleans and incredible distortion. I sold my Blues JR because it can't compare in sound quality or reliability to the Blackstar. It is the best made amp available today!!bar none!!!
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Blackstar HT-5RH" submitted April 6, 2014

By Dave N in Ruther Glen, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing guitar for 30+ years.
Music Style: Rock, metal, jazz, blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I originally wanted an Orange OR15. But, the HT-5RH was a bit cheaper, has received some stellar reviews, had a few more features (mainly a headphone jack for practicing without waking the wife and kid), and it sounded pretty good in some of the video reviews on youtube, so I ordered it. It arrived quickly, and I hooked it up to my mid-80's Marshall 2x12. I played this amp for an hour and a half, and it went right back into the box. All I can say is this amp doesn't produce anything close to "the sound in my head". It's definitely a well constructed amp, but I couldn't get a sound I liked out of it. The biggest "wow factor" for this amp is how disappointed I was with how it sounded. The clean channel is actually pretty spanky, with a lot of headroom. The gain channel however is just awful in my opinion. Of course, the guys at zZounds.com made returning it an easy and painless process, and I ordered the Orange OR15... review to come shortly.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Don't fall for the hype" submitted February 16, 2012

By Lawrence B
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20+ years
Music Style: Metal, SouthernRock.....ect...
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: If you are thinking of buying this without hearing it first, don't. It is almost impossible to find one in stock somewhere to check them out but, they get such great reviews that I figured, what the heck, I'll take the risk. Now, I wished I would have saved some money and bought the jet city head or spent more on a Krank. It's not terrible but I sure can't hear where the almost cult like following comes from. The ISF feature is ok but I have owened several Marshalls over the years, tube and solid state, and the "British" side does not sound like one to me and I even have it running through a Marshall cab. The only position I can stand the ISF knob in, is all the way to the "American" side. The treble and bass eq controls respond pretty well but, the mid control is down right annoying. If you are into 80s-90s metal and like to get that guilty pleasure that is the scooped mid, you will not find it. Likewise if you try to go the other way and hump the mids, it turns to total mud. I am hoping a EQ pedal or two will fix this but I have not had a chance to try yet. On the plus side, the 5 watt power rating seems like complete fiction, this thing is every bit as loud or louder than my 40 watt Peavey TripleXXX tube combo and keeps up with my little 200watt PA. This amp also seems to really like pedals and responds VERY differently to different guitars/pickups. The build quality is some of the best I have ever seen, on par with Peaveys American made stuff, do not let the fact that it comes from Asia fool you. I was disapointed with this amp but, not enough to send it back. My advice, don't buy it till you have played it.
13 of 22 people (59.09%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Very happy with this purchase!" submitted January 11, 2012

By a customer from comcast.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: Guitar player of over 20 years
Music Style: Metal, rock, blues, classical
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Rated a 9 because the cleans aren't so great. Not terrible but with only one tone knob on the clean channel and not a lot of headroom, well you get the picture. But the reverb (which is awesome by the way) helps a lot with that. The overdrive is where this thing shines! The ISF knob makes it like you have two differently voiced amps in one. I use this thing for home recording and it is just perfect for it. Turn the ISF to the american side and turn down the mids to have a modern metal kinda sound. Crank the ISF over to the british side and turn the mids back up to get that classic woody marshall tone. I blend the two together for recordings and it really makes a huge full tone! I run this head through a marshall 1960bv and it sounds amazing. Feature: I was concerned about the effects loop sucking the tone cause on other cheap amps I've owned that tends to happen. Not with this amp. All the features are great. Well, the emulated out isn't so hot but to be fair I've never owned any amp that sounds good that way. Ease of Use: Sounds great with all the knobs at noon. Can't get it to sound bad. Quality: Made very well and hasn't given me any problems so far. Value: At under 400 dollars it's a no brainer. Manufacturer Support: Haven't dealt with them at all. Overall: It's not perfect, no amp is. It's a hybrid, not true tube. The clean channel isn't spectacular. At 5 watts you're not going to play gigs with full bands. But for home use, practice, recording, jamming with a buddy or two. I'd say nothing beats it.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Dynamite in a small package" submitted July 12, 2012

By Patrick G in Bountiful, UT
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Amatuer/developing player jamming at home
Music Style: Blues, blues rock, metal, 80's rock.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: First let me say this about Zzounds.com; this is my third purchase (twice using price match guarantee - they discounted further) and I would definitely purchase from them again. I haven't needed service so I can't speak to that but the pricing guarantees and payment plan work very well for me. Now the amp - this little thing is fantastic. Now it isn't as pure as say my Marshall Class5 or JCM2000 but for a little 5-watt head priced
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 16X4-Z3SL. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!