800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 156S-KJPL
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Behringer UCG102 USB

The Guitar Link UCG102 interface is an amazing practice tool that lets you hook up your guitar to your computer in a flash, giving you the best of both worlds.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Best item for the price" submitted March 3, 2010

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: recording engineer
Music Style: metal, neoclassical, blues, classical
Back to Product Information
Sound: The sound is quite good for the price...I usually use it with a wah pedal, but tried it without other preamps and sounded just fine...I use it for recording with guitar rig 4 and it works just fine... Feature: guitar combos are sort of a demo for guitar rig, so you might want to get the hole soft...I did not use the rest of the package, but it includes also audicity. Has a jack slot for headphones/speakers, and frankly I've never had to push the headphones volum more than 1/3-2/3, so the preamplification is quite good. A level switch for boosting the signal can be very useful. I plug in the headphones slot my speakers, and I still can hear my laptop's speakers so, they CAN work at the same time. Ease of Use: I don;t know about other users but, in my case, I simply plugged it in and it was ready to go...the product's driver is on the cd, but you might want to upgrade it or so from the behringer site or if you want to use other software than the combos you may want to install the asio4all driver, which you can simply google... Quality: Plastic, don't be rough. At this price you would not expect otherwise Value: It is the best item at this price, you will not get better quality sound from any other interfaces at this price, and the only one that's better and near this price would be a line6 pod ux2, in which you have to invest a lot. Manufacturer Support: Never had to use it, but they gave me a 24 month warranty
24 of 26 people (92.31%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"It's just and interface. The sound you get depends on the software you use." submitted January 20, 2010

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Jazz, Blues, Classic Rock.
Back to Product Information
Sound: Pure ear candy. I set it up with Guitar Rig 4, very cool. I downloaded like a million presets. The sound you get depends more on the software you use. With guitar rig, the sound is excellent, almost professional. If you can get your hands on good software, you got it made. Feature: It now works in XP, Vista, Windows 7. It's only the interface. The drivers are great, but the software is not. Ease of Use: The driver setup walks you through. Quality: It's plastic. Just baby it a little. Value: Cheaper than any other usb interface for guitar. Manufacturer Support: Never tried, but I heard things. The Wow Factor: It's a dorky peace of plastic. Overall: It sure beats plugging into a computer sound card. For guitar, USB connections rule. It works fine, it's just an interface, cheap, and I'd buy it again.
8 of 9 people (88.89%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This is ONLY a PRaCTICE tool and nothing more" submitted September 7, 2007

By a customer from centurytel.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 40 years of guitar mostly for personal enjoyment
Music Style: Rock, Blues, Bluegrass
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The combo amps give you multiple hoices for sound, you get one of the 3 for free, buy the others for $15 each but beware that this is ONLY a one person practice tool Feature: The accessories, like the included Audacity recording program DO NOT work with this unit, you must use the Behringer ASIO and audcity wil not, is not allowed to accept it Ease of Use: It either works out of the box or you spend a lot of time trying to figure it out, the so called manual leaves a lot to be desired Quality: It's ok for the price, plastic like everything else these days and I have a hard time keeping the jack cord plugged in. Value: This is probably a good value if ALL you want is the ability to play using your computer instead of an amp beyond that forget it. Manufacturer Support: In a week of asking for help I got one auto response which was download and read the iaxe owners manual. wrote back three times and am still waiting almost a week later The Wow Factor: Like I said if all you want is to practice using your computer as an amp it's fine, that is all it does, if you want to record look elsewhere and expect to spend a grand or more before your done, as well as investing weeks or months or longer just learning how to use everything. Overall: As a practice tool it's probably great, but as a means for recording your tunes forget it, it doesn't really do that, certainly not the way you would hope for.
34 of 41 people (82.93%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"OK as long as you only use headphones for monitoring." submitted July 9, 2007

By a customer from verizon.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock, Pop, Progressive
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The unit works well on the input side, but I agree with another reviewer, the input level seems a little low. On the output side, it works OK with headphones, but emits a high pitched tone in the background when plugged into speakers for monitoring without headphones. Thankfully, the recorded sound is fine. Feature: Pretty bare bones. Comes with 3 "Guitar Combos" based on Native Instruments Guitar Rig, but you can only select one to keep. Also, contrary to the documentation you cannot use the Guitar Combo as a VST plug-in to another audio application like the free Audicity tool that is supplied. The software also does not let you route the output to your soundcard/computer speakers. You have to physically connect the headphone output which leads to the high pitched tone problem I metioned in the sound rating I gave it. Ease of Use: This is fairly easy to use, however the Windows drivers are difficut to uninstall (it makes you physically disconnect ALL of your USB devices then reboot your computer). Quality: The unit itself seems to be made well. Value: Its the least expensive one out there. You get what you pay for. Manufacturer Support: The jury's still out. I have a request in about the high-pitched tone I get while running it into computer speakers. We'll see if they respond. The Wow Factor: Eh. Overall: I'm already searching for another product, though I haven't yet given up on this.
21 of 27 people (77.78%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY - ITS A "TERRIBLE" PRODUCT!" submitted May 18, 2013

By Sherri G in Honolulu, HI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 40-year veteran guitar, ukulele and mandolin player
Music Style: Virtually all
Back to Product Information
Overall: I foolishly bought two of these things, and both products arrived in factory-sealed boxes WITHOUT any CD enclosed (i.e, no drivers, no audio software, no amp modeling, no nothing)!. Unbelievable! It states right in the USer Manual that the product comes with software on enclosed CD and it shows a software CD right on the external packaging. Are these people kidding? I wouldn't buy another Behringer product if they PAID me to use it! They're nothing but absolute amateurs!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Almost but nowhere near" submitted September 5, 2012

By Rich W in Baton Rouge, LA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Toured for 30 years all over USA, Canada and Europe with many different groups, recorded with some great artists.
Music Style: blues rock cajun jazz funk
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The interface didn't work at all for me, the native instruments would have been great if it was possible to activate the program. N. I. website activation nightmare!!! Beware! I found the UCG102 a pointless endeavor as the quality did not exist and the unit had no long lasting type of design to it more like the box your burger came in.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Don't bother" submitted November 18, 2012

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The software is impossible to load on to a computer so I can't really tell you whether or not the product works. I emailed Behringer for some support but have yet to hear from them. If I figure it out, maybe I'll change the review.
1 of 4 people (25%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A FOOLS PURCHASE" submitted November 12, 2008

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: sounds comes in, only with line levels though. if you try to run a mic through it you'll have to boost the heck out of the signal Feature: came with crappy software. crappy drivers. nearly crashed my computer. downloaded necassary stuff online, got it working, but corrupted other stuff on my computer that normally works fine. crap. Ease of Use: i went to school for this stuff and it took me three days to get a signal. Quality: cheap plastic. gets lost easily, probably broken easy too. mines not broken yet, but then again, the hammer's still in the drawer Value: don't buy it. I've never returned anything to a music store, but i think i just might return this one. like i said, corrupted my computer, and eventually the unit stopped working all together. i've burned a lot of money on crappy items in my day, but this one takes the cake in my opinion. Manufacturer Support: didn't even bother. I deemed it crap and all the live support in the world wouldn't change that The Wow Factor: it could easier be mistaken for an hairless albino mouse.. save the time and get a real mouse that eats and stuff Overall: overall like i said, i went to school for this stuff. i can build and run a studio from the ground up, and if you're panning on buying this unit, you might as well take two twenties and set them on fire. peace
4 of 15 people (26.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Poor Form" submitted December 23, 2008

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: Metal, Hardcore, Punk, Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: The sound of this product is terrible, there is alot of altering required to avoid getting a high pitched noise over everything else. And even then the amp models arent great. Feature: The product doesnt do what it says it does, you cannot use the amp models to record through audacity. I have spent weeks trying to fix all the problems. Ease of Use: Dont bother Quality: You get what you pay for Value: The product is pointless Manufacturer Support: I havent tried to contact them Overall: I was not satisfied with the product and would not recommend it to anyone.
5 of 10 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 156S-KJPL. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!