800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1439-SY07
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Behringer MS16

The Behringer MS16 is a compact stereo speaker system that's perfectly suited for home studios, multimedia applications, keyboard and vocal monitoring.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
What do you think? Rate and Review This Product
| | |

"The Behringer MS16 The smart choise for my budget" submitted April 3, 2011

By a customer from clear.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Goapel singer musician
Music Style: Gospel
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The Behringer MS16 Active Personal Monitor is a great set of powered speaker. Feature: It comes ready to use, right out of the box. Ease of Use: Very easy to use. Great for home, office, desk and laptop. I use this set of speakers to mix the tracks that I record on my Tascam DP-008. They are excelent monitors for home studio. Quality: Behringer makes excellent products. Excellent sound and controls The MS16 is one of them. I am very happy with Behringer products. Value: The price of the Behringer MS16 is the best one on the market. About five years ago I bought the same kind of monitor made by Roland (the MA-8)and the price was way higher than the actual price of the Behringer MS16. Manufacturer Support: All the products that I have from Behringer work very well. So far, I have not used the support yet. The Wow Factor: I just needed a pair of monitor for my home studio Overall: The MS16 is a great set of speakers with excellent sound quality, and I expect to use this pair of monitor for some years to come.
23 of 24 people (95.83%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Kick Ass! (best monitors for under $60)" submitted July 6, 2006

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Former Pro
Music Style: Hip Hop, R&B, Rap, Funk, Jazz, Blues, and a bit of everything else :)
Back to Product Information
Sound: The sound is pretty good. Keep in mind these are "budget" monitors, and for $60.00 they're well worth it. My only complaint about them is how they handle low frequencies. I have to back off on the bass when I'm using my synths. However, when using my Fostex digital 8 track (MR-8B) they sound quite nice! Feature: I'm going to give features a 10 for several reasons. My (10) rating is based on what all they included on these speakers for under $60. You get bass and treble control, there is a 1/4 mic jack on the front--with its own volume control, and on the rear there are two more sets of inputs. One being RCA, and the other one is a 1/8 jack. You can have three connections to these speakers at one time. Plus the size of the monitors allows them to set nicely into a desktop setup without taking much space. Also keep in mind that these monitors aren't "new" per say. These particular monitors are actually the old "Roland Micro Monitors" with the Behringer name. They're the exact same thing. Ease of Use: Very easy to use. There's nothing to them. Plug them into the wall, connect your gear, and push the power button :) Quality: Quality is very good for the price range. Again, lower frequencies (when using keyboards) can cause distortion. Value: For less than $60 truely a "great value". They're worth every penny. Even if you don't do studio work, these would make a great substitute for cheap (good sounding) computer speakers, or anything you want to hook up to them (ipods, CD players, ect). Manufacturer Support: I've contacted them regarding other products and service was always good. The Wow Factor: Great sex appeal...:) They got a clean design to them, and just looking at them you can't help but think-- "Hmmmmmm how do those puppies sound?" Overall: I plan on being satisfied with them as long as they "continue to work". When they break--then I'll be unsatisfied. If they broke today I'd buy another pair. For the price you can't go wrong. Well worth it.
72 of 77 people (93.51%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The Best Things Come In The Smallest Packages" submitted January 5, 2013

By Ben M in San Marcos, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Engineer
Music Style: Multi-Genre
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Very big sound. I was highly impressed. My one gripe is they are very "heavy" sounding. The low frequencies are most prominent when used with the bass and treble knobs at a flat response. You can adjust them manually but I would like them to be a bit more flat sounding. For 60 bucks, I am not complaining. I will admit, this is the weakest link in my chain, but if you can make your mix sound good on these, trust me, it will sound good anywhere.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great item for the price!!!!" submitted June 14, 2011

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: sounds very good even at higher volumes. i use it for recording or playing backing tracks while playing thru my amp. when cranked too loaud there is some distortion but at levels just loud enough to compete with my amp levels in my house it sounds pretty good. Ease of Use: if you cant figure out how to use speakers you probably cant read this review anyway Quality: seems to be good quality, the logos are cheesy but that is just personal preference Value: cant beat the these for 65 bucks reconditioned. they looked brand new Manufacturer Support: never used it Overall: really great speakers for what i do. at the levels i usually use in my house they sound really great. when you factor in the price they really cant be beat
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Good bang for the buck!" submitted July 2, 2007

By a customer from rsu.edu
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock, Country
Back to Product Information
Sound: For what they are they work good. We use them for non-linear editing system. They are better than computer speakers, better built, not hi-fidelity. We looked at some of the more expensive ones that sounded a little better but for three times the price I thought whatever. We bought the MS16's Feature: Good features for the money Ease of Use: Easy to use. Everything's labeled on the speaker. Quality: Good value for the money. They're cheap, but well worth $70 Value: Good bang for the buck. Manufacturer Support: No The Wow Factor: Basic Overall: Hope it lasts several years
5 of 7 people (71.43%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I love these thangs cheap but are worth every buck" submitted February 16, 2010

By a customer from aim.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Recording Engineer Hobbyist
Music Style: Rap,R&b,Neo Soul
Back to Product Information
Sound: Sound is terrific to me gotta love them.. you can really hear everything. No hiss in less you turn the treble up all the way then you hear a little bit.. Beats the hell out of computer speakers! Feature: they are ok really wish they had 1/8 jacks so i plug directly into my interface as 1/8 instead of quarter inch.. Quality: Its made pretty cheap what do you expect your only paying like 60 bucks so.. What more can you expect? Manufacturer Support: Dont need none just hook her up correctly and you will be listing in no time=] The Wow Factor: not very sexy looking lol but the def get the job done. they really look like some speakers you would up to a regular stereo
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Well, at least I didn't pay a ton for them" submitted October 4, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: You get what you pay for. These are more like mid-range computer speakers than audio monitors. They do that duty fine. But they are not for mixing or critical listening. Bass is weak (I'm not looking for big bass, just a somewhat flat frequency response down to 90 Hz or so, and these definitely don't have that) and they rattle like mad at certain frequencies. Value: Well, they're really cheap, so even if they don't sound good, you can use them for plenty of applications other than mixing and critical listening. Manufacturer Support: They didn't seem to care that I was really displeased and wouldn't consider an exchange of some sort or some kind of credit.
4 of 8 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Worth every penny & then some" submitted April 8, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Back to Product Information
Sound: They get excellent sound from these speakers, for the price you can't beat it $59.00 is worth every penny, I'm using these speakers w/ my cry baby 535Q wah & my zoom GFX-8 pedal lines run straight out of the GFX-8 L/R jacks into the L/R RCA's & it makes these speakers sound like a full blown stack even at loud levels I thought they would distort like crazy once I turned them up I was wrong it sounded even better like an amp being turned up with plenty of practice volume also can pacth my sound into the mixer w/ the supplied cable & record my sound I hardly use my amp after buying these Manufacturer Support: no Overall: This is worth every penny & I wouls replace it if it stays the same price you can't go wrong for the price of these speakers
22 of 23 people (95.65%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Listen and Not look at Big Brand Names. MS16 is the ONE." submitted July 25, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Recording Engineer
Music Style: pop
Back to Product Information
Sound: Perfect sound production which you can never imagine Behringer can get this far. Hell with other BIG BRANDS when you can save hundreds and thousands by not looking at brands but listening..truthfully/. Quality: Best of the best Value: Best Manufacturer Support: Excellent The Wow Factor: No doubt i want. Overall: Listen and not look. MS16 is the truth to monitoring your production.
4 of 12 people (33.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"If you have a tin ear, buy tin cans ..." submitted January 8, 2011

By a customer from comcast.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Fusion
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: These monitors are probably the single worst investment I've made of any sort yet this new year. One person claimed they had too much bass, but when he plugged the ports it tightened them up. What these have, in my opinion, is a boomy replica of bass reproduction, but not actual bass. Effectively they're just a couple of tin cans that I'd return if it were worth the hassle. I'll just Craig's List 'em, take the hit and get rid of them. Feature: Basic; nothing more. Ease of Use: I give them a (4) on this count because you have to spend an incredible amount of time trying to position them to sound well, only to find that it can't happen. Quality: Nothing special, but not defective at any rate. Value: Total waste of money even if they were ten bucks! Manufacturer Support: No idea. The Wow Factor: "I want them gone" Overall: They stink, basically.
1 of 4 people (25%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"In short if you are looking for a desktop monitor then dont get this one it is weak! You have to turn to volume wide open to rea" submitted December 27, 2010

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musciian
Music Style: gospel, bluegrass, mandolin, bass, country,praise and worship
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Sounds are hissing and at very low volume. All the buttons function as they should,,,, bass is very hard to hear not matter the volume. I would not buy again!! I am currently looking to Bose for their companion 3 sepakers. Feature: No Ease of Use: Whats to learn? Plug the cord into the wall, the wall into the unit plug speaker jack into speaker and there you go. Concentrate on well built sounding product and ease will come. Value: No Manufacturer Support: Dont know have not used them The Wow Factor: weak.....weak.....weak!! Overall: hate it wish I had not bought it. Looking now for a replacement.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Get it n you will not regret" submitted May 23, 2008

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Multi styles
Back to Product Information
Sound: You reallu cant expect the best quality.......however the sound overall is good and you basically get what you want of it Feature: I Must say that i am quite impressed with the features this lil thing has Ease of Use: Very Very easy to use Quality: Yes "this" product could'nt have been made better Value: Cant get smthng better fot the price Manufacturer Support: never had to deal with the company however the local music shop from where i got this were supportive The Wow Factor: Quite impressive Overall: As long as it lasts happily singing out beautiful tunes
2 of 5 people (40%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1439-SY07. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X
ALL ACCESS PASS
5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER
  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $49+

Just $2.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!