800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 14XN-Y7RS
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Behringer LX1200 V-Ampire

2x 60 watts or 120 watts mono. 125 presets.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Expensive sound... Cheap price" submitted May 23, 2006

By a customer from comcast.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Rage Against the Machine and Metallica
Back to Product Information
Sound: Noise gate works awesome. You can get just about any sound out of it. and most of all... It's loud. Feature: You can get just about any sound you want out of this amp. Your only limit is your humbuckers/pickups in the guitar you're using it with. The only thing I would improve is have the built in digital effects have more mmmph. They are too quiet when you turn up loud. It's great if you like to tweek your setting and play around with different sounds, because with all of the amp models and effects, basically there is infinite combinations of sounds. Ease of Use: If you are a nerd, and like computer/pushing buttons, this will be dream for you. There are so many buttons and dials to push. Quality: My first gigging amp, I'd buy it again if it was Value: Holy buckets, it's dirt cheap, and it's all digital. So much for so little. Manufacturer Support: I'm not sure how it'd work out if for some reason I needed to send it back to Behringer, because they are based in Germany, but the thing is, I don't think I'll ever need to. It's too well made, very solid feeling. The Wow Factor: You turn it on and the lights spin, and they glow red, it's so COOL looking. All of the lights and digital stuff make it seem like it'd be a much more expensive product. Overall: If this was to get stolen or broken or whatever, I'd buy a new one for sure.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"great for metal" submitted August 27, 2005

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Musician in a band
Music Style: Metal/Hardcore/Grindcore/Punk
Back to Product Information
Sound: Sounds great with the behringer ultrastack cabinets. The speaker/amp simulations sound very genuine, and you can have fun playing with the different combinations. The distortion is powerful, which is good for the type of music I play. Feature: Includes a footswitch. Thats about it, but hey what else do you need. The footswitch is helpful for quickly switching between presets. For example I have a distorted preset stored in bank C, and then a clean preset with a slight chorus effect in D, so I can quickly switch at shows. Very helpful. Quality: No defects at all, made very well. Looks awesome on stage. I was amazed by the rotary LED volume controls. Very tech savvy, the whole thing is digital, much like a Line 6, which I like. HAs a digital display with a built in tuner which works very well. Value: DEFINITELY worth the price. Buy it. Manufacturer Support: Havent had to call support. The Wow Factor: Once again, very cool looking. Very techie looking, but yet still mean. Overall: ...mmmm....
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Just wonderful." submitted July 28, 2008

By a customer from rivercenterchurch.org
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: rock, country, worship
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Sounds are wonderful. I have been using it through a Crate Flexwave 4x12 cabinet and it truly is great. Use the online patches from their website to get some of the very best tones. Some of the stuff is digital, and the variety of truly great tones has been surpassed by some other effects units recently... but how much honey can one man eat? For the price this just can't be beat anywhere. I also own the 2x10 combo and the pro rack unit. Feature: The thing I like the most about this particular digital amp is the ease of adjustments. The knobs are just what they should be - adjusting eq, reverb, etc. is as easy as any amp out there. I also use it quite a bit in bypass mode with other gear. Just hit it, and all effects are bypassed. I can plug my GNX4 directly into the guitar input and rock away using the watts from this amp without coloration of ANY kind. EXCEPT that you can set the master EQ to get the most out of your cabinet. So... my cabinet is too bassy for my taste and I tone that down in the master a bit. Not all the patches plus the bypass are tuned for great sound out of the cabinet. Ease of Use: Read Manual, learn to use. Not complex, but you DO need to read it. Quality: I have never had a problem of any kind with all my V-Amp gear. It is true that the knobs can be broken off - I havn't ever done it because I take care of my gear, but I have seen units with missing knobs. It's not built to be tossed around a lot. Overall: I just sold this head to a friend in need. I will be replacing it soon. The patches are all stored in my computer. Once it arrives I will hook it up via USB, copy and paste, and boom - ready to go. Get it.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I wouldn't want to do without this head!" submitted August 12, 2008

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
Musical Background: Long time player, lots of gear
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This is a great sounding amp. The simulations are fantastic and it does a very good job of producing authentic tube sounds. However you MUST learn to operate it properly - this takes a little effort, as any piece of gear that is this complex will. My only - and I mean ONLY - knock on the sound is that mine gives me this clicking sort of pick attack that you shouldn't get and don't get on most other amps. You have to reduce the gain, play with the noise gate, roll off the treble and presence, and roll off your guitar's knobs to reduce this to a reasonable level. It's annoying.... but other than this flaw, this thing sounds great! You might hear the Behringer take some lumps for not being loud enough... but it actually does develop pretty decent volume as long as you don't kick the reverb level or some of the other effects levels way up. I think Behringer could improve on this but if you want to play live and loud, you generally don't want all that amp reverb and stuff anyway or you will sound like mush. If it wasn't for the clicking pick attack, this would get a 10+ for sound quality. Feature: Hard to imagine that you could possibly get more for your money. You get 32 amp simulations that are accurate IMHO, a load of effects that work well, 9 different reverbs, a noise gate, an armload of speaker cabinet simulations.... and a built in tuner that even lets you adjust concert pitch (useful the next time you play with a philharmonic orchestra!!). It's like a V-Amp with a power amp, in a good-looking box. Ease of Use: Unfortuately all the features and ultimate controllability are why you just can't claim that this is an easy amp to set up and use. Most of your basic tube amps like Fender or Marshall have a few knobs, that's it. This thing lets you control EVERYTHING. While you will be able to sound good within two minutes, you do have to ready the manual and get the thing in the right mode, play with all the knobs, learn how to edit the presets, and all that. It's just not an "everything on 10" amp and in that way much more compicated than any of the amps it is modeling -- but well worth it if you don't mind learning and reading the manual. The compressor and delay effects are my favorites, but it's all good. Also, the foot pedal switches presets and there is a delay, but I generally leave it on one amp model for each song and change the eq, gain and effect settings... that seems to allow the presets to switch instantly. You have so many banks (25 banks with 5 presets per bank) that you can have a bank dedicated to each song in your set. Quality: I think it's rock solid. Great cabinet, tolex is good, heavy and solid. Pots and knobs could be metal and not plastic.... but it's a $200 head. I've no idea how people break the knobs off... I'm way more careful with my equipment than that. I've had this over 2 years with no issues of any kind. Value: I would never buy a $200 amp OTHER than this one. Cheap amps are generally a complete waste of money, no matter what the brand name. This one is the only exception I've found. The value is just clearly there, nothing compares to this for the money. In fact, this is just good, not even considering the money. I'm going to say that I woul pay $200 for this only becasue I want to encourage Behringer to keep the price low. But the fact it it's worth several times that, at least. Manufacturer Support: No problems, so no need for support. Gave it a rating in middle because I just don't know. The Wow Factor: Looks good, sounds good, works good. If you master the controls, which takes a bit of focus, you can get clean glassy sprkly Fender tones and heavy fat rectified head noise and everything in between. The thing looks and feels solid except for the knobs. I have other amps, big tube heads mostly, but wouldn't want to be without this. Overall: I have a ton of gear and always seem to be lusting after something new (Hiwatt - yeah!!) but I think the thing that sums this one up for me is, I won't sell it. It's too much fun, too versatile and sounds too good.
8 of 9 people (88.89%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Behringer LX1200H-A amp name u can compare!" submitted January 6, 2009

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: Quite good sound for a solid state amplifier.It has some tube effects in it which give some good sound and some great lead guitar effects.Well worth checking out Feature: Ive been looking for an amp head that will do the lot good sound plus effects.If u don't want to spend a lot of money and u want a decent digital modelling amp don't be afraid to check out this product.I've recorded at home with the combo version of this amp exactly the same and I can tell u my customer's loved my guitar sound.Great features for a great price. Ease of Use: U do have to peruse the manual but once u do its a piece of cake!U can load your settings via usb to computer and visa versa now how many amps can do that?Midi connections and channels make using this amp a snap.I have a fcb1010 footboard perfectly compatible with this amp to control all settings Magnificent! Quality: Good Quality sound construction mine has lasted 18 months so far still working well! Value: This is a very good amp head for the money.I have owned tons of amps and cabs including a marshall 100 watt dual reverb and a 50 watt head and for the money u spend u can compare this amp to the marshall name. The Wow Factor: Good looking product with its LED lights that are handy for playing at night.I wanted it the first time i played it in the shop haven't looked back since. Overall: Look to be honest for my needs i just couldn't compare a better amplifier for the price but u have to assess your needs.What do u want to do with your amp what setting will u use it in?But im first a lead and soloing guitarist so a virtual modelling amplifier was what i was looking for.U might be different but trust me dont let the name fool u if u can get past that u will have a good amp to own for years to come.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Get your monies worth right here @ $199.99" submitted August 13, 2008

By a customer from sbcglobal.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: various styles
Back to Product Information
Sound: great sound reproduction once you learn how to operate it! Feature: I love the auto tuner. its so quick and easy to tune my guitar Ease of Use: once you learn to operate its great but there is a learning curve Quality: good quality, well built. Amp heads need to be taken care of. you just can't throw them around and expect the to last.. Value: Its well worth the $200.00 asking price. And I bought mine three years ago and its stilling going strong without any problems. Manufacturer Support: no The Wow Factor: sex appeal ??? Overall: this is a once in a lifetime purchase because I can't see them making anything better in the near future..
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Behringer Raises up the bar! BUY IT!" submitted September 11, 2005

By a customer from musician.org
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active musician for 6 years.
Music Style: Punk-Rock, emo, screamo
Back to Product Information
Feature: Has everything u'll ever need... distortions, cleans, reverbs, chorus, delays, u name it! and all of them of great quality i might add...Behringer definitely raised the bar with this one... Quality: Once again...Best bang for your buck, i dare you to find a better head for this kind of price!! blows many of those 1000
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Heavy Duty" submitted October 17, 2008

By a customer from earthlink.net
Overall
Musical Background: Live Sound Engineer and musician
Music Style: Rock, Punk, Alternative
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: You can get just about any sound you want out of this amp. The modeled amp sounds are spot on. I love the JC-120 model. It even has a model of an Engl amp which blows away every other overdrive/distortion amp that I've heard. This amplifier is NOT as loud as you might expect from a 120 watt amp. You can maximize the volume using a 4 12" cabinet instead of a 2 12, but if you need your ears to bleed on stage you will find this amp wanting. It IS however, EXTREMELY clean. ..as in no noise at maximum volume. If you need to do channel switching in the middle of a song this amp is better suited for recording. With the included footswitch there is a sound gap between channels.(about a sec.) A midi footswitch may remedy this but I have not tried it. Feature: Almost every effect you can think of. I wish the compression had a separate knob like the reverb does but it's hard to complain for the price. I like that all the settings remain in memory so no matter what you do to the knobs when the amp is turned off you return to last settings when you power back up. Ease of Use: Takes a little learning because of all the features. You will need to refer to the manual to know exactly which amp model you are using because the labels on the amp channels are general descriptions.(copyright issue) If you plan on hauling this amp around it is extremely heavy for its size. Twice as heavy as my Marshall head. Quality: Seems to be quite solid, but I don't move it around much because of the weight. Again, this thing is heavy for its size. Value: Excellent value, especially if want a clean sounding head (no noise) to record with. Manufacturer Support: Haven't needed it. The Wow Factor: Many people may not like the Behringer name of the front of it but its easily removable. The lights look very cool. Overall: Hard to beat this value. This is a great recording head. I only take a couple of points off for the channel switching glitch and the weight.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"VERSATILITY" submitted July 2, 2005

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: mainly rock/metal and some lighter stuff
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: Got this guy back in April with the BG412V cab. They are perfect together. For the money, you can't go wrong. I think I paid about $400 for both not counting cables. Get good cables. Comes loaded with 125 presets. Some are pretty good, some are not. Don't let that stop you because you can edit every one or just eliminate them and create sounds to fit your own style and store it in any preset you want. Tremendous versatility in one amp. I have several guitars and this amp can be tweaked to suit the characteristics of each one. You can also use the configuration mode to configure the amp based on the acoustics of the room your playing in without affecting your presets. Feature: I'm giving it a 10 based on a price / feature ratio. It has 32 amp models, 15 speaker cab simulations, 16 if you cancel the amps simulations and use the sound of your own cab. Some pretty good onboard effects (16), 125 presets, onboard tuner, midi capabilities, live and studio configuration modes, 9 reverbs, stereo or mono operation and a whole bunch of other stuff. There are couple of things I would have like to see on this amp. The presence and 2nd effects parameter controls are adjusted via a tap button and knobs shared with other controls. It would be nice if they had their own knobs. I guess that really doesn't matter when you set up presets anyway. Also, it would have been great if the footswitch also had the ability to switch between the 25 banks. Each bank has 5 presets. The included footswitch will only scroll up and down the 5 presets. I guess a midi pedal would probably solve that. But hey, what do you want for $200? Quality: Quality is pretty good. No blems and a real nice covering. Control knobs are not what I would call top notch but, they function well and as long as you aren't pounding it around, they should be OK. Value: Got to give it a 10 for value. Manufacturer Support: Can't say. I also have a Behringer Blue Devil and it still works fine. Never had to call them. The Wow Factor: It looks great and is feature packed. Overall: Like I said earlier, price / feature ratio. I'll probably have this thing for a long time unless I hit the Powerball. I'd probably still keep it. Some guys said that it could use more power. I guess that would depend on the type on venues your playing in. I read a review where one person said he bought two of them and when gigging, runs through both of them. If you want an amp that has very good versatility, you need to check this head out.
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"m-m-m-MONSTER KILL!" submitted August 12, 2005

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Metal, Rock, Classic Rock, Punk Rock, Classical
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: You can get virtually any sound out of this, it's beautiful. It can even imitate a rectifier head. Feature: All this thing is, is features. You won't know where to start. It's got more effects than I ever knew existed. It has everything. Really. Everything. Quality: It's an Ox. Cant find the white dot on the knob? Turn this mother on, and it'll light up like a christmas tree. It's got LEDs on the dial! Magnificent. Value: Don't even bother looking at anything else, because you're not going to find a better head for this cheap. It's better than anything I've ever seen, or played anyhow. Manufacturer Support: Haven't had to, yet. But the manual was greatly helpful. The Wow Factor: This thing has more lights and spiffy stuff than my car. Just make sure your drool dosen't cause a short circut. Overall: I don't know how the price is so low on this. It puzzles me. If you want features, don't look anywhere else, because you're not going to find a better head.
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"As I stated above, you won't regret buying this head. It is worth every penny you will spend. I would pay up to double what it c" submitted November 21, 2004

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Hardcore, Metal, Rock, Indie
Back to Product Information
Sound: I use this head with BG412H cabinet, and for the money you can't get any better. I use this for heavier music. It has great amp models ranging from tube sound, to heavy distorion, to blues type crunch. There are 16 models to get you almost any sound you are looking for. The effects are also very expensive sounding, comparable to a very nice multi-effect pedal. There is a foot pedal included for easy switching of effects. The channels come in great use when you practice or even have a gig. I assign the settings I use for each song to one channel. You can store up to 5 pre-sets in one channel. Feature: Very flexible head with 16 amp models and 16 effects. You get to control how much saturation the effect has on the sound with a knob that is located right by the effects chooser. This gives you full control over the sound that is being produced. Quality: As all Behringer products, this one is made to the companies reputation. Both the head and cabinet appear to have a solid construction. When you are talking quality, you can't go wrong with Behringer. Value: This is one of the cheapest heads available, but with one of the most expensive sounds. You can't go wrong paying $220 for a great head. Manufacturer Support: I haven't had to use it for this item. But I have for a small mixer in the past and it was described to be step by step as to how to get a problem fixed. The Wow Factor: It has a very nice, sleek design. Out of something so well priced, there was definately effort put into the design. Overall: I will be using this product for the next few years. In the near future I will probbably get the other cabinet to make it a full stack. This is the cheapest head opportunity there is, take advantage of it. You won't regret it.
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"You have to hear it!" submitted November 10, 2004

By a customer from ispwest.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Weekender
Music Style: Cover
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: It's probably the best sounding and most versitile head I have and I have at least 8 amp heads of Fender, Peavey, Crate, Marshall,etc. The sounds are great even at low volume. The presets can be adjusted for gain, volume, bass, mid, treble, and presence on the fly easily. Then set the effect you want, save it to a preset number you want and that's it. 125 presets, comes with the footswitch to wade through your presets up or down. It also has a master volume. After playing this for an hour I am spoiled. It is so easy to get any sound and they all sound right. It should really get a 10 but I don't read the guys who give 10's. Feature: It has every feature for studio recording on the back of the amp. The least useful feature of the amp is......................... someone to carry it? It's heavy. Did I mention it is heavy? This is the amp that you would expect Peavey to have made but Behringer is IMO the new "Peavey" if you know what I mean. Quality: It looks great, knobs feel smooth and tight. As far as reliability? I don't know, I have had it for about a week. We'll all just have to see how good they are. Value: The price of a floor multi-effect pedal and you get an amp too. Manufacturer Support: Don't know. The Wow Factor: You have to try it, it is the coming thing. Overall: As long as it keeps working I think I will have to use it (because it sounds so good), it can do it all and I don't have to worry about it as it is so low priced.
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Do yourself A favor...Buy this thing" submitted February 7, 2005

By a customer from cybercentral.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active guitar god ( just kidding)
Music Style: metal,fusion
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The possibilities are endless.I cant believe how many great sounds there are in this thing Feature: Outstanding,A full blown pedalboard would make it the ultimate.I just started gigging with it and its incredible. Quality: I sold my Marshall to buy this and I'm more than happy.Solid construction,no shortcuts were taken Value: The tiny price might scare some people away thinking it's "too cheap" But Im tellin you,I would pay $600 for it easy Manufacturer Support: No problems but I've talked witht them before. The Wow Factor: change the lights in it to LED and this would be perfect.I cant say enough good things. Overall: I played 2 nights with this thing on 10 and never had anything but perfect sound (clean and dist) Buy this unit,you'll be soooo glad you did.Heavy distortion sweet clean theres nothing this cant do
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome, Sexy, Mean, STRONG" submitted December 23, 2004

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: The sound quality is amazing. Don't pay attention to the first review, the one that says 16 amp models, cause someone didn't read their manual! there are 32 amp models, not 16 and they are all easily accesible. High quality effects that will make you cream. The distortion is totally tweakable to get anything from marhshall to fender to mesa boogie sounds, not imitations, very close sounding Feature: SO many features, 125 presets, footswitch, tap button, all the presets are totally customizable, there is a "presence" control and you can control how much saturation of the effects you want in whichever sound you are in, YOU control the sound. Line 6 doesn't even come CLOSE to this kind of user control, and the sound it just as good if not better than line 6. Quality: This gets an 8 ONLY becuase of one thing. The protective chromed corners are absolutley beautiful, but the screws holding them on are not. I got some screws that looked like they were used. Still high quality peice of equipment though. Crate wants $370 + for their head with digital effects. GO WITH BEHRINGER, SO MANY MORE EFFECTS, SO MUCH LESS, SO MUCH COOLER LOOKING. Yeah, crates face lights up, SO DOES THIS. Its all black with red LED's. Very nice! Value: You can't even touch this amp with a 100 ft poll for the value. As I said, much better than crate and so much less, just as good if not better than line 6 Manufacturer Support: Don't know for sure, But I know I'm filling out the warranty information and I know I will be taken care of if something were to happen The Wow Factor: As I said, its black with red LED's. Very Mean looking, its big. Watch the lights move as you switch through the channels and be in awe. Overall: I'm sure this will last me a long time, and the ONLY thing it will be accomponied by is a tube amp in the future.
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I've been to concerts where the geetar dude used a wireless and a laptop for an amp, and it was awesome........ tubes are nice," submitted December 4, 2007

By a customer from bellsouth.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active,
Music Style: rock, blues, metal, Christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I keep getting tempted to get a real marshall, but then back off. I think i'd be listening and thinking, this isnt any better then the v amp for what I've spent, plus now i need a dozen pedals or a rack unit just to do what I've already been doing. I think at this time, the digital modelling and tube emulation must be virtually impossible to tell apart. HEY BEHRINGER, DO A BLINDFOLD TEST AND PUBLISH THE RESULTS. Feature: there are tons of user settings you can download. Most players are computer literate, so the download thing isnt that complicated. I really dont know how you could improve the connectivity or the variety of sound configurations. Ease of Use: ease? as in ease of playing the guitar? what if guitar playing was rated at "ease of use" ok, the amp: IT'S VERY FUNCTIONAL, I can change settings on the fly. Quality: mine works the same as when i bought it over a year ago. Value: of course........... go buy a designer or name brand amp, you get a t shirt with their logo on it so your friends can be impressed. For the $$$, this amp is amazing. ok, thing is, for lots more money, i'd get something else., but it IS about the money, since the sound is equal to the modelled amps. Manufacturer Support: they were good about other products i needed help with. The Wow Factor: I take the huge "B E H R I N G E R" signs OFF the things I own. They arent that wonderful as a name, but they are an amazing value. Overall: I buy another one just to have the utility it provides.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Read This Before you buy" submitted January 25, 2008

By a customer from torchlake.com
Overall
Sound
Musical Background: over 20 years experience play every weekend
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: Rich thick distortions. The models are very close to Soldano, Boogie, and Marshall tones. I've owned tube amps/preamps from these companies and this sounds just as good with more versatility and good effects. Blues, metal, and cleans sound great with a stereo 4X12 or direct into a PA. Use L2 mode for the best live tone with no pause when switching patches. Using with 8 Ohm stereo cabinet gives you more volume than running mono. Why spend 400-2000 bucks on amps that have 2 or 3 channels and no effects? Feature: It came with a 2 button footswitch but also has midi connections, effects loop 125 memory locations and XLR outputs for great direct connections Ease of Use: Small learning curve. the manual unlocks great treasures. it is easy to edit on the fly in live situations. Amazing tones at an amazing price Quality: Guard the knobs they are only plastic pots. The guitar input is plastic. Value: don't let the price fool you. Beats line 6 (I own) Crate, Solid state Marshall, Manufacturer Support: 3 months later no mechanical problems The Wow Factor: Looks Good, Lights up model, tone knobs, looks tough. Overall: ONe package has all that I would need in a pro sounding rig. I would buy one every year at this price because it sounds great. More watts would be the only improvement. Loud enough for small clubs or go direct.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"They have to be losing money on this one" submitted February 21, 2007

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: engineer, musician
Music Style: metal, psychobilly, experimental
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This amp sounds great. I have been blown away with the variety of sounds I have been able to get from my Gibson SG. The LX1200H has allowed me to explore tones I really thought I would have to buy another guitar to get. I do find myself going with no cabinet emulation when I am trying to get a harsh, heavy sound, as they do seem to muddy up the mix sometimes. On the other hand, when playing a blues amp simulation, the cabinet emulations are extremely useful, and it really doesn't sound right without them. Feature: This is the true advantage this amp has. So many features my head spins.. I used to have a rack with a mesa V-twin preamp, power amp, tuner, noise gate and various effects. I sold them in college because I needed cash and was not looking forward to trying to build my rig again. Then I saw the V-ampire, which crammed all those things into a head and I was immediately sold. The reverb is very tweakable and the noise gate can be adjusted for each preset you create. I am also looking forward to using some of the studio friendly features when I record next. Ease of Use: There is a bit of a learning curve for this amp... up to a week after receiving it, I was still finding new features that were buried inside menus. The manual is very clear though, and once you learn how to access the menus necessary to change reverb models, noise gate settings, and effects parameters, you don't really have to keep looking back to the manual. Once I had the presets to my liking though, switching between them is great and modifying on the fly without erasing your original is all very intuitive. Quality: I could see this amp aging not so gracefully... but at the price I can't complain. I definitely will be carrying it myself though just for peace of mind. Value: I did a triple take when I saw this amp. I was prepared to spend twice as much for an entry level amp. I found myself skimming the features trying to figure out "what is missing that makes this so cheap!?" The Wow Factor: I wanted this amp pretty badly after just glossing over the features... knowing what I know now, I can't imagine not wanting one, even if I had endless piles of cash to throw at Bogners, Mesas and Marshalls. This amp is so versatile, I would still keep it as a practice amp even if I owned a rotating cast of all the hardware that is emulated inside just because it's easier to use.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Everything you ever wanted in an amp!" submitted August 4, 2006

By a customer from rogers.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: Former lead guitar in a band, on-going recreational musician, recording hobbyist
Music Style: Rock, Alternative, Experimental, some Jazz
Back to Product Information
Sound: The sound is AMAZING! I found the reproductions extremely accurate. I have owned a JCM 900 with a 4x12 cabinet for many years, when I called up the Brit Hi-Gain patch the sound was instantly familiar. It would be very difficult to tell the difference between a recording between the V-Ampire's Brit Hi-Gain patch and a real Marshall. Playing through this amp is a different story. The V-Ampire's 2x60 transistor amp cannot match the raw power of a 100W Marshall tube amp. The V-Ampire is fine for practice situations but it will need help on stage. For this reason I cannot give it a perfect score. Feature: Incredible array of features. But if was to nit-pick, it is missing a harmonizer. Some combination of effects are also not possible. Thinking about it, I don't really miss these things. One feature that would have been nice is to have connectivity to the PC via USB instead of MIDI. For example, it is not possible to have a MIDI foot controller and the PC connected at the same time. Ease of Use: I found it very easy to use. The design makes it simple to bounce between patches while maintaining the familiar knob adjustments of traditional amps. They do this by using LEDs around the knob to indicate setting. Very intuitive and very cool. The only thing that is a little cumbersome is modifying parameters within certain effected. A LED display of the parameter being modified would have been handy. Quality: For the most part a very well built unit. I could not find fault with the craftsmanship, however, the plastic knobs seems a little flimsy. If I was touring with this this I'd want it in a road case. But what the hell, for the price of one Marshall, I could have a couple backup V-Ampires. Value: Awesome value!! It compares favourably with units twice it's price! Overall: I'm very happy with this amp. What it lacks in power, it makes up for in sound and value. I would definately recommend it to anyone looking for a great sounding, versatile amp.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This amp is a keeper!" submitted April 8, 2007

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active player
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This is a modeling amp. it does just that. great tone sdjuxtment as well. Feature: Multiple effects and depth contours as well as multi effect easy to use foot switch. Line speaker out to attach to a house PA for back of house balance / volume adjustments. no mic required. Ease of Use: takes a few days to get it all figured out. once you got it, it's like riding a bike. Quality: This amp works right and looks good too> Value: At #200.00 it's like stealing. you feel guilty for not paying more. Manufacturer Support: OK, this is what sets Behringer apart. I accidently damaged my amp and called Behringer looking for a part. Behringer replaced the entire amplifier at no charge and got it done quick. That is standing behind your product. The Wow Factor: Cool features good looking fresh approach to a modeling amp. I wouldn't be without it. Overall: This amp is a keeper!!!
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Totally worth it for Metal heads!!" submitted November 22, 2007

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Pro Guitarist
Music Style: anything in Heavy Metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: just to sound i'm looking for. turned the EQ settings all the way up. Plenty of thump but still the bright crunch. and plenty of effects to the right sound for solos Feature: so many sounds to choose from so you can get any sound you want Ease of Use: you can get any sound, no problem, but when i first got it it took a bit to figure out how to your settings but after that. boom!! Quality: the input jack has come loose a bit, no prob. but everything is fine and i've had it for almost a year Value: 10 is an under state ment. i get a marshall sound as well as randall, and krank sounds for under $200, well without tax! Manufacturer Support: the warranty is something i don't pay attention to. if i breaks i'll fix it The Wow Factor: it an amp. it's not suppose to look good! Overall: i'll keep this until it's complete trash then i'll buy another!!!
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Don't let the price fool you..." submitted June 12, 2005

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Alternative, Metal, Screamo, Emo
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Very good sound. I bought it because my Peavey Special 212 had horrible feedback on distortion. I never knew how bad that thing sounded until I bought this. Every sound that comes out of it is clear and refreshing. It's not as loud as you would like...But still packs a mean punch. Overall a very good sounding device. Feature: The amp models and built in effects are very easy to use after 2 days and a little manual bathroom reading, and come in handy with all types of music. The footpedal it comes with is kind of stupid. It has 2 switches, "up" and "Down" you have 5 things to chose from...So switching in a show is kind of difficult, plus it takes about a second to switch to a new setting. Quality: Very sharp looking. Made very well. Came to me with zero imperfections. I've had it for a week and have had no problems whatsoever. I'm looking forward to playing a large amount of shows with this baby. It will remain as part of my set-up for a very long time to come. Value: Unbelieveable... How do they pull this off??? The Wow Factor: I was drawn to it right away... A very sexy looking head. Looks great on top of my cab. Overall: Like i said... I'll own this for as long as it's functional.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"If you are looking for a good processor....than this is it. If you are looking for power.....go with something else." submitted August 14, 2005

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Musical Background: 20 + years........professional
Music Style: blues, rock, hard rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: This head has incredible sound.....many combinations of effects to choose from.....all of the elements to tweak out for any sound that you want.....great for studio use.....but for live gigs, it doesn't have the power to push it. Feature: Easy to figure out once you get the hang of creating your patches. The footswitch alone is worth it......but the cord could use an extra 10 feet for those outdoor festival gigs with a big stage. Quality: It is built tough, and looks good. Sounds great.....but not enough power. Value: If you are comparing heads.....go with something else. This head has the effects.....and that's about it. It is great for studio use....has more than enough outputs....but I would not recommend it for live use. Manufacturer Support: Never needed it. Overall: Bottom line is.......it blows most processors out of the water. I love the sounds you can create.....my only gripe,(and the reason I rate it a 6).....NO POWER. I run a mono line out through a Peavey 412 cab with Sheffields.....and it doesn't have the power to push them. I use it strictly for pre-amp, and line out into a different 100 watt head....which is less than 120 watt mono that this head claims to have.....and it sounds amazing. They should not advertise this as a head....it doesn't have the strength to be worthy of a head that can push 120 watt mono..(2x60 watt stereo).
2 of 4 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I Play in a Metal band, and I sold my MARSHALL Head just to get this one. You see ppl get overwhelmed and just shoot 10's, but" submitted January 10, 2005

By a customer from netzero.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing guitar for over 15 years. Play in a metal band.
Music Style: Erie Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Sound is excellent. I would probably wanna be able to TAP and MID also like how you can with the TREBLE. Gives off great sound for the kind of metal we play, "Erie". Feature: You couldnt of asked for a better head if your talkin about features. Quality: Unbelievably great quality. unreal how you could lay this head next to a marshall or other such kinds and it could smoke em! I personally SOLD my Marshall head to buy this head. smartest decision I ever made. Value: again, just unbelievable this head costs what it does. The Wow Factor: I would've given it a 10, but it has really no design on it, if the Vampire was written a little more evil looking and bigger somewhere that would be nice. but due to all of the features on it theres no room. THIS THING LIGHTS UP LIKE A CHRISTMAS TREE so you really dont need any design. everything is digital. Overall: Its a great head, plain and simple. You can find stuff easy about most amp heads to complain about, but I couldnt find 1 for the price of this head. And even if I had payed $600.00 I still dont think I could find a fault.
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 14XN-Y7RS. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X
ALL ACCESS PASS
5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER
  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!