800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15TG-QLJC
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Behringer DSP2024P

This effects processor from Behringer features 71 brand-new effect algorithms, powerful modulation and more.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Virtual Versatillity" submitted April 14, 2006

By Geoff Taylor
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: If this is to be your main reverb unit, you may be a little disappointed with the sounds compared to [say] a Lexicon, though it's on a par with most of Zoom's efforts. If price is important, then the reverbs are value for money, shall we say? The other effects - and you get a lot - are generally usable, especially when buried in the mix. The guitar amp emulations are a bit thin for serious use, but may hold up when integrated into a mix. Overall, it's possibly too clinical in what it does, but it does do quite a lot. Feature: You get plenty of control over the various parameters, and the knobs, with their speed sensitive response, get you to where you want to be pretty quickly - certainly better than increment buttons. The presets are OKish but too many seem to be [literally] there for effect, rather than to provide a useful range of graduated sounds. Ease of Use: On a par with other budget equipment, and better than some. Storing user presets is quick and simple. The display is not great if you need a constant readout of each parameter's setting, but, at the price, this seems to be an acceptable alternative to an LCD screen. It takes about 1s to load a new preset once selected, which may be a problem in live situations. Also, it doesn't appear possible to cue a preset and load it when ready - you have to scroll to the preset which then loads itself. The Lexicon 550 is much better in this respect [but still takes about 1s to load the preset]. Quality: Similar to other Behringer equipment - solid construction and the controls don't feel cheap and nasty. Value: Good value for money, provided you don't expect to get a Porsche for the price of a Ford. The Wow Factor: I don't like the 'slanty look' of the latest Behringer stuff, but it works and feels OK so, whilst it lacks sex appeal, it's not particularly naff either. Overall: I got this as a secondary studio reverb unit, with the bonus of some useful additional effects, all at a very acceptable asking price. I wouldn't choose this model for live work or gigging, however, as you cannot change seamlessly from one sound to another - the delay would be too intrusive. It's possible to get some nice noises out of it, but you will need to spend time 'playing' in order to achieve the sound you want. A bit more cash will get you a better sounding, but less versatile piece of equipment.
26 of 26 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"diamond in the ruff" submitted December 21, 2006

By a customer from knology.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: rock, jazz, ccm
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Pretty darn good, especially for the price. cleaner than older behringer models, less noise than other better brands. Prefered over our yamaha processors. most of the default patches are way overcooked. you have to spend some time to tame them. Feature: very quick to edit, nice display is helpful once you know the unit. some unique patches such as comp/limiter, even. does not allow different efx per channel. really wish it did. Ease of Use: as far as efx units go, this one edits really quickly. Quality: now- I know the camps are divided on behringer...I've had my fair share of behringer returns and breakdowns. that said, I use this live, on stage, regularly. It gets kicked, knocked around, hot, cold, etc, and it has been reliable. Value: for the $$, I'll buy another if the need arises. Manufacturer Support: no experience. The Wow Factor: aesthetics. I dislike this category. Overall: I have no plans to replace/upgrade. great experience with this box.
14 of 14 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Half the Fat, Twice the Calories... or wait...."

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Techno/DUB/Reggae/Dancehall/Classical/Celtic/etc
Back to Product Information
Sound: Sounds are pretty clean and vary according to control, pretty flexible... the unit can be noisy if pushed to hard, otherwise solid sounds all round. Feature: Fairly feature rich the unit has MIDI-In,MIDI-Out,MIDI-Thru for controller from any MIDI unit. Including your sequencer if you know how to set it up properly. Most effects have six to eight parameters to tweak, some even with part delays. The jog wheel is nice, it responds to how fast you're turning it and the scroll speed acts appropriately. It would have been nice to fit all eight knobs to avoid having to switch with a button, although the layout of the unit wouldn't allow for such. And it's just a minor thing, but still. Can store 100 user defined presets. (Unit comes with 200 pre-sets[I001-I100|U001-U100], but you can overwrite the last 200 [U001-U100] with your own settings, for quick recall at a later time.) Two channel, Stereo processing. Or can be input from one channel and switched to MONO mode for stereo effects results. Rackmountable. All LEDs are easily identifiable and readable. Quality: Unit seems failry well constructed, at least as well as most Behringer units, it's styled like the rest of their current gear so it dosn't stick out like a sore thumb. Although the MIDI ports on the unit I have are fairly cheap and caution must be taken when inserting or removing cables so as to not damage the ports. Value: The unit is definately worth 130 which is what ithink the current rate is, especially for a first effects unit. I've been using it on instruments and vocals and it's very consistant and suits my applicataion needs. Alot of places like GC sell it for 149.99 and I'm not sure it's worth that since for $50 you can start gettting into some of the other units which are more critically acclaimed and battle tested. If you could pick one up for around 99 I think that would be a steal. Manufacturer Support: Never used their support. The Wow Factor: I would buy it again all though not sure if I would add it to a more extensive collection of effects units. Would definately buy again on a project basis. Overall: I think this unit will stay with me for quite some time if not throughout my audio journeys. It's very decent especially with the two channel stereo processing. I'm going to need another effects unit sometime soon and I probably won't get another one of these unless it's sub one hundred. Looking to get something sweeter for vocals. Allthough this unit can do a decent job with them, there are definately better. Most first timers will be very sastified with this unit.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Fully Adjustable, and every routing possibility you could want." submitted August 11, 2004

By xxx.hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: If you have used Lexicon Pro Reverb products, and know how to adjust the various reverb delay options, the bass and treble freq. response characteristics, and signal routing to get the sound you want, you will find this unit does it every bit as well as the best Lexicon unit (most users don't get into this detail). The 24 bit processor is clean and the room simulation algorithms are very accurate and believable. Really nice plate algorithms - as good as the best Lexicon units. The other effects are also usable (especially the amp & speaker simulators, why pay for $50 for other simulators that arn't as good). I found the gate and Compressor/Expander options somewhat below studio pro standard, but usable for live applications. Feature: A lot of great reverb algorithms, and other usefull effects for a very good price. (I put an MPX500 and a DSP2024P on two aux sends with various plate simulations, and challenged a very well know sound engineer to tell me which one was the MPX500 - he couldn't tell the difference) Quality: Well constructed, only negative is the MIDI connectors are the less expensive plastic version, and you have to be gentle with them. The 1/4" jacks are very good, Overall solid quality. Value: What can I say.... It is extremely good value. Manufacturer Support: I had a question and they answered it immediately. (I had to return a 3282 monitor mixer once, and they mailed a replacement within 3 days) The Wow Factor: I want it Overall: You won't be dissapointed
13 of 14 people (92.86%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Not bad, but a compromise" submitted October 19, 2004

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Home recording/Musician
Music Style: Rock, Country, Electronic
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I haven't gotten into the depths of this unit yet and started tweaking, but the 200 presets have a lot of "sameness" about them, and in my rig (using it as an outboard FX for an AW416) they tend to sound very brittle and tinny, unlike the warmth you get with a Lexicon. Certain psychoacoustic FX, like subbass, can add a cool sound to a track or overall mix, but others, like ultrawide, just add an amazing amount of high end. Feature: Not skimpy on the features, I haven't really dug into them enough to see how useful they are. Quality: Mine was a B-stock and was in perfect shape. Not a bad looking unit, has that trademark Behringer look, though, so if you're a Behringer hater, you'll hate it. Value: Compared to other new units, it's the price that will draw you to it (it did me), but you can get used Lexicons online for around this price and will most likely prefer their reverb sound, if reverb is your main reason for buying this. The Wow Factor: It's aesthetically like most other Behringer boxes, and its specs are like most rack-mount DSPs. Overall: Obviously this unit's selling point is it's price/feature ratio, but unfortunately I'm not all that happy with the sound, which is REALLY the prime consideration in audio, eh? I'll continue to work with it until I find an EQ setting that compliments it, but right out of the box, I rate it about a "7."
10 of 11 people (90.91%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great value for money" submitted October 22, 2005

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: Just bought this to replace a dead Quadraverb that I've had for 15 years. Since I used the QV for just a couple of effects for the guitar this seemed like a good choice. It was the cheapest of the bunch (cheaper even than getting a couple of pedals). I was pretty impressed by the sound. Feature: The number of simultaneous effects is limited. That said, it matches fairly closely what I actually use. Quality: Only used at home/studio. Value: Great value for money. Manufacturer Support: Not had any reason to. The Wow Factor: It looks out of place in the rack. Doesn't have the same pro look as my other gear. Actually it looks like a toy. Overall: If it lasts as long as the QV I'll be more than happy.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great product, yet clusterfudge, over engineering makes it user-UNfriendly for live use." submitted August 14, 2005

By a customer from cox.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: Well, to start with, I purchased it because of its long delay parameters along with the 24-bit technology to use for live guitar, through the amp's effects loop. The overall sound quality is very good. Now here are my problems with it: #1.The series/parallel effects parameter is nice, (yet not that noticeable) but why only 2 effects per preset, everyone else allows 4? #2.When editing I found myself constantly digging out the manual to find out what the 4 letter abbreviations meant, LEDS are cheap, why not use that Behringer thoroughness here? #3. The layout of knob combinations to alter parameters and that huge scroll knob, I find to simply be a "clusterfudge". A simple number pad would have sufficed nicely. Instant preset access. #4. What is with the silent delay between preset changes? I need to go from a rhythm preset to a lead preset RIGHT NOW! Not wait for the preset to load! Overall, I think it's just not user friendly for live performing, good for studio though if you only need 2 effects at a time. This is a classic example of "over-engineering"! OH! And definitely beware of the FCB1010 Midi footpedal problems. Do your homework before you purchase! Thank you. Mike
5 of 7 people (71.43%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Not what I'm looking for" submitted August 7, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: It's hard to get a clean sound out of this machine. It seems to hum with whatever equipment I use Feature: Plenty of different effects and flexible Ease of Use: Not bad - A bit fidly Quality: It hasn't broken down on my yet. And I've taken it to plenty of gigs Value: I bought it for $300 5 years ago so not bad Manufacturer Support: I haven't had to deal with suppport yet The Wow Factor: I think there are better units out there
3 of 5 people (60%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great effect and price; lots of options!" submitted February 22, 2005

By a customer from yelkcam.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Folk Rock/Gospel
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound is great. Tons of neat effects; superb reverb and delay effects with loads of versatility. You can change and tweak your effects to fit your music. This features more reverb and delay effects than the others. MY SUGGESTION: Realistically, If all you want is reverb, get a Behringer or other brand device JUST for reverb...or if all you want is delay, get a device just for delay. If you'll enjoy and use the many effects, than go for it this one. This is an excellent and very affordable, high quality, effects processor with LOTS of options. Feature: You can do "almost" anything with it--but still "10" worthy on my scale. Quality: Well made. The knobs have a good feel on their turn. I bought this thinking I'd use it for home recording only. Shortly after I found an amp by Behringer that had all of the effects I'd need (ACX1000 Ultracoustic). If you don't have a rack or studio, but are only home recording--like I am--an amp with onboard effects is much more durable and accessible...I made a mistake. I'm going to sell the Virtualizer Pro soon now that I've ordered the Behringer Ultracoustic amp with the same effects and XLR microphone cable input. This way I can use the amp for recording or live shows. The virtualizer, meant to be mounted on a rack, would not be good to carry to a gig. Value: I got it B-Stock and it was as-new and well packaged. It beats the market for it's versatility, quality and price. You don't get the manual with B-Stock, but you can download it from Behringers web site. The Wow Factor: It looks and works nice, but again, it doesn't fit too well for home recording (unless you have a rack to hold it, which I don't). I may end up selling it. Overall: I'm happy with it, but I soon decided an amp with a mic input and onboard effect was better for home recording. I may keep it and run it through my mixer on a second condenser microphone.
8 of 9 people (88.89%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15TG-QLJC. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!