800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1730-12F6
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

For delivery by Dec. 24, order by 2 p.m. EST on Monday, Dec. 22 and select 2-day shipping.
Cart

Rating and Reviews: Audio-Technica AT4040 Mic

A great all-around choice for vocals, voiceover, guitar cabs, percussion and more, this cardioid large-diaphragm condenser compares to mics twice the price!

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"This is a super deal on a quality Microphone from Audio Technica!!" submitted September 29, 2005

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: singer
Back to Product Information
Sound: the best,it's as good as my akg and neumann(if not better on everything) Feature: it's got a high pass filter and a 10db attenuator! it's strictly cardiod. Quality: built solidly! sounds super with my Blue Robbie Preamp!! Manufacturer Support: nice folks! The Wow Factor: I'm buying one !!
13 of 13 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"THIS IS A GREAT AT SERIES MIC FROM AUDIO TECHNICA !!" submitted August 17, 2005

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: recording engineer
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: this is super vocal and acoustic guitar mic.it has a full sound.airy highs natural mids and beautiful full lows. It's basically an improved at4033-has better specs!!! Feature: has a 10 db attenuator and 80 hz high pass. Quality: top notch quality in the at4040. I'll compare this mic to anything out there costing alot more. This mic is made in JAPAN. We all know that quality is what comes out of there- from cars to you name it!! Value: a great value.it is a Japanese built product.No wonder it's terrific.the 2 I bought sound like a matched pair !! Manufacturer Support: they're real helpful.I had a question on getting some extra mic mounts and they were great! The Wow Factor: i own 2 of them. Overall: this mic sounds as good as mics that are alot more in price. I compared it to the Blue Blueberry,the Neumann tlm103, and the Rode NTK. In my opinion it outperforms them all on vocals-and is as good on acoustic guitar.
27 of 29 people (93.1%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Audio-Technica AT4040 Mic Customer Review submitted September 13, 2006

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 45 years in The Recording Industry
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: This mic sounds terrific on vocals when used in conjunction with a Blue Robbie Mic Preamp,with or without compression. I've compared it to other microphones in my arsenal and it basically outperforms them. Some of my other mics are :A Neumann TLM103,A Rode K2 and Rode NTK,and AKG C414. The Audio Technica At4040 has a better,balanced overall sound on most sources. I think it's because of it's 2mm thick capsule membrane which is a new design from AT. Feature: I like the fact that it has a high pass 80hz filter and a -10db rolloff. Neither of these are offered on the Neumann TLM103 and Rode NTK,which incidentally cost more !
18 of 21 people (85.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Perfect" submitted January 16, 2014

By Billi Miller in Ionia, MI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been into music for 18 years
Music Style: hip-hop, rap
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Perfect mic for my voice I have a mid deep voice and it sounds really good with this mic. I use it with the Focusrite Scarlett 2i4.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"If you are a singer. THEN BUY THIS!!!!" submitted March 17, 2009

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Singer
Music Style: RnB
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The BEST sound!!!!! It has a nice warm sound...IT GIVES ME MORE CONFIDENT IN SINGING!!!! Compare to the other mics this by far is the Best... Feature: Came with a shockmount and a 20ft mic cable. Ease of Use: Perfect Quality: It's made from Japan..OF COURSE ITS PERFECT!!!! It will last for a lifetime..as long as you take care of it. Value: Definitely worth the price!!!!!!! Trust Me... Manufacturer Support: No services needed. Also gives you a year warranty The Wow Factor: Out of all the mics I have seen. This is the best looking mic right now. No lie. Audio-Technica makes the best mics. Overall: If I were to buy another product, it would be a higher version of the AT4040 which is AT4050.
3 of 5 people (60%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Audio-Technica AT4040 Mic Customer Review submitted April 30, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Back to Product Information
Sound: the sound on this product is very superb. you get what you pay for that's for sure but for the price of this mic you get way more. it kills many mics out there such as the sm57,sm58, though many buy those mics before considering what they're getting themselves into. don't do it... trust me. the range on this mic is incredible. if you just looking for a mic that is cost efficient yet want to have that studio sound this is the mic for you. i wouldn't get rid of this mic. don't get me wrong... it's no Sony C800G lol but it's good for home studio productions. i'm producing my album with this mic. it's great for singing, rapping, talking, broadcasting, most anything using vocals... a must buy for you peeps at home. remember though you must have phantom power and +48V preamp to make this mic run at top notch.
5 of 8 people (62.5%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"GREAT MICROPHONE!" submitted February 25, 2012

By Jessimi Trautman in Huntington, WV
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been doing music since roughly around 2001. I sing, play guitar, and make hip hop music all from an in home studio!
Music Style: Rock, Blues, Alternative Hip Hop, Dance, House.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I used to use the AT2020, and I liked that microphone a lot. It was time to upgrade, so a friend pointed me in this direction. It was $250 when I was going to originally get it, but they bumped it up to $300. I was a little bummed, but I didn't hesitate. I've had this microphone for almost 2 years. I've been recording for nearly 10, and have heard a lot of varieties from different brands. This microphone will stand up to it all. It has a nice, clean sound to it. It beats most Shure microphones in my opinion and with the correct set up will sound JUST as good as a Neumann. I have recommended this microphone to more than 3 people whom I know have purchased it and LOVE it. If you're on a house budget, this is the microphone to get. The quality is amazing, even with just a simple Mixer, which is what I have. I will continue to use this microphone and don't think I will upgrade it, just other hardware to build around it!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Audio-Technica AT4040 Mic Customer Review submitted December 22, 2011

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Quality
Musical Background: since a child. trying to maximize my talent before my times up. would like to leave some type if positive legacy to my family.
Music Style: hip hop, RnB Gospel
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I have not used the Mic yet I am actually building my first recording studio piece by piece. What I do know is this is the company most used by the proffesional industry. That plus the high praise it received by zzounds customers was more than enough for me. Quality: Go look at it on the jimmy fallon show the AT is class is sitting right on the desk. Overall: I believe I will stay with Audio Technica for life.
3 of 7 people (42.86%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"2nd at 4040" submitted September 3, 2013

By sean l in orlando, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Baritone instrument
Music Style: Hip-hop, Christian, and blues.
Back to Product Information
Overall: great mic for vocals: singing or talking loud into...
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The greatest drum overhead mic ever." submitted October 22, 2003

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Rock, Classical
Back to Product Information
Sound: I have used this product many times as a drum overhead microphone and have gotten great results. Just one of these microphones carefully placed can give you a very natural sounding drum set. Coupled with a Shure SM-57, I've gotten one of the best live recording drum sounds that I have ever heard. This product is a must have for drummers Feature: This product included a shockmount. Quality: The only thing that I have to worry about is whether or not this mic will be stolen. Value: This product is well worth its selling price. Manufacturer Support: N/A The Wow Factor: This is going to be my next microphone purchase. Overall: This is the best mic that I've ever heard on drum overheads. I advise any live sound engineer to use one whenever they can.
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"AT4040" submitted March 15, 2006

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Record Company Co-Owner/Studio Engineer
Music Style: All Kinds
Back to Product Information
Sound: I used this with my record company in my studio Feature: amazing Ease of Use: just pluged in and worked amazingly Quality: Outstanding, sounds better than Nuemann Value: Best mic for the money Manufacturer Support: great The Wow Factor: Its good lookin, looks as good as it sounds. In my opinion its the best looking mic out there Overall: I wouldn't buy another mic
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1730-12F6. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!