800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 175T-7WZR
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

For delivery by New Year's Eve, order by 2pm EST on Monday, Dec 29th with 2-day shipping.
Cart

Rating and Reviews: Audio-Technica AT2035

An unbeatable value in a cardioid large-diaphragm condenser, the AT2035 is your go-to mic for recording vocals, guitar amps, and more. Includes shockmount.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"You'll think you paid hundreds for this mic!" submitted December 8, 2009

By a customer from voxmaxaudio.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional Voice Over Actor
Back to Product Information
Sound: Wow! That was the first word that came to mind after listening to this mic. I am a professional voice over artist, and I have recorded at some great studios with great mics like the vaunted Nuemann U87, Senny, 416 shotgun, AKG mics, etc., and I can safely say this one is in my top 3. I was ready to pull the trigger on an AT4033CL, however after reading that this one was very comparable and sounded as good as other mics costing upwards of $500, I bought the AT2035. I did not regret my decision. I paired it with a Presonous tube amp, and was blown away. Nice, crisp highs and mids, not muddy on the lows. Just colors my voice perfectly. If you want a sampling of what I have recorded, just visit www.voxmaxaudio.net. Thanks, Joseph Andrade Feature: Includes a -10 db switch as well a bass roll off switch. Also comes with a shock mount, and carrying pouch. Nice. Ease of Use: Just plug it in to your pre amp and get fantastic sound. Quality: This is a heavy, beautifully made mic. But then again all of Audio Technica's products are well made. Have not had a single problem with it. Value: This is where the AT2035 really shines. For the price you are going to pay for this mic, you swear it sounds like a $500 mic. Tremendous value. Manufacturer Support: Have not needed it yet. The Wow Factor: Looks and sounds great! Overall: This one is a keeper! Would replace it in a heart beat!
33 of 33 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Audio-Technica is now their own most-dangerous competitor!" submitted October 31, 2009

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist, etc
Music Style: Most styles
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: Oops! Audio-Technica may just have made all their other mics under $350 obsolete! ===================================================================== This mic is like a slightly-juiced AT3035 (which I also own), which was already a heck of a mic for the money and very underrated. The sound of the AT2035 is B-I-G, full and crystal-clear. Used with even a cheap preamp, set at proper levels, there is no harshness in the highs to my ears, even with no EQ. This is not a "German-sound" mic with extra "sheen";It is a simpler, "true-sounding" mic with little coloration and fine presence. It makes a quality, contrasting addition to a mic collection that already includes those popular & distinctive ADK, or Studio Projects-type "German-flavor" vocal mics. Compare this to one of AT's somewhat more expensive mics, and the results may surprise you. In my opinion, AT Corp has reason to fear a shootout between this mic and the ones they put out that I won't name in the $200-350 range. But do your own test if you can, and decide. Feature: The AT2035 has an effective shockmount. If you prefer to use it upside-down-style, just make sure it is pressed-in firmly. Somehow, even though the capsule is 24mm (as compared to the old AT3035's 26mm capsule), the sound is slightly "bigger" or "fuller". Just like the AT2020 model has an amazingly big sound for its 16mm capsule, the AT2035 has that characteristic even more. I suspect similar technology/structure/materials here. Obviously, some slight technical advance was made (to my ears). Ease of Use: Soft ballad singers who can sing very close-up to the mic without topping meters can sound gigantic--Like you are right in their throat! But even farther back, the mic still sounds big (hint: the closer you can sing to a studio mic without distortion, the "bigger" the voice sounds in the recording, due to proximity effect. Just use the AT2035 with a simple preamp, get the levels right (clear W/low-noise), and definitely use a pop-screen if doing vocals. This mic is best for vocals, various percussion, electric guitar cabs, and acoustic guitar close-miking. I haven't used it with wind instruments so I can't offer anything there. Quality: Seems solidly-made. Value: TOP-VALUE ITEM in its price range. I would even say...WOW. 1 of these and an ADK Vienna, and you are ready to deal with almost any vocalist, at any time. Manufacturer Support: N/A The Wow Factor: IMO, it is the current Tyrannosaus of studio condenser mics under $200. Overall: I expect lots of years of good use from this mic (for my modest demo/jam-studio), and many happy singers I have yet to meet, but will.
42 of 43 people (97.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Mic, Great Price, Great Sound!" submitted May 24, 2011

Seth from zZounds
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Profesional Musician, Recording Engineer, Producer
Music Style: Anything
Back to Product Information
ZZOUNDS CREW REVIEW
Sound: This is a fantastic microphone for the price range that it is in. The sound quality is very natural, nothing boosted, nothing attenuated. I used this microphone on a 4x12 guitar cabinet and got a very full and warm sound. On vocals, the at-2030 is great. Very clean and warm tone, nothing too pronounced and very easy to EQ and with such a flat response mic, compression works wonderfully on it. Feature: The shock mount included is very sturdy and fits the mic well. Ease of Use: The microphone was very easy to use: set it up, adjust the pre amp gain and hit record. Thats it. The 80hz low cut is very clean and retains the warmth of the mic. The -10db pad is also very useful on loud sources such as amps. Quality: The microphone has a very solid body and everything felt really well built. The shock mount that was included felt equally as sturdy and I never once winced at the thought of keeping the microphone in the shock mount for an extended period of time. Value: Like I said before the price you pay for the microphone does not reflect the quality you receive. For a value mic, there is none better. Manufacturer Support: Didnt need any support from the company. The Wow Factor: It's not the prettiest mic in the world, but it gets the job done. Overall: If I had $3400 to spend on a Neumann U87 there would no question BUT like most people I do not have that kind of budget. For the price this mic beats out many microphones in the $500-$700 range.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"You need this mic, several of them!" submitted February 22, 2011

By a customer from msn.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Semi-Pro Musician, Recording Engineer
Music Style: Just about any, primarily rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: What can I say that hasn't been said? This thing is incredible! And the fact you can get it cheaper than the 2020 which has a smaller diaphragm is simply amazing. I'll put it this way, I've tried a lot of Chinese sourced mics costing as much as $500. This mic DOES NOT have that brittle high end so many Chinese mics have. It is basically flat all the way across. What goes in is what comes out. It works quite well with my Studio Projects VBT1, but when run through my Saffire Pro 40, it simply sounds amazing! I have two and would gladly by more but I'm waiting for my AT 2050 to arrive. Feature: A pad and a bass roll-off and the sound for $95 bucks....I can't think of another mic out there for under $400 that even comes close! Ease of Use: Plug it in, turn it up, and go! Quality: Built like a tank and certain to last a long time as all AT mics seem to. The two I have are essentially identical in sound at identical pre amp settings... Value: There is simply nothing that comes close for anywhere near the money. The Wow Factor: It looks great! Overall: A long, long time!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A great sounding large-diaphram condenser mic for a very reasonable price." submitted January 9, 2011

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active musician
Music Style: Gypsy Jazz, Swing
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This is a great mic for the price. I use it on acoustic guitar and vocals for recording my swing group. It has a very open and natural sound. I've also used it live to mic violin (great sound) and clarinet (good sound). I did not give it a 10 because there may be something else better out there. Feature: The only thing I wish it had is a switchable pickup pattern. What do you expect for a mic under $200? Ease of Use: Sounds great with practically no EQ or processing. Quality: No problems so far. I've had one for about a year. Value: This is the most mic for the money I have seen in a large diaphram mic. Manufacturer Support: I haven't used their support. The Wow Factor: It looks nice, but that is not that important. Overall: I will probably add more mic's to my collection, but I don't foresee retiring this one any time soon.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The amazing AT2035" submitted June 26, 2012

By Anggi Prasanti in Boston, NA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing music for as long as i could remember, I play guitar,piano,ukulele,drum
Music Style: pop,R&B,soul
Back to Product Information
Overall: This microphone is splendid! My previous microphone got a lot of buzzing and static noise on the background and yet my voice isnt loud enough and it cost $130. but this one has a clear sound with a little low background noise. My voice sounded So clear yet this is just a $140 microphone. The built material is really sturdy and doesnt feel cheap at all. the problems that i experience this is the shockmount that isnt really decreasing the vibration from my mic stand. but isnt a big deal and this is Unbelievable for the price!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Absolutely perfect for it's value!" submitted March 27, 2014

By Dylan F in Queens, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing music since I was in the 3rd grade, self-taught guitar since I was 18, and never stopped since.
Music Style: A mix of everything, it seems.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: After reading a lot positive reviews on this microphone, I decided to buy it since I wanted to put together a small home studio setup in my bedroom, all connected to my laptop. After having minor issues (all of which were on my end, like forgetting to buy a phantom power piece and an extra XLR cable) I finally got everything set up and was completely blown away by how sweet it sounds. I meant to give the sound rating a 5, but couldn't change it :( But overall, the sound is absolutely amazing and it definitely is worth it with a small budget! (Spent approx. $200 for the whole setup including the stand)
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Thank you ZZOUNDS!" submitted December 15, 2008

By a customer from yaoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Heavy Metal, Rock, and Alternative
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound quality is great, I would like to buy another set pretty soon...Also, I was amazed by this mic, the first time I used it in my room I could hear my aunt chopping vegetables in the kitchen 2 rooms away... Feature: It comes with a shock mount and a protective case and I could not ask for anything else Ease of Use: I had trouble powering it at first because I didn't know it needed phantom power so I went ahead and bout a simple mixer which works great and after that I never had problems with it. Also this mic works well with my acoustic guitar, it picks up me singing and also the clean sound of my guitar... Quality: This Mic is Outstanding! Hands Down! Value: A great mic at a cheap price... You could not ask for more... Trust me... Manufacturer Support: Never had to use it, but I'm sure they are very helpful. The Wow Factor: This thing is a sexy beast... I can't stop using it! It really helped me on my vocals! Overall: I recommend this mic to everyone who are just starting out... I guarantee that you wont be dissapointed
21 of 25 people (84%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great mic for the home studio" submitted January 4, 2011

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: Been playing bass and recording for over 40 years
Music Style: Classical, jazz, folk, bluegrass
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Good sound for an inexpensive mic. Different than my Rode NT1A mics, but a good different. Feature: The shock mount works well. The additon of the pad and roll off are great features on a mic in this price range. Ease of Use: Plug it in and start recording. Quality: The AT2035 is rugged and well made. I would feel confident using this mic is live settings. Value: I paid $95 for this mic. The mic has great sound and is very quiet. Excellent value. A great choice for a home studio. Overall: This is a great little mic. It is not much of a contender when compared to Neumann U87, bt in the budget mic category you can't go wrong with an AT2035.
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Singer" submitted June 2, 2014

By Leopoldo Reynaga in McAllen, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Drums , guitar and singer.
Music Style: all kinds of music.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Awesome Awesome Awesome That's all I can say.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"a very satisfied costumer of audio technica!" submitted January 7, 2010

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Recording Artist, Producer, Songwriter, owner of a Studio
Music Style: Hip Hop/R&B
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: i cant belive i pay that price for this mic. sound clear, clean and very natural, its amazing, all the people that heard my new recordings with this mic say that sounds awsome Feature: Audio Technica cares about his costumers, this mic comes with a great Shock mount and a protective pouch. the shock mount its very usefull and it looks great the protective pouch its very good to but i will not keep my mic there. i want to show everybody what we are talking about couse theres not a loot of pics of the audiotechnica at2035 on internet so this are a few photos that i take http://i497.photobucket.com/albums/rr339/DjSairu/DSC04218.jpg http://i497.photobucket.com/albums/rr339/DjSairu/DSC04222.jpg http://i497.photobucket.com/albums/rr339/DjSairu/DSC04223.jpg http://i497.photobucket.com/albums/rr339/DjSairu/DSC04227.jpg http://i497.photobucket.com/albums/rr339/DjSairu/DSC04228.jpg http://i497.photobucket.com/albums/rr339/DjSairu/DSC04231.jpg http://i497.photobucket.com/albums/rr339/DjSairu/DSC04225.jpg Ease of Use: its very simple like everyother mic, i connected to my pream and its ready to record! simply as that Quality: it looks very solid, the quality of the mic its very good, i feel i can knock out someone with this mic and still working. Value: if this mic was for $500 i think it will be a fair price, i mean u cant be wrong whit audio technica, everybody loves at2020 and this is even a better mic Manufacturer Support: i never need it but i guess its great The Wow Factor: when i first look this mic i know this is the one i was gonna order. it looks a loot better than other mics. Overall: im a satisfied costumer of audio technica, i think its a great company, and this mic its the best!! for the price u cant find anything better meaby the mxl are good to (i dont know) but u cant go wrong with the audio technica i honestly recomend this produc to anyone, from beginners to pro's this is the mic you want, trust me!!
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 175T-7WZR. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!