800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15TX-L8C1
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Audix I5 Instrument Mic

Mic up nearly any stage or studio instrument -- from snare to guitar cabinet -- with the Audix i5 dynamic microphone. It can handle up to 140 dB SPL.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"A must-have addition to your microphone cabinet." submitted January 15, 2008

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: musician, recording engineer
Music Style: rockabilly
Back to Product Information
Sound: Blows the SM57 out of the water on snare top, guitar cabs. Pleasently surprised when we tried the i5 on a scratch vocal track-warm full sound on male voice. Equally surprised when we tried it in conjuction with a SDC on acoustic guitar. The best "utility" microphone on the market. Feature: Umm...its a plain jane dynamic mic. No switches. Nice gold XLR connector though. Ease of Use: Point and shoot...great. Quality: Solid constuction, awesome. Value: Based on it's superior sound, the value is outstanding. Manufacturer Support: Have not needed to contact Audix. That's a good thing, right?
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"My go-to mic for any situation." submitted March 10, 2014

By M A
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 10+ years live sound engineer, drummer
Music Style: rock, pop, funk, r&b, hip-hop, reggae
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Very similar to an SM57 but I find the i5 to be smoother in the upper frequencies. With my systems I tend to get more gain before feedback and better noise rejection with the i5s. I currently use i5s on batter side of snare drums, guitar cabinets, horns, and vocals and they just work well and sound great. It has become my favorite mic for mic'ing guitar cabs. Feature: Wind screen and grill are tough and can handle being smacked by drummers or dropped by singers. Ease of Use: No switch, plug it in and go. I find it to be very flat and usually requires very little EQ'ing if any! Quality: I currently have 5 of these in my mic collection and they've been used expensively on stage and in my studio. They held up well, sound great, and have never failed me. Value: Same prices as a 57, sounds better (IMO), and is more durable (again IMO). Manufacturer Support: Haven't had to contact them. The Wow Factor: Eh, its black? Zero to little EQ'ing is very impressive, allows you to get an amazing sound very quickly even if your mixer/preamp is lacking in channel settings. Overall: I've used the i5 for years now and I swear by this mic. I've used 57s and many other dynamic mics, but I keep coming back to the i5. I just ordered another and figured I'd give my review on these wonderful mics.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"audix i5. GREAT!" submitted August 31, 2014

By shane brown in palm desert, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: been playing music for 30 years.
Music Style: rawk.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have been doing a lot of guitar recording lately. I have been using Shure SM57s for years. I wanted to shake it up a bit, so I watched a boatload of reviews on youtube and read a ton of reviews on every forum available. There was one comparison on youtube that started with the I5 and i was immediately drawn to the tones. I ordered 2 from zZounds and have nothing but love. They kill. There are a lot of nice mics for recording guitar out there, dont get me wrong, but to my ear, The Audix i5 brings a considerably truer representation of what is coming out of my amp than ANY other mic I have tried. (many) it is built every bit as well as a 57, and it is clearly going to be durable. Buy one. Definitely a value.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Audix I5 Instrument Microphone" submitted May 1, 2012

By Godfrey P in Stony Brook, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Audio Engineer / Technical Director
Music Style: Live music sound renforcement.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Excellent instrument mic for guitar cabs and snare drum. Superb build quality and compact form factor. Comparable to the venerable Shure SM57, to my ears they are close in response on guitar cabs and snare drums. I do prefer them on snare versus the SM57 as the i5 capsule is protected by a sturdy metailic front end that stands up to errant and unintentional drum stick wacks. I have 3 sidelined SM57s with the tops smacked off without any way to re-attach the plastic protective head covers. It's frustrating. I am extremely satisfied with the Audix's performance to date. Will definitely purchase several more to add to my Audix mic inventory. I use the D series as my go to live mic system. You cannot go wrong with purchasing this microphone.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Audix I5 Instrument Mic Customer Review submitted November 14, 2007

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Dixieland Jazz, Ragtime.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Great sound, replacing our SM57's for milking. Great quality reproduction and impressive vocal work as well. Ease of Use: Like the man said, it's a mike, plug it in and speak! Quality: Very well made, Never did like the rotating head of the 57. Value: Bought 5 of these for my band. Got a decent discount and the guys in the band loved the mike! Overall: Best mike I've used in a long time. Milking banjo's can be a tough job for any mike butthis one pulls it off like a champ.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Audix I5" submitted August 25, 2014

By Yamil Hernandez in Bayamon, PR
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Choralist, Sound Engineer
Music Style: Christian Rock/Pop/latin, Worship
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Good sound tailored to drums, very little eq unlike with the Shure SM 57's. More on par with the Beta 57 but still with a little more clear sound and requiring less eq to find a sweets pot. Although not having tried it on brass seems like its frequency response curve will fit nicely with them too. I've used them on snare and tom drums only so far. The I5's will now be replacing the rest of the 57's on my church drums as they are a bit smaller and nicer sounding than the 57s.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great harmonica jam mic" submitted June 23, 2009

By a customer from sbcglobal.net
Overall
Sound
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: Blues Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: I bought the i5 for harmonica jammin and i love it!!! Feature: No on-off switch Ease of Use: Handled a wide variety of effects that I use on my harmonica Quality: Very sturdy Value: Very good value Manufacturer Support: not yet The Wow Factor: One of the slickset little mics I have ever used Overall: I am always looking for a mic with a better sound but I will always have one of these
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"New SM57" submitted March 14, 2007

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Recording Engineer
Music Style: Metal, Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: This is a very awesome mic. I was kind of sceptical about getting it but I decided to go for it. Seeing as how I don't want the generic 57 stamp on my products. This has a very bright sound with enough body to make anybody happy. I used it on snare and my snare just cut through the mix. I did a side by side comparison with a 57 and with the pre's and faders at the same level, same eq it was a lot louder and clear sounding. Feature: It came with a bag and clip, oh a sticker, almost forgot, a sticker. Ease of Use: You plug it in. Its a microphone! Quality: Definately higher quality than a 57. You could drop this off a building and it will probably work. Maybe not look so good but probably work. (I don't advise you to do so) Value: I would have paid 200 for this microphone. Definately worth the 100 dollars. Manufacturer Support: I gave it a 5 cause I haven't had to deal with them yet. The Wow Factor: Definately like design. It looks like it has rear phase delay ports but they are definately running the same way as the microphone so it can't be. Nice touch though. Overall: Most likely have this microphone for years to come. Perhaps the new 57 if they market it right.
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I-5" submitted December 13, 2004

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Producer/Engineer
Music Style: Everthing except country.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: It sounds like a 57 with a mid scoop....and the charts show that too, so no surprises there. it does have ALOT less handling noise, my feeling is that the rotating head/grill assembly on the 57 transfers minute vibrations. As far as output, it is about the same as the 57 i paired it against, but it takes EQ and FX better. Up close it has a more pronounced proximity effect than a 57, but it doesnt have the 'telephone-esque' sound that the 57 has, and therefore, sounds quite pleasant..it might even make a nice kick drum mic. Feature: This mic is my new best friend. Its sounds like a 57...except not. At first glance(or touch) it is noticebly heavier and more rugged than a 57, and being that it has an all metal shell, it could probably withstand a hard hit from a drummer or a drop to the floor much better too. Quality: obviously more rugged than a 57, all metal shell, less handling noise. and it sounds good too! Value: if you like 57's, you'll like this mic.....if not, then you probably arent reading this review. Manufacturer Support: not needed. The Wow Factor: perhaps i will buy one or two more, to supplement my 57 collection. as far as sex appeal goes, your kinky girlfriend might enjoy it.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15TX-L8C1. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!