800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1422-DHNC
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Applause AE128

The Applause AE128 offers great sound for a great price. The Applause AE128's super shallow bowl makes it especially easy to play.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
What do you think? Rate and Review This Product
| | |

"it's all good.." submitted March 15, 2006

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: rock, country, blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Sounds great and projects well. Although I bought it to play through an amp, it's plenty loud unplugged. Cam with good quality strings. Action was perfect for me - low, no fret buzz. For action, you can adjust bridge height with shims if desired, or of course adjust the truss rod. Feature: as listed in the specs. Came with a allen wrench for the truss rod. For $200 delivered, I'm not expecting too many freebies. Ease of Use: out of the box, this was the most playable guitar I've bought. I would say the frets are 'medium' size. the neck has a basic finish, which makes it very easy to slide your hand on - no sticky laquer. came with a very brief manual describing adjutment methods. Quality: Made in china...but no problems. Better QC than a Korean guitar I just got for a similar price. No finish flaws or anything else. Comes with a tag/checklist the QC inspector signs...maybe that makes a difference. Value: Well - there is a lot of chinese made stuff out there in this price category. And when you consider the 'bowl' is made of some sort of plastic... Having said that, I think given the level of quality, it's a good value. I wouldn't call it a steal, as I've seen no-name similar guitars for 25% less. Manufacturer Support: applause doesn't have much of a web site, just a 2 page pdf which is out of date on the Kaman web site - which in today's age I'd say is pretty lame. haven't had a need to contact them though. The Wow Factor: Im glad I bought it, it's a good quality guitar - nothing super special though. I wanted an acoutstic - elec for the collection... Overall: for an inexpensive acoustic electric, I think it's a great product. Good sound, great playability.
62 of 64 people (96.88%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Electric guitar guys/gals looking to plays some acoustic Buy this guitar! Acoustic guitar guys looking to plug in Buy this guit" submitted January 2, 2006

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Metal, Classical, Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound was better than expected acoustic, exactly what I was looking for, couldn't beat the price with a stick! Still on an amp hunt. Feature: Like a case. Live on Florida coast, have to leave quickly sometimes. Quality: No blems, product is way better looking in person than on the site. Very happy, beautiful guitar. I love these guy's guitars. Value: Yes. Manufacturer Support: Didn't need any support whole order went perfect. The Wow Factor: It's a piece of art. Great color, sounds like it looks....sweet. Overall: Ehhh. It's a keeper. Would probably do a higher end Ovation in the future.
7 of 7 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Simple and Amazing!!!" submitted June 20, 2007

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Gigging Musician
Music Style: Sof Rock and Rock type stuff
Back to Product Information
Sound: it sounds great! The high ends sound amazing on this $200 beauty. The two problems with this guitar is that it has slight buzzing on the G string if you play really really hard (don't play really really hard) and the other thing is it sounds slightly better when it is plugged in then when it is unplugged. Feature: This guitar did not come with any accessories. The only thing i would like to have on this guitar is an on-board tuner. But it is a $200 guitar so i got my moneys worth and more! Ease of Use: The controls are very simple...it has only a 3 band equalizer so it is easy! Quality: For $200 this guitar is made perfect! I wonder why this product is more expensive. Well made, the plastic back is sturdy, and the tuner heads are very precise! Value: YES Manufacturer Support: Have not needed it! The Wow Factor: it is a very pretty guitar (i have the ruby red)! The pictures do absolutely no justice...If you really want to see it in person before buying it, go to a music store who has this guitar and check it out! Overall: A++
20 of 21 people (95.24%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Good value for an acoustic-electric." submitted November 17, 2009

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: Sounds much better than the Fender/Squier stratacoustic I previously owned. Haven't plugged it in yet, but I'm optimistic. I jokingly called the stratacoustic a "guitarkelele," because when unplugged, it almost sounded like a steel string ukelele. The ovation has a louder and richer sound when unplugged. I'm pleased that I can play with a pick - or pluck the strings - and hear myself well. Feature: As with most reviews here, my guitar came with just an allen key for adjusting the truss rod. A built-in tuner would have been nice (the stratacoustic had one) - but I really don't mind. Overall, it seems like a sturdy guitar - but I won't be thrashing it on the ground any time soon. Mine came with D'Addario strings, and they sound tasty. Ease of Use: Pulled it out of the box, tuned it, and started playing. Haven't messed around with the electronics yet, so I unfortunately don't have any useful information about that yet. Quality: Unless the electronics randomly stop working (I'm looking at you, Squier), I would have no problem taking this out and about. Then again, it IS my first Ovation. Value: I might have picked this over the stratacoustic (*glare*) if I had seen it then. I payed the same amount for both. Manufacturer Support: Just got it today, so no comment. As an aside, I understand there is practically no support for this product - but other users seem unperturbed, since there has been no need to contact support. I hope my experience is the same. The Wow Factor: People might be put off by the plastic/composite body - but I'm fine with it. I happen to have a thing for black guitars too - so this fits right with my color scheme.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Nice Little Starter/2nd Guitar!" submitted April 14, 2008

By a customer from sbcglobal.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Blues/Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Due to the "shallow" bowl on this guitar, it tends to sound more "trebly" than many acoustic-electrics. When plugged into an amp, you can make it sound like a solid-body if you want!(Having had previous experience with Ovation guitars, I expected this type of sound.) I'm using mine with a Hughes + Kettner Edition Blue 15DFX, which gives me a huge range of tones from a very clean to a really raunchy overdrive. Feature: The guitar comes with a truss rod wrench, and that's it. Ease of Use: The neck is very similar to a solid body guitar. It's nicely finished with a satin - type finish, so your thumb moves very easily. Mine was set up with a low - to medium string height out of the box, with a set of acceptable medium-gauge strings. Intonation was okay, with no string "buzz". I bought this guitar to re-learn how to play - I played for 12-15 years when I was younger, including 4 years as a pro, then stopped completely. I recently decided to "get back into it" and teach myself some acoustic blues. This guitar does well for playing slide the way it's presently set! The pickup can give you a deeper sound, or a steely "Elmore James" tone when running through an amp. It's a very comfortable guitar to play when using a strap. That's one of the advantages of Applause/Ovation guitars with the rounded back. Quality: My guitar was made in Indonesia. The finish is very nice, no nicks or scratches. It does appear to be thick on the top, and is very shiney. The neck is a satin finish as said earlier. Frets are "medium", and are nicely done. The tuners are Ovation, and seem to be an imitation of Gotohs. They work quite well and I haven't had any problems with staying in tune. The electronics work well, and are very basic - bass,midrange, and treble, along with a volume knob. There's a "low battery" indicator LED. The battery compartment is also on the top, and allows very easy battery changes. (I haven't had the guitar long enough to have any indication of what the battery usage will be.) Value: I'd say the price is right on this guitar, if not a "bargain"! I've had numerous "name brand" guitars in the past, and I was surprised and happy to find that the quality of this guitar was top notch. I'd say the only real "compromises" I could find were the two-piece top and the rather thick finish on the top. (I don't really know how this affects the tone yet.) Manufacturer Support: Haven't needed any. The Wow Factor: This is the perfect guitar for my present usage. I plan on getting a solid-body later this year, but the neck and setup is great for me to re-build my finger strength and practice without setting up the amp. (I frequently practice scales while watching TV!) Overall: This guitar will last me a long time in its present role of practice/jamming acoustic. This is a good acoustic for people who are used to playing electric guitar, as the neck is very similar is an electric. That is one of the reasons I bought it, having played Ovations in the past and liking them. If it was ever stolen, I'd probably buy another one. I'd like to get the action lowered a little, but if I continue to play around with slide, it's at a nice height where it is now!
10 of 11 people (90.91%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"WHAT A GREAT SURPRISE! KUDOS OVATION & ZZ ..." submitted November 6, 2013

By john battalino
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 45 years - Fender Strat / Martin /Ovation
Music Style: ragie blues rock ballads
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I purchased an ONLINE Applause Ovation AE128 from ZZ for the first time in 45 years of playing guitar. I needed a new travel companion guitar that was inexpensive and relIable. I went to ZZ Sounds and was amazed at their ease of purchase and delivery. I went with free shipping not expecting very quick delivery - yet received my Guitar within 4 days ... amazing! KUDOS to you ZZounds & Ovation ... ps- i have played to long gigs last week and my Ovation was fantastic - it actually kept tune in the blistering sun after 2 hours of work ... love this guitar! THANKS ZZ ...
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome guitar " submitted January 5, 2014

By Robert George in Skaneateles, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I'm an on and off guitar player for 40 years
Music Style: Basic oldies
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Don't think twice about buying this guitar. Just get it. You won't be sorry. It's so easy to play. I bought the red/wine color and it's a beautiful thing to look at let alone play. Anyways I'm very happy with my purchase and you will be too.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome Guitar Value ~" submitted October 19, 2013

By John Battalino
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 40 YEARS ...
Music Style: ALL STYLES HAVE MUCH TO TEACH ...
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Ovations have been at my side for over 20 years ... if you need a run-around light weight (electric if needed) stay in tune rich tone fireside serenader - Acustic Guitar - this applause is the perfect companion ... right out of the box and only because of zz sounds return policy would i even consider this type of purchase ... but i can't say enough about the overall experience ... thanks OVATION & ZZ ... peace/light/love
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Get it before the Price goes Up Up uP Up!!!!" submitted July 12, 2005

By a customer from citlink.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 22 Years Guitarist yes active & Pro Recording Engineer, I take bands in to teach & Record there albums
Music Style: ALL BUT COUNTRY & RAP
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: GREAT SOUND FOR THIS GUITAR,EVEN THOUGH ITS NOT A $1,000.00 GUITAR,ITS AWSOME FROM ON OR OFF THE AMP! NO FEED BACK WHAT SO EVER & I PLAY ON A FLEXTONE III XL COMBO AMP WITH POD XT BY LINE6 THAT POWERS TWO CRATE CABINETS AT FULL THROTTLE FOR MY BAND "STEEL ROCKER" AND ALSO THE KEYS ON THIS GUITAR HOLD THE TUNING GREAT,PLAYED 10 SONGS AND NEVER EVEN HAD TO FINE TUNE. Feature: THIS IS THE ONLY THING IT DIDNT EVEN COME WITH AN EXTRA PACK OF STRINGS? WHICH EVERY GUITAR I HAVE EVER BOUGHT USUALY DOES? BUT IT DID COME WITH THE ALEN WRENCH FOR THE KNECK. Quality: GUITAR IS VERY WELL PUT TOGETHER,TUNING KEYS ARE TIGHT DOEASNT LOSE TUNING LIKE I SAID BEFORE. NO BLEMISHES IN THE ONE I BOUGHT{BLK}. FRET BOARD IS STRAIGHT AND THE STRING ACTION IS PERFECT LOW TO THE KNECK WITH NO BUZZING,BUT IT ALL DEPENDS ON A GOOD PLAYER TO KEEP HIS OR HER GUITAR IN GREAT SHAPE.FOR ONE THING KEEP ACOUSTIC GUITARS IN A HARD SHELLED CASE TO PROTECT AGAINST THE WEATHER,AND AFTER EVERY USE OF PLAYING WIPE YOUR GUITAR DOWN WITH A SHAMY CLOTH AND I PREFER DUNLOP65 GUITAR POLISH CLEANERFOR THE BODY,PROVIDES A LONG LASTING GREAT SHINE.[NEVER USE A REGULAR TOWEL TO CLEAN WITH,IT SCRATCHES THE GLOSS,I HAVE 3 GUITARS AND ALL OF THEM STILL PLAY AND LOOK THE SAME AS WHEN I PURCHASED THEM 5 YEARS AGO AND 1 22 YEARS AGO.MECHANICAL PARTS ARE VERY STRONG AND ALL TIGHT.AND YES I WILL TAKE THIS GUITAR OUT ON THE ROAD NEXT ALBUM COMING OUT!GO TO www.davidsbaseballcards.com and listen to my music for a Demonstration of this and my other Guitars. Value: yes very much! Manufacturer Support: never had to call them yet,this product is well constucted,and im sure that it will not stay this price for ever it will go up since its made by Ovation. GET IT NOW While you can. The Wow Factor: Great looks,cut away for easy reaching of the upper fretboard,the rounded backing for that not so bulky backing that makes it uncomfortable like other box Guitars. sits on your lap Beautifuly or stand up with the strap on? both ways are great. Overall: It will last me forever i hope ? I take great care of my musical equipment as any musician should? If you dont than your not a true Player,and youll end up being a junk collector instead. but im always on the lookout for great buys and more musical equipment for my studio.AND THERES NOTHING I DONT LIKE ABOUT IT SO FAR
10 of 12 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"great Guitar fro the price" submitted October 29, 2013

By a customer from att.net in Atascadero, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 40 years ...
Back to Product Information
Overall: I must say i was EXTREMELY PLEASED with this Applause AE128 .. as a long time Ovation Owner i would highly recommend the Applause 128 for value and fine tone - and thank you ZZ sounds for your continued professional support ...
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Applause AE128 Acoustic-Electric Guitar " submitted September 11, 2013

By Tony N in Williamston, SC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing for about 14 yrs
Music Style: Christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The Guitar sounds great and looks great
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Cannot beat the price for this guitar or ZZounds service and shipping!!!" submitted February 25, 2010

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Rock/country/alternative
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I ordered this guitar on Monday afternoon and it was in my living room on Tuesday afternoon. ZZounds free shipping is AWESOME!!! And super fast! The guitar sounds fantastic unplugged. I'll be plugging it in this weekend at practice. I'm sure it will sound great because I've played the same model before. Feature: Basic guitar so I wasn't looking for cup holders. Very happy with it so far. Ease of Use: Strums and sounds excellent. Great sustain unplugged. Quality: Looks and feels great. Value: For $199 delivered...you can't beat the price and value. Manufacturer Support: ??? Overall: I'll keep this guitar as my "Beater" guitar for a long long time. Play a few songs in our shows...hit the beach with it...play around the camfire. It's gonna be around for quite a while.
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great value for entry level. Cant use live if volume of PA is very loud (feedback on lows)" submitted December 1, 2009

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Very light, solid, sounds pretty good. Ease of Use: Plug and play Quality: Very well finished Value: Worth 200 bucks Manufacturer Support: No idea The Wow Factor: Not sexy and the main drawback is the electronics. They pick up way too much ambiant noise and if your pa is loud, your guitar will feedback. THAT is why this guitar is 200 dollars. IF you want to play proffesionaly you need better mic electronics. However recording and rehearsing OK I suppose.
4 of 8 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1422-DHNC. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X
ALL ACCESS PASS
5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER
  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $49+

Just $2.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!