800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 205-4M4G
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM

Rating and Reviews: Ampeg SCR-DI Bass DI

Dial in a wide range of Ampeg tones as you take your bass to the mixing board. You can even mix in some crunch, thanks to the built-in Scrambler overdrive.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"A Worthy Investment." submitted July 30, 2015

By Kelly B in Dothan, AL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing bass for 11 years, and am a session artist.
Music Style: Christian, Soft Rock, Jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Using just as a D.I., your sound is clean and clear with no degradation of tone. When you engage the amp modeling side, you can dial in everything from a fat, chunky Motown B15 warmth (dial in a little scrambler to create the tube break-up), or dial in the clean and bright sounds that lend an ear to a Marcus Milleresk tone. The scrambler side goes from a subtle buzz of tubes breaking up to the full on fuzz of Geezer Butler doing the bass intro of N.I.B. Feature: I found the aux plugs fascinating. You can plug your iPhone direct into the pedal and play along with songs you are working on, a feature on the bulky and expensive multi effects processor. Match that with the headphones jack, and you have the ultimate in practice machines. Ease of Use: This D.I. is well labeled, easy to read, and very intuitive. If you can operate the most basic amp plate, this will be a breeze. It will operate on batteries (9V). I would recommend getting a 9V power cable with plug. It will chew up a regular battery in 4 hrs. of use. Quality: This pedal is solid and sturdy. Switches have great snap. The pedal could use a guard, or barrier for the knobs. I could see where you might accidentally bump one during the excitement of a gig. Value: For the features, tone, adaptability to any board, style, environment I don't know of anything close to this pedal. Quality from start to finish. Even if you don't think you need a D.I. or a pedal...you need this. Manufacturer Support: It's Ampeg, They have come a long way from 6 years ago, when they didn't care about their customer, but the value of their name. The R&D department nailed it with this D.I. I called them, just to see, and they were very helpful. As far as Zzounds, they are awesome. No complaints on either front. The Wow Factor: Completely blown away. My band mates were stunned, and understood my elation. I don't know that I have ever been this satisfied with any other piece of gear. And that's making a statement, as I love all my equipment. Overall: I needed a D.I. box, but I wanted something with character. It takes me years of research to buy something, I'm careful with my investments. When these hit NAMM this year, they created such a buzz and caught my attention. I am a professional, and have friends that are very in demand players. After consulting with them, as they had hands on with the Scrambler D.I., I decided to go ahead and pull the trigger. Was I ever glad. The features are insane, the sound and functionality left me giddy. Seriously, one of the best investments ever.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"ampeg scr-di" submitted May 7, 2015

By Tron Price in marysville, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: bass
Music Style: Rock and blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Excellent product worth every penny and more. I'm getting some beautiful sounds from it. Ill be using this for many yrs.If you order this, be sure to get the 9 volt wall adapter. Batteries don't last long.
8 of 8 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"SCR-DI" submitted March 31, 2016

By Allen F in Wakefield, MA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Jam (and lots of practice) at home
Music Style: Mainly rock, some country ... ProgRock in my dreams :)
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I ordered this just for practicing with headphones. I've tried those smaller pocket sized headphone amps, but those aren't all that great. I couldn't really even get a good tone out of my bass amp's headphone output. It was ok, but not really good. The SCR-DI sounds great, and I got a pair of 32 ohm headphones to get enough volume. (My 60 ohm headphones weren't loud enough on the bass amp...). I also ordered the Boss PSA-120S adapter, after reading the other reviews here. No horrible noises at all, apparently a low battery is the cause of that. I highly recommend getting an adapter! The volume control for the aux input is a nice touch, something most headphone amps (and bass amps) don't have. I can turn it down quicker without clicking things on the computer to lower the line-out volume. I'm not a big fan of effects, and don't really use the Scrambler much, but it gives some decent distortion with the Blend knob turned way down. As of yet, I don't need the DI output, but it's there if I ever join a band. I haven't used it, so no idea how it sounds. I sometimes plug the Line Out into the effect return on my Fender Rumble 100, gives me a new amp! It's great during the day when I can make noise. The only negative, and a minor one maybe, is the internal jumper to set it for active or passive bass. I have one of each, so I'm putting together an attenuator for the active bass, so I don't have to open up the SCR-DI and move the jumper. An external switch would have been a good thing to have. Other than that, I love this thing, sounds great, even with headphones.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Perfect for cleaning up my signal" submitted October 4, 2016

By Christian A in Port Jervis, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing Bass for 14 years, I jam at home, I'm also part of a praise and worship group
Music Style: Funk, Latin Jazz, Rock, Metal, Alternative Rock, Pop
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The pedal has a buffered sound. When not using the preamp, you'll need to use another pedal to boost volume levels. That said, I love the tone stack. The SVT sound really comes through. I really like the way my bass sounds through it. Can't really say if the tone stack "colors" the bass tone. For my style and my current bass set up in praise and worship (Yamaha TRBX305 with Aguilar Super Doubles and a Seymour Duncan STC-3P), I begin with my EQ set to noon. If I'm using a lot of finger style that day, I'll boost the mids to about 1 or 2 o clock, and sometimes the bass to about 1 o clock. For slap and funk tones, I like to set the bass and treble to 1 o clock. and mids at noon. Feature: I love that I can use it as a practice amp. We went through some struggles recently and had to get rid of a fender halfstack and found myself with nothing to practice with. This pedal made practice possible. I'm not really a fan of the overdrive circuit, and currently have a love/hate relationship with it. The ultra-hi and lo settings are interesting. I don't use the ultra hi boost, but the ultra low I'll use with overdrive to help make up for any bottom end I lose. Sometimes I'll use it too if I need thick bass for something slow but epic. My only wish is that I could have slightly better EQ controls, specifically with the mids, maybe a parametric sweep, or even a switch with preset frequencies. Ease of Use: Very easy to use. Beware, if you put a battery into it, it will buffer your signal even if it's off. I really like that I can unscrew the back pack without the use of tools of any kinds. The rubber pads underneath are designed to also function as thumb screws, very easy to take off and replace, which makes replacing batteries on the fly a very simple task. Quality: The pedal feels heavy and tough, but I cannot yet speak on it's reliability although it hasn't failed yet. Value: It's expensive but worth it. The Wow Factor: No real wow factor. It is a nice solid pedal but nothing crazy or particularly special about it. Overall: I love this pedal. My purpose for purchasing this pedal was to improve my bass tone. I figured the best way was to look for something I could use to split my signal between the stage amp and the house system at my church. I'm not a fan of the stage rig we use, so this pedal allows me to bypass the rig. The best part was the added unexpected bonus of total ground noise elimination! For some reason, utilizing the XLR output from the amp head to the house resulted in ungodly amounts of noise. I now get a cleaner signal to the house and can better control my volume (the stage rig is very old and has sensitive volume controls).
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"SCR-DI" submitted September 15, 2015

By Lonnie James in Dallas, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing guitar/bass since I was 11. Been in Bands since High School.
Music Style: Rock, Metal...Punk, maybe some alturnative Rock, and maybe some classic Rock, and maybe some pop Rock just enough to keep my cho
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Right now I use it for practicing. I plug my guitar into my Hot Rod Plexi and run that through my Boss EQ and Reverb pedel. I plug my ipod into the aux in, then plug in my headphones and away I go...Private Practice ! Love It !!!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I may have an defective unit" submitted September 21, 2015

By Carroll Bond in Raleigh, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Nice and loud. Kinda old school but nice. The only problem is my ERA control did not work Feature: ERA control not working Ease of Use: Easy just take some time dialing it in Quality: Real nice pedal. I just wished it worked correctly Value: If it worked as advertised it would be worth every penny. At least I think so from the sound examples on YouTube Manufacturer Support: I didn't contact them The Wow Factor: It looks nice and has a nice sound that my other pedals don't do. So it wowed me so what Overall: I never had the ability to try this pedal so I watched every YouTube video I could and read every review that I found. The pedal hissed a lot even when tried 2 different power supplies. I could get pass that but the ERA control everyone was raving about didn't do anything to change the tone like in the YouTube vids. So I had was EQ and an overdrive sound if I cranked up the drive control. I think that this may be a defective unit but if it isn't it's not for me. I like the sound of the pedal. It has an old school type vibe and its loud but I need more tone shaping that the ERA control is suppose to provide. I will be returning this unit
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"It was great when it wasn't screaming" submitted September 22, 2015

By Cecil W in Queen Creek, AZ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing bass for 40 years, primarily C&W and light rock, but now only play for my church.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I received my first SCR-DI on a Thursday. Used it that night and loved. I went to use it Saturday night and all it would do is scream! It was like a loud capacitor discharge. I changed cables, basses, and everything I could think of and could not stop it. I called ZZOUNDS and exchanged it for another one. This one did the same thing right out of the box. I wished it had been OK. I really enjoyed using it the first night. ZZounds was GREAT dealing with it!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Typical Ampeg" submitted September 4, 2015

By Julian R in Albany, GA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been a drummer for 30 years, and occasionally change it up to different instruments.
Music Style: Rock, Oldies, Christian, etc.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: It's what I expect from Ampeg! Quality, and great features. I was originally going to buy a mixer to blend my bass and iphone/pc for practice. I was digging around for something that foots the bill when I found this item! I ordered it quickly (and got it quickly). From a build standpoint, this this is heavy (read: rugged). The pots all feel smooth and the footswitches are solid. The sound is exactly what you expect from a company that specializing in a niche market. COMPLAINT: I did not know that AMPEG offers the power adapter (model # 2045758-00 for U.S.), and so I ordered a Boss PSA-120S, which was recommended by another user. The Boss works fine, but being a purist, I wish I had know earlier that I could order one by Ampeg. REALLY, it should not be an issue. All in all, great product! I am GOING to recommend this product!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"AMPEG (AMPEG)" submitted October 3, 2015

By Julian R in Albany, GA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Serious drummer. Novice bass player.
Music Style: Rock, Christian, other.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I was looking to buy several devises to mix signal and bass into headphones. This was a 'one size fits all' device for me. The sound is pure and clear. The thing is built like a tank. This is an AMPEG DI box/processor. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles of other brands, but if you after that AMPEG tone, here you go!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 205-4M4G. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!