800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 16HL-737G
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Alvarez AP66 Parlor

This parlor-sized acoustic guitar offers charming vintage looks, easy playability, and crystal-clear tones for performers and hobbyists alike.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Great Guitar" submitted January 15, 2014

By Terry B in Caro, MI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've played guitar since 1972.
Music Style: Folk and blues.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The mahogany top gives this guitar a sound closer to the old ladder braced guitars of the 30's, which is great for fingerpicking blues and folk music. It's a 'clearer' sound but there are still nice, very well balanced harmonics, making it even better than the old ones. But it definately is not a dreadnaught sound. Feature: The simple abalone inlay around the soundhole is beautiful. The lack of inlays on the fingerboard makes it looks classy in my opinion. There are dots on the side of the neck. The overall color and finish is very nice. Ease of Use: I put 13's (mediums) on this guitar right away. The 12's that came on it sounded kind of thin, almost cheap. 13's produce a little more bass and give an overall richer sound. It was easy to change the strings. The low action makes it easy to play. The body shape is great, it fits in my lap nicely. Quality: VERY nice high quality construction and finish. When you look at the details, like the bridge, the nut, the braces inside, the straightness of the neck, and the fret ends, you know this guitar was made under strict supervision. Value: It seems like this guitar could, and should, sell for $500 at least. Manufacturer Support: Haven't dealt with the company. The Wow Factor: The longer body (meets the neck at the 12th fret) and the simple sound hole, combined with a great looking finish and that cool slotted headstock give this guitar a wow factor of 11. Overall: This is a solid, nice playing, great looking guitar. I wanted a guitar for fingerpicking and occasional strumming. This is it. The neck width is a little wider and the neck a little thicker than a lot of acoustic guitars. I like this. I gives me something to hang on to and the strings don't feel cramped.
9 of 9 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Alaverz AP66 Parlor Guitar" submitted February 23, 2014

By TOM W in NEW MADRID, MO
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 7th grade.
Music Style: country, rock, blues....
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Great little guitar. Plays great and sounds great. Well constructed and finished. Action was great right out of the box. Sings. Great guitar for the money!!
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Alvarez AP66SB" submitted January 6, 2014

By Brian K in Virginia Beach, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Martin, Alvarez Yairi and this little Parlor Guitar/ More poorly than I'd like.
Music Style: Chillwave Ragtime right
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Very Nice little guitar. Mine came without the pick guard which I kind of like. In my opinion it sounds better dropped down a half step. It arrived a lot faster than I expected. Over all a very good experience with ZZsounds.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Love it, and I'm a Taylor "snob"" submitted May 15, 2014

By Robert B in Amherst, NH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 50 years acoustic guitar
Music Style: folk/acoustic country/Christian
Back to Product Information
Overall: Got one of these about a month ago and can't put it down. I have always wanted a parlor size guitar which Taylor does not have in its offering. I own several Taylor guitars and I love them all but for this short amount of money, this is a great guitar. Since it does not come with a case I ordered a Road Runner classical guitar case (polyfoam) and it fits like a glove, I had my guitar tech install a Dean Markley soundhole pickup for quick plug in and retro sound. Ready to hit the farmer's markets this summer in vintage style!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Alvarez AP66 Parlor Acoustic Guitar" submitted April 14, 2014

By Thomas Greenhalge in Westminster, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is an excellent parlor size guitar, with all Mahogany top, back and sides. It sounds and plays great. Tone is very even through out the range, without being overly bright.Overall construction is very clean and well executed. The finish is a beautiful vintage sunburst.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"very nice" submitted April 27, 2014

By tom zane in wimberley, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 25+ years picking and still learn something here and there.
Music Style: classic rock mostly..
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: slightly alrger than a seagull parlor, this guitar is very well appointed..plays well, full rich sound..I would say that it can hold its own with parlor guitars that cost several thousand- of course there is a difference but for the money, this one isn't bad at all..I have several expensive acoustics but they are a bit fragile..this guitar is sturdy and lets face it, if something happens to it, it is only $350- so you can move on easily..a $3000 martin loss is bit harder to live with..I give this one an overall 4 star- I prefer a bit luighter finish on the top just because I think you get more natural wood sound resonance..but this guitar is a keeper all the way.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Alvarez ap66" submitted May 4, 2014

By Michael N in Mercer, ND
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: rock n blues
Back to Product Information
Overall: This is my new favorite. the action is great, the tone is much better than expected . I like the slotted head stock. The body size is perfect. I was skeptical about "made in China" but was pleasantly surprised with the quality. The neck width is great. I think I made the best choice at this price for a parlor guitar. Zzounds shipped fast!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Alvarez ap66sb" submitted August 28, 2014

By Chris R in Los Angeles, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing for 22 years
Music Style: Rock, blues, jazz.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Great parlor guitar for the money. Many musicians buy the name, and others buy quality. This is one of those guitars that you just can't put down. It Sounds clean. it's tone is much better than other guitars I tried more than double it's price before ordering from it zzounds.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 16HL-737G. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!