800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20B-MXB8
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM

Rating and Reviews: Alesis DM7X Session

Improve your drumming skills and technique with the Alesis DM7X module's metronome, built-in learning mode, and 60 play-along music tracks.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Alesis DM7X Session Kit" submitted March 11, 2014

By T J in EL Dorado, AR
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar player for many years.
Music Style: Rock, Blues, Metal & Country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I am a guitar player, but have always wanted a drum kit to learn on. This was a great choice. Very easy to set up and very easy to dial in your favorite sounds. It seems well built and sturdy. I would recommend this kit to anyone wanting to enjoy playing without having to spend a fortune or getiing kicked out of the neighborhood.
6 of 6 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Kit" submitted February 9, 2015

By William W in Paris, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Drums/Guitar/Keyboard
Music Style: rock/alt/progressive/metal/jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Perfect for the practicing drummer that does not wish to have the authorities called for noise complaints! Compact kit-fits just about anywhere. Great sounds - easily customized to fit your style of playing. Every once in a while pads can be triggered elsewhere then the one that you are currently playing on. The triggering is not really audible in any way, but you can see that it is being triggered because of the indicator lights on the module. In no way is it a con. It is not noticeable.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great practice tool!" submitted April 1, 2014

By Kent H in jasper, GA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30 yrs
Music Style: rock country blues electronic
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: quality,fit and finish as described.90% of samples are color hits,ect.the 10% are very real and make it fun to practice on,and may be good enough for some quality recordings.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Avoid" submitted June 10, 2015

By Aaron B in Indianapolis, IN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Home studio musician with 20 years experience
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Out of the box, the hi-hat pedal was a problem. Even the minutest of pressure changes will register as opening the control and interrupt your steady groove with an unexpected hi-hat splash. It's very distracting. I have found I can manage it some by setting my foot directly on the top of the control rather than having it angled along the pedal like you normally would. With my foot right above the trigger pressing down, the control mostly stays locked closed. I'd also note that I emailed Alesis about this issue. After several days, they did respond and offered to replace the pedal if I paid return shipping costs. As it sounds like the problem is universal to the system, I didn't feel like paying and losing my pedal for a month. Their customer service response time is SLOW!Within my first week of owning the kit a slight groove under the hi-hat pad developed where it rubs against the joint connecting it to its support. So far it’s held up, but it’s definitely a sign of easy wear and tear.After about 6 months of mild home studio use, the USB port died for no discernible reason. I've tried a few cables with a few computers in a couple of DAWs to try to eliminate the possibility that it's anything other than a problem with the unit, and everything points back to the DM7x just being faulty. Pretty sad to have a kit for only 6 months suddenly lose what to me is its primary function, outputting MIDI via USB to my laptop. I've patched it by using a MIDI to USB converter in the MIDI IN/OUT sockets on the DM7X module, but this isn't ideal.And then after a year of fairly tame home studio use, the hi-hat cymbal pad lost all ability to sense hits near the edge of the pad. This is where I strike the hi-hat most often. I've switched the pad with what was serving as the crash pad because I use the crash the least and tend to hit it much more toward the center of the pad. That's serviceable as a way to keep this jalopy running, but it's the equivalent of a duct tape fix. If I had a Rock Band toy drum kit that broke after a year of use, I wouldn't hold it against the toy manufacturer so much. The DM7X is priced and marketed as an intro kit, but not a toy. It is supposed to be a playable, real (if virtual) instrument. Losing multiple major functions after one year of light to moderate use fixed in one location in a home studio is unacceptable. I would HIGHLY recommend you look for a different kit if you have any desire to continue playing it after the 1st year and especially if you plan on really taking the kit out anywhere or playing with Dave Grohl-ish ferocity. I've done neither of those latter two things and still have had the kit quickly fall apart to be almost completely useless.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Dm6 usb electronic drum set" submitted September 10, 2015

By Chris b in Saratoga springs, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I'm a drummer / guitar player,I have been playing for 15 years,and I'm playing bass and harmonica.
Music Style: i like rock hardcore classic rock and blues.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: i purchased an alesis pro kit from your site,I have used it for live shows parties and band practice.It has withstood all the use and never an issue I recommend getting the 7x
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Alesis DMX7" submitted March 31, 2014

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Awesome kit...takes up very little space. Sounds and plays great ...
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Hi-Hat Pedal Is a Dud" submitted July 8, 2014

By Aaron B in Indianapolis, IN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I'm a home recording artist who's been in bands in the past and played guitar for 20 years or so.
Music Style: Whatever suits my fancy
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This kit mostly works. You hit a pad and get a drum sound. I'm not a fan of Alesis proprietary "snake cables" that all end in one connection. Without separate connections into the module, if one branch of the cable breaks, they're all toast. The biggest problem I've encountered so far is the hi-hat pedal. It's SUPER sensitive. I've learned to open and close it with my big toe rather than foot. And that's all it takes to register as open or closed, the minute movement of a big toe. Forget getting reliable performance in shoes! Other reviewers on other sites have noted this problem, so I don't think it's just that I have an oddball faulty unit.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Alesis DM7X Session Electronic Drum Set " submitted April 1, 2014

By T J in , AR
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 45+ years of playing guitar, bass guitar and other stringed instruments. Mostly play at home for fun.
Music Style: Rock, blues & some country.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Excellent kit for small spaces. Great sound, tons of choices and very enjoyable to play. I am not a drummer, but have always wanted to learn, and with limited space and the ability to play quietly, this was the perfect choice for me. Easy set up and very well made. I am very happy with the DM7X Session kit. zZounds is the only online store I will make major musical purchases from. Every experience I've had with zZounds has been great!
1 of 3 people (33.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20B-MXB8. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!