800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20L-HXVG
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM

Rating and Reviews: Akai MPC Renaissance

Build beats with genuine MPC pads, and sequence 128 tracks on your Mac or PC, with the MPC Renaissance hardware controller and its fully integrated MPC software.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Akai MPC Renaissance " submitted January 7, 2014

By Sean Johnson in Nashville, TN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 27 Yr Vet I Play Keys Horns And MPC/Maschine
Music Style: Hip-Hop ,Trap .Dub Step ,RnB ,POP ,Urban
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The Renaissance is Super Hot the work flow is the best and if you use HQ Drums it has a sound like never before it comes with plenty of sounds drums ,samples & VST Instruments And More It's Well Worth the Buy I Love It Oh ! ! ! And The Vintage Mode Is The Truth This Controller Works Just Like The Traditional MPC Stand Alone Units Work Flow Wise And Then Some And With The Power Of Your Computer PC Or MAC It's Really What's Up DJ Sean Legend "The Beat Cannon" Of MTS MUSIC GROUP /Trax-R-Us Soundlab Studios Nashville ,TN
8 of 8 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"From a MPC Veteran" submitted May 17, 2013

By Alfred Taylor in Roosevelt, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hip Hop producer, Emcee, DJ. Been doing it for over 30 years..
Music Style: Hip Hop, R-n-B, mainly
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have owned every machine from the original Roland 808 to the Maschine. I recieved the Ren yesterday from zzounds (very quick delivery). I have been on it for about 12 hours straight (Took off of work today) and I must say that I am in love all over again. The Maschine made me smile but the work flow made me feel like I was just using a computer. The Sequencer and pads were missing that little spice that creates the difference between a good cook and a master chef. The Ren has rekindled my love for beat making as the Serato did my love for DJing. Even though the maschine is a great thing, I still felt the need to keep my mpc 2000xl because the work flow just made producing fun. It forced you to be creative. The Ren takes computer beat making and traditional outerboard production and fuses it together. The sequencer is dead on. I have an i7 with 8 gigs of ram and its seemless. The key pads feel like the MPC as you would expect but you can naturally change velocity and such. The thing that I love and hate about the Ren is that I have the M-Audio fast track 8 interface which is damn good, but the ASIO driver in the Ren is actually more plush believe it or not. I have everything running through the Ren as my fast track sits there fearful of collecting dust. To the MPC lovers out there that are wondering if this product is worth the money - Take it from someone who is a straight studio rat on the hip hop / R-n-B tip, this is the new flavor. Others will come out and have things this doesn't but just like back in the days, there were machines before the MPC - there were machines after it. Some had less options and were cheaper, some had more and were more expensive. It was something about the MPC that caught your eye and heart similar to that young lady that you loved but let get away. Something made you keep the MPC close. This is a great moment in time for me because me and my MPC when our separate ways but now she is back in town, she lost some weight, she learned how to do some new things and she still loves me. So now... We play... **Warning... If you are a computer producer who never learned how to make beats the pure way we did once upon a time, you may be overwhelmed by this product. Creativity is earned... not learned***
66 of 68 people (97.06%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Best MPC Ever?" submitted November 9, 2014

By Jay B in Pleasant Hill, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 12 years keyboards
Music Style: Hip Hop
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The audio interface is viable. I use my old reliable DIGI audio interface for analog to digital conversion, but I do use the Rennaisance's outputs and love the sound. The vintage modes do add unique color to he outputs. Feature: With the new 1.7 release of the software there are dozens of great useful features. The most useful will probably be "Track Explode" where you can make a drum pattern on one track, and once you're finished you can track explode which will create a new track for each drum sound. Also program automation is a pretty sweet feature. Ease of Use: The hybrid synth that comes with the new update or release of the software is top notch..great sounds. The Akai VST instruments I rarely use, but they have a few useable instrument samples. There's more than enough filters and a viable mod matrix to create great samples. Quality: This controller is built like a tank. Very detailed and well thought out. It's a very comfortable controller. I can make beats on this thing all day. Value: its a high end controller combined with a viable audio interface, and top notch software after the 1.7 release. It's worth the price. There's always the more economical MPC Studio as an option, but as an owner of both, the Ren blows the Studio out the water in every way. It's worth the price difference. Manufacturer Support: Haven't used their tech support. The Wow Factor: It's a comfortable and inspiring piece of equipment. The technology doesn't get in the way of creating music. I can make beats all day on this thing. It's totally a hardware work flow, but with the 1.7 release you have a lot of software DAW capabilities if you need them. Overall: With a couple more software updated this May probably be the best MPC ever made. It's built like tank, Inspiring to work on, hardware workflow, with advanced software editing capabilities if needed. It's workflow increases productivity and stimulates creativity.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Vintage Reinvented " submitted March 22, 2015

By Steven (BonesOnTheBeat) B in Baltimore , MD
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: i have been producing music for 7 years now but i have been around it my entire life
Music Style: I am well rounded and catering to all genres
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Im giving the ren 5/5 in every category Its everything you'd expect from an MPC from its vintage look and feel all the way down to it's sounds! This thing is a beast Built in sound card , huge tilt backlit lcd , velocity sensitive color coded pads that look and feel amazing Plus 16 touch sensitive Qlinks to control every imaginable parameter Workflow...a breeze! And just about every major aspect of creating editing and sampling , even browsing can be done from tge hardware alone! If you dont have one just add to cart and checkout its that simple You'll love it
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I Love It!!" submitted January 10, 2016

By James M in Philly, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Music Production, Synthesist and Composer....
Music Style: Techno, DownTempo, Glitch, Tech House
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Overall... I had the MPC Element, MPC Studio (Twice) and now the MPC Renaissance... All I can say is I enjoy using my Renaissance and every moment of it. Learning more and more production tricks each day. I enjoy the tilted screen and having all 16 q-link knobs at my fingertips. I find this much easier to use then Maschine. The MPC Software is also finally coming along. I can't ever wait for the next release of updates and improvements and especially the enhancements. Highly recommend! Built like a tank too!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Akai MPC Renaissance " submitted August 30, 2015

By a customer from gmail.com in Cleveland, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 5 years. I play keyboard. indie music producer
Music Style: Trap, r&b edm
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: For a long time I've been looking for a drum pad to improve my workflow, and the Renaissance is everything a producer could dream of. Solid build, great quality, from the 16 backlit MPC pads to the touch sensitive rotary faders. The first drum pad I purchased was Native Instruments Maschine Mikro MKII, and although the Maschine comes with a great sound package and more sensitive pads, I found that it actually slowed down my performance because I had to use more buttons to access certain features. Whereas the the Renaissance lays out everything in a way even a novice could have full comprehension of the equipment and software in a matter of days with out even reading the manual. I love the fact that in mpc software I can set the note quantized to any Value and play my keyboard and it records flawlessly with out any edit, and coming from FL Studio and having to spend 20 mins at a time to quantize, it's a life saver. Plus having the legendary sound of the MPC60 and 3000 makes it so much more worth it. BEST BUY IN YEARS.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"MPC Renaissance" submitted November 5, 2015

By Jean-Paul LaFlam in Gloucester, MA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 10 years
Music Style: House...electronica
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Incredible....learning curve on both the hardware and software is relatively small. The most time I spent really was trying to figure out how it was all going to fit in the workflow with reason 8. I ended up throwing logic pro in the mix and everything works great together. But the hardware and software on their own I was up and running and fairly confident in a week......will learn the nooks and crannies as I go along. The possibilities are endless. And buying from zZounds and breaking up the payments is addictive.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"MPC Renaissance" submitted March 23, 2015

By Louis Warnell in Lynwood, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been DJing since 1986, it stated as a hobby but with monetary benefits .
Music Style: All styles, if you're into music production, you inspiration from any genre of music
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The Akai MPC Renaissance is a fabulous music production machine. This is a powerhouse for beat making, editing, mastering etc... but it's very easy to use. I switched from NI Maschine to the MPC because of the realistic instrument sounds, the Vintage mode of the earlier MPC products.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"MPC Renaissance " submitted September 29, 2015

By Darrin M in New Orleans, LA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I don't play music, but I did take 2 years of piano when I was a teen.
Music Style: R&B, Hip Hop.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Wonderful piece of equipment. A bit intimidating when you first look at it, but easy to learn how to use once you start fooling around with it. I highly recommend this product to all would be producers, from the newbies to the seasoned pro.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Worth every penny!" submitted July 5, 2015

By Alarica R in Lemoore , CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Beatmaker,intermediate
Music Style: Hip Hop
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Solid controller,makes workflow so much faster. I would buy it again.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"JaxsnMusic Is Back in the MPC Game with the Renaissance" submitted March 6, 2014

By McAuthor J in Windsor Locks, CT
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional over 20 years
Music Style: rock, hip-hop, country, blues, Christian, electronic, chillwave ragtime, Balinese reggae ton, etc
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Absolutely Love this Powerful Machine/Controller.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Solid midi /audio controller" submitted November 19, 2012

By T M in Danville, KY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Over 20 years experience in music production. Keyboardist, guitarist Controllerism and dj
Music Style: Variety of styles including hip hop, funk, r&b, smooth jazz, dub step
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This mpc hybrid is a quality built controller, great bounce to pads they feel better then any other pad controller on the market. The lights on the pads are a bonus and they have excellent response.
3 of 9 people (33.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"MPC REN a little troubling" submitted February 11, 2014

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Little bugs at big times.
1 of 3 people (33.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"MPC Renaissance " submitted April 7, 2013

By Donald w
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: home studio engineering and producing 15 yrs
Music Style: Hip hop rap rnb dirty south
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Love the mpc Renaissance for the price it should come with more but it is very good equipment
6 of 7 people (85.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"MPC Renaissance " submitted April 7, 2013

By Donald w
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: home studio engineering and producing 15 yrs
Music Style: Hip hop rap rnb dirty south
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Love the mpc Renaissance for the price it should come with more but it is very good equipment
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20L-HXVG. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!