800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15ZH-QKLD
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Drum Dial Precision Tuner

Measure drumhead tension directly with the Drum Dial Precision Drum Tuner and never play an out-of-tune drum again.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Get One Now, it will change your life!" submitted October 11, 2009

By a customer from allthingstod.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Pro
Music Style: All
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I am a professional drummer with over 40 years experience as well as having excellent pitch (I am a singer and guitarist as well). I thought of myself as having excellent drum tuning skills. I just borrowed this from a friend and WOW!. Last week I spent about three hours retuning a used kit that I picked up and it sounded great, but when a friend of mine said you have to try this thing, I thought why not, there are definitely some overtones that I could still use to get rid of. After about an hour with the Drum Dial, I can say that I never had a kit sound better. I was actually surprised at how well I did on my own getting the head tensions correct, before using the Drum Dial. I was never off by more than five pounds and in most cases not more than a few, but even the minor tension adjustments I made with this thing absulutlely rocked my world. What is more; I can only imagine how much quicker it would have been the first time with the Drum Dial. Feature: Comes with info on what tensions to use. Ease of Use: Very straight forward. Quality: I am guessing that this is just an adapted lab device. Very high quality Value: The ammount of time saved would make it worth while at twice the price. Manufacturer Support: Wouldn't know, didnt need it and doubt that you ever would
49 of 49 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Double your pleasure....double your fun and joy of drumming with a drum dial. Make your set sound awesome---watch heads turn aro" submitted August 19, 2011

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active muscian
Music Style: 1960's, 70's rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: My drums have never sounded better as a result of my frequent use of my drum dial. Although I have a fairly good set of drums (Sonor) the sound of my drums is something I would compare with the best sets on the market. Feature: My drum dial came with the case and accessories. The high-impact case keeps my drums safe in transfer from place-to-place. It's most useful featuers include ease of operation and consistent tensions. I have a lot of fun "playing with" and experimenting with my drum dial. Ease of Use: As I indicated above my drums have never sounded better. I have a six-piece set of 9-ply natural maple drums, and the drum dial increases the natural warm sound of my wood drums. Simply put....wow! Quality: My drum dial appears to be very well constructed. It came without any blemishes and I take excelent good care of my "toys"--especially this toy. I am confident that it will have a long service life as a result of my careful handling of it. Value: The drum dial, in my opinion, is worth its weight in gold. As I look back I don't understand why I didn't invest earlier in a drum dial. I am interested in the new digital drum dial but hate to fool around with electronics and batteries. I can just see me at a gig tuning my drums and running short on battery life. Maybe you might think about including extra batteries? Manufacturer Support: I ahve had no need of any repairs so it is hard for me to rate this support section. The Wow Factor: Not sure what sex my drum dial is but I think its a guy since it likes to measure stuff. I would like to see drum dials in a rainbow of colors like red, yellow, blue, pink---for the girls. Overall: In have looked at other products like the Tama drum dial and it looks cheap. So, I intend to stick with what I have because of the obvious quality of the instument.
14 of 14 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"DRUM DIAL PRECISION TUNER" submitted October 26, 2013

By WAYNE B in BULLHEAD CITY, AZ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: SIX MONTHS AND PLOAY AT HOME
Music Style: ROCK,COUNTRY,BLUES-
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: IM A NEW DRUMMER, AND IVE TRYED ALL THE TUNING TECHNIQUES IT DROVE ME CRAZY, AND IT NEVER SOUNDS RIGHT. DRUM DIAL DEFINITELY MADE IT EASER. ITS QUICK AND YOU CAN USE THE CHART FOR RETUNING AT DIFFERENT PITCHES UNTILL YOU FIND YOUR SOUND. I WAS VERY SURPRISED IN THE DIFFENENCES. GREAT FOR NEW DRUMMERS,SAVES TIME AND YOUR PLAYING ON TUNER DRUMS
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Drum Dial makes tuning a snap" submitted May 3, 2011

By a customer from msu.edu
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist / active musician
Music Style: Rock, Country, Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: It's not that the drum dial itself has sound, but it allows me to easily tune my drums so they sound better than they ever did when I was tuning them without the dial. Feature: The one additional component besides the actual drum dial is a stair-shaped piece of metal -- the edge gauge -- that rests around the center pole of the drum dial and spaces it an ideal distance from the rim. It's a handy measure, but it does not stay well in place and seems more of an afterthought than an actual element of the dial's design. Ease of Use: The drum dial is very easy to use and helps to take the guesswork out of tuning drums; it really speeds up the process. Quality: It seems really sturdy. I haven't had any problems with it, aside from the edge gauge which, while useful, could have been better executed. In its current clip-on relationship, it doesn't stay put very well. The needle on my dial doesn't point to zero, but I saw a video online that says it only should point to zero when rested atop a flat piece of solid glass ... and it does. Still, that it's not at zero when at rest does irk me a little, irrational as that may be. Value: I don't think the drum dial was a steal, per se, but if it lasts me the rest of my life it will have been worth every penny. As of now, it's quite valuable and a very appreciated invention. Manufacturer Support: I'm just putting a 6 because it's a neutral grade; I haven't dealt with their customer service. I did, though, check out their how-to calibration video on YouTube, which was handy. The Wow Factor: This is not a sexy product; it's purely functional but immensely useful. Overall: I hope to never have to replace it. Time will tell if it's sturdy enough to last, but it certainly seems to be ruggedly constructed. All told, I'm very happy with the product and glad I purchased it.
9 of 10 people (90%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"a new outlook" submitted November 22, 2012

By John M in Wadsworth, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: over 40 years on guitar, drums, bass, a few others.
Music Style: classic rock, Christian, country, blues, and inner-solar blabatronic.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Once you open up the drum dial, you recognize the weight of the item and it looks like a good quality device. Once you tune your drum heads to a tight tolerance which focuses on the tension of the head, not the tightness of the lug, you hear a new consistency from your drums. In my case, a birch Tama Silverstar set with stock heads is made much more focused, tight, warm.....it's because the device "hears" your set on a different plane of reference. What sounded pretty good now sounds tremendous. Give it a shot if you are meticulous about tuning.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Drum Dial" submitted March 5, 2014

By Matt H in Independence, KY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 25 years, Percussion, any stringed instrument
Music Style: Country, Rock, Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: After using the Drum Dial a few times I went back to tuning my drums the old-fashioned way, and not because I dislike it. It has actually helped me learn to tune better and way faster than I ever could before. I know what my drums should sound like now.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Drum Dial is great" submitted February 23, 2012

By jeff c in trinity, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I am just learning to play, waited 40 yrs to buy a set of drums. Bought a set of drums and did not have a clue where to start on tuning them. The Drum Dial is great, dont know what i would do without it.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Drum Dial" submitted August 5, 2014

By Travis Bertram in Monticello, KY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing for 27 years. I am a drummer/percussionist. I play professionally fro several bands in my home state.
Music Style: Country, southern rock, rock, metal, And blues.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The best tool to dial in on the true voice of you kit!! Very easy to use! Will let you know if the bearing edges are bad, and/or the hoop is bent or warped. Does take a bit to get dialed in the first time. But once or twice and you will tuning like a pro!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Tuning made easy!!" submitted June 16, 2012

By Animal S in Plymouth, IN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional Musician. 14 yrs. playing the drums.
Music Style: Blues, Classic Rock, Modern Country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Lets face it, tuning a set of drums can be time consuming, especially if you are a perfectionist (like myself). This drum tuner really helps you get the job done quickly, not to mention, its kinda fun.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"dial drum tuner" submitted April 3, 2014

By james eldridge in MIDDLETOWN, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: played drums for 36 years
Music Style: Rock/Country/ Gospel
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Very good tuner for your drum very easy to use nice product
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Drum dial" submitted February 10, 2014

By Tom M in Protem, MO
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing Banjo with group and jaming with others 20 years.
Music Style: Bluegrass
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Great job, fast shipping. Would order from again.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"drum dial tuner" submitted February 18, 2014

By a customer from comcast.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I love this thing. My Ludwig's never sounded better.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"excellent for those who are hearing chanllenged" submitted August 17, 2012

By Don P in Sierra Vista, AZ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30 years experience in both bands and teaching
Music Style: Rock, Country, Old School Rock, Blues
Back to Product Information
Overall: Very easy to use, and if you don't like the sound, it is easy to adjust using this tool.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15ZH-QKLD. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!